We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Italian in Glendale!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scarantino's Italian Inn

Scarantino's Italian Inn
Ranked #26 of 448 Restaurants in Glendale
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Marana, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Glendale!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

My husband and I had a fabulous dinner at Scarantino's a few nights ago. We both had their homemade minestrone soup and fresh salad. I had the canneloni filled with beef and ricotta cheese, topped with meat sauce and a mornay sauce. It was out-of-this-world in every way and served piping hot. My husband had their pepperoni pizza which he pronounced as some of the best he's had. We topped off our meal with spumoni - an Italian ice cream - there were several flavours per serving. The restaurant was busy, but the service was attentive and unhurried. We recommend this long-time neighborhood classic to anyone who enjoys good, hearty Italian food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarakay53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
LA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NOT FAMILY FRIENDLY :)”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

This restaurant told a breastfeeding mother she could go nurse in the bathroom.... How is that family friendly????

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north central Washington state
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

My husband and I were very happy that we found this restaurant, and it was walking distance from our hotel. I ordered the lasagna which was so delicious that I asked for the recipe, was denied respectively. My husband ordered the italian sausage meatballs with spaghetti and I have to say the meatballs were mouth watering, tender and juicy. the waiter was prompt and very pleasant. all entree's were very affordable. I would definately go back to this restaurant and would eat there often if we lived closer. The minestrone was excellent also.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank helenomia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value in an Italian eatery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Parking can be problematic (lot for restaurant = tiny), generally preferable street. Relatively small (one room) family-run establishment with nice, but dated decor. Often busy, but wait usually no more than 15'. Service at least average, sometimes better. Minestrone soup quite good (not tomato based). Small salad average. Both come with the entree, which is of average quality but sizable. Bread white, soft, not noteworthy.

Not my Italian restaurant of preference in environs.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sctmtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real Deal Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Great Pasta - better than anything I could ever make at home - this was convenient because it's right near the motel I was staying at

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scarantino's Italian Inn also viewed

 

Been to Scarantino's Italian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing