We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and comfy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jack London Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jack London Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Glen Ellen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice and comfy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I was a little worried about staying here as it is only 2 stars with AAA, but my worries were non-existent when we walked through the door to our room. It was very clean and cute. The bathroom shower was sparkling clean and the shower head was great as you could adjust the water spray - plus the water was steaming hot which is rare to find in a hotel these days.

Pool and spa were great and everything was very clean. Definitely would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wojo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    101
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
49
130
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed in Room 9 this past weekend and had a very pleasant stay. Nice king bed. No frills room but clean. Shower / bathroom is pretty old school, but functional and fine (open the window above the shower because there isn't any ventilation so it gets steamy!). Walk next door to the bar and get treated like an old friend. There is a nice hot tub too. Quiet location. Best fresh air! Walk across the street to the nicest grocery, deli, wine store that has everything you could need and then some! This is our second stay at this lodge and we would stay again! Two great restaurants are close bye too - The Glen Ellen Inn and the Olive and Vine. Would recommend both!

Room Tip: We liked room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharmChari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed here on a Friday night via a Travelzoo deal. The lodge is basically a converted motel but well done. We really enjoyed the jacuzzi, but the pool was too cold to swim in. There is a bar next door that is open till 2am, so that was handy. There were a couple of nice restaurants within walking distance, so that was also handy.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deedumans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

OK, so this property isn't new. It's in a unique period-setting location, steeped in in history. It's close to some great wineries. Fairly well kept, flat screen, nice folks, clean and comfortable. Pool and hot tub by the running creek. They know what is going on in the area and have some free tasting passes. But, be ready because it IS your mother's lodging. Shower was hot, HVAC is different and no complimentary breakfast. But a fabulous little market with an awesome buffet just across the street, open whenever you should be awake and about. I have mixed feelings because it was not a bad experience, just don't get too picky and enjoy the price and what's good about this historic area. Adjacent Wolf House restaurant is not a tourist place in my opinion.

Room Tip: Second floor toward the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OtisGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Not sure by definition if there is really a difference in calling a place a lodge vs a motel or even an Inn except that it is the choice of the ownership how to title it. Obviously, in naming one's property, calling it a motel is least desirable and gives the perception of bottom line basic accomodations. That being said, commenting based on experience with other "Lodges" we have stayed, Glen Ellen Lodge is more what we would consider a motel. Check in accomodations were simply a tiny room that barely fit two people standing at a countertop to be checked in, while any other guests must wait outside the door in the drive, certainly not anything resembling a welcoming lobby. There was a pool and jacuzzi across the parking lot and the room was pretty basic with a bed, counter top vanity with sink and coffee maker, simple dresser and two chairs flanking a small round table. The breakfast mentioned in prior reviews must have been discontinued as there were no breakfast offerings at all during our visit.

Other so called Lodges we have stayed at include amenities that anyone would consider an upgrade from a motel room, from a non-standard layout, to maybe a tiny kitchenette or fireplace, greeting package like cookies or a comfortable indoor gathering area/reception. By comparison we just viewed pictures of the Glen Ellen "Inn", and frequent the Stardust Lodge Tahoe.

All that aside, the location is convenient for vising nearby winery tasting rooms or J.L. State Park. As other reviews mention, there is a handful of small eating establishments and if you need otheer options, Sonoma is only about 6 miles away and has many more options. Our room was quiet from street noise, but the heater had a continuous pre-heating clicking that woke us often. The underside of the comforter was a bit stained and gross, but we pulled it all the way off and the room was plenty warm. The Lodge was quaint and priced slightly less than Glen Ellen Inn, but our next visit we may give the Inn a try.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Live-Love-Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We enjoyed staying in Glen Ellen this one time and it was close to many great wineries where we could enjoy some wine tasting. The positive was this hotel is within walking distance of good restaurants and great grocery/deli store, it was very clean. The room was very dark, the bathroom area was open to the sleeping area so if one gets up earlier and turn on the lights it would wake up the other person. Even to turn on the light in the toilet area you had to close that door to get to the switch and then open the door to go in. Definitely could use some upgrades. The breakfast was very basic, some cereal, rolls, beverages. We didn't stay for breakfast as we wanted a nice one before starting our day of exploring. The staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clmillea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pollock Pines, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Just spent Saturday night at this cute hotel. Glen Ellen is small, but has everything you could want for a nice, quiet weekend away. From the amazing grocery store just across the street to the nice restaurants within walking distance. Plenty of wineries for any wine lover. Check out Deerfield's wine cave. The staff at the lodge was very friendly and helpful. The room was quiet and clean, with nice furnishings. We would love to go back. Don't forget to get your pass to Jack London State Park, take the walking guided tour.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Ellen
0.3 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
5.5 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
6.3 mi away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
2.8 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack London Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack London Lodge

Property: Jack London Lodge
Address: 13740 Arnold Drive, Glen Ellen, CA 95442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Glen Ellen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Ellen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jack London Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Jack London Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack London Hotel Glen Ellen
Jack London Lodge Glen Ellen, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing