We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and atmosphere”
Review of Hotel Brandwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Brandwood
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Glendale
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Brandwood. The rooms are not huge, but the space is used properly with business area and desk, large armoire for clothes and new, nicely decorated bathrooms. Next door is a great jazz bar with a friendly crowd of regulars and good food. Service is fast and excellent. For the combination of location, comfort, service and atmosphere, I would return to Brandwood.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milan0529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

I had a business meeting today and Glendale and had a great stay the Hotel Brandwood. The room was clean, well appointed, the bed fantastic, and the Internet service quite fast. A nice desk provided ample space and power to work at as well.

No gym and no restaurant. No problem. The amazing Portos bakery is less than a block away, and a well equipped 24 Hour Fitness a block away. I was able to work out there for a $10 guest fee. This was a much better experience than staying at a "full service" business hotel that typically have meager gyms, iffy food, and crowds. Very nice experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KWSB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel is nice and reasonably good. it's in the middle of the street with restaurants and in a walkable distance to Glendale Galleria mall.
If coming by car you should park on the second floor of BoFa parking behind the building (Lexington & Orange) and then bring your parking permit back to the car after checking in.
There are two unexpected flights of stairs from the door to the hallway with the check-in desk. Staff was nice and helpful.
I stayed at this hotel on my business trip and will definitely consider staying again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vyacheslav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We showed up earlier than the check-in time. They were very nice about it and were able to get us into a room early, even thought they didn't have to. The bed was amazing and I wanted to take it home with me. The room was super cute and cozy. It was clean and I felt safe. I love that the Brandwood is a "green" hotel.

There was construction near the hotel that would start early in the morning. This noise was annoying but the Brandwood couldn't control that.

I'm not sure why people are complaining (stairs, the lack of views, etc). This isn't the Ritz. Do some research on the places you stay. If you have concerns about a hotel's accessibility, call ahead and ask. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockafrilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

If this hotel had an elevator I would stay here more often. You have to drag your bags up a flight of stairs (the hotel begins on the second story). Half way up you get in camera sight and the staff greet you and ask if you would like some help. The lobby is not air conditioned. Once in your room everything changes. Great decor, excellent linens, great bathroom. Close to everything on Brand, if you so not mind the hike.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDiegoEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked a room in April. I'm quite tech-savvy and can get around lots of websites, so I created an account to book the room. A week or so later, we changed our travel plans. I went online and I'm fairly certain that I did something that appeared to change the page. I didn't get a cancellation notice via email, so I logged back on a couple days later. Since I saw nothing show up after I logged in (I could no longer see the reservation I'd made), I assumed that the cancellation worked.
A night's lodging was just charged to my credit card. So it seems the reservation did not cancel, and I don't know why I could not see it when I logged in over a month ago to check on it.
Lesson learned: Call in a cancellation.
I just called the hotel and the woman I spoke to was very pleasant as she reminded me of the policies. Of course she can say that nothing in their system indicates I canceled the reservation. Something didn't work, that's for sure. I explained my experience when I thought I'd cancelled the reservation. Still I got the recitation of the policy. I understand the policy, and I was trying to abide by it.
Should have called to double check on the cancellation. Perhaps it's not reasonable of me to expect some consideration that I wasn't able to find the reservation a couple days after I did something online that seemed to make the reservation not visible to me a couple days later.
We didn't stay here but we still got charged for a night. Disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank LisaLovesPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My spouse booked a room with Expedia on 4/3 and they said that hotel has "no accessibility and no elevator access for wheelchairs"--does not say that there is flight of stairs down from parking structure and 1.5 STEEP (according to reviews) stairs up to lobby. We were married on 4/4 and wanted to spend night in Glendale after Dodger ballgame on 4/6. I looked at hotel site last night and checked out reviews only to find steep stair issue--spouse is 73 and still recovering from broken neck, crushed femur and crushed metacarpal injuries. She can walk and does not use a wheelchair so she thought it would be okay. She was unaware of STEEP STAIRS both from parking structure and to hotel lobby for check in. Called hotel and they would not give me manager name and refused to accept cancellation without paying full price for room. We are not paying and we will fight this not just for us but also for other elderly and disabled folks. Hope you all agree. Notice must be given!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank barbara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glendale hotels
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Los Angeles Glendale
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles - Glendale
0.5 mi away
Hilton Los Angeles North / Glendale & Executive Meeting CTR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Glendale Los Angeles
0.6 mi away
Hotel Xilo Glendale
Hotel Xilo Glendale
#9 of 17 in Glendale
132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn - Glendale
Vagabond Inn - Glendale
#4 of 17 in Glendale
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brandwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brandwood

Address: 339 1/2 N Brand Blvd, Glendale, CA 91203-2303
Region: United States > California > Glendale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Glendale
Price Range: £93 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brandwood 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience exceptional hospitality at the historic Hotel Brandwood in the heart of Glendale, California. Our boutique hotel is ideal for guests who value a downtown location that is convenient for both leisure and business travelers. Stylish, European-style rooms provide intimacy and charm, and a full range of amenities including free parking and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Brandwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandwood Hotel Glendale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing