We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Beach Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bacara Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great Beach Resort”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

The Bacara is a great beach resort. The grounds are beautiful and the pool, with its ocean views, is perfect. I've stayed here twice and I like the rooms closer to the pool better. The staff is very accommodating and the rooms are very spacious. Its a pet friendly property so you can really bring the ones you love. There is a fee for pets, but it's worth it.

If the big pool is to noisy, there is a quite pool by the spa. I believe that the spa pool is for adults only.

The Sunday brunch is amazing and should not be missed. Make reservations before you come and ask for a table on the deck with an ocean view.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brandonfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,295
    399
    238
    178
    133
See reviews for
502
917
47
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This resort is right done the street from my house actually... My extended family has stayed here many times and absolutely rave about it. So when our house was under a few days of renovation we packed up and headed down the street. The Bacara staff was amazing. The pools were fantastic. The food was excellent. We ate at the restaurants as well as ordered room service. All were top notch! We were staying with 2 children, 5 and 7 and they loved walking the grounds, walking down to the beach, meeting the falconer, and swimming in the pools. On this particular trip I didn't use the spa, but I have had treatments before and they are the best I've had anywhere.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing, the gardens are beautiful as are the pools, the pools face the ocean, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mamaxs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

Prepare yourself for the ultimate Santa Barbara experience. I think Bacara has done it. An absolute perfect experience in Santa Barbara. My wife and I traveled up from Orange County along the coast which was an absolute treat in and of itself. The grand entrance of the Bacara resort is overwhelming. It's spectacular. Spanish style architecture with a high level of service. The valet looks like a car show.
The thing that stands out the most is the location. Positioned on a bluff with total seclusion, And perfect sandy beach access, Bacara is a perfect get-a-way for those looking to escape the hurried lifestyle of L.A. Or Orange County. The restaurant Miro onsite provides a 180 degree view of the pacific with the Channel Islands in the background. I'd recommend dropping your bags in the room and heading straight to the covered outdoor patio for a scrumptious meal and cocktail upon arrival. Both excellent.

This place is a true hidden gem. We both woke up early the first morning and walked along the bluff to watch the sunrise. We then enjoyed the complimentary spa for our morning workout. Do yourself a favor. Come here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The Bacara has no airport transport service,a taxi to the nearby hotel was $25.00!! The buildings ae beautiful and architecturally stylish and the staff is excellent however the "newly refurbished" room I was "upgraded" to was small and strangely arranged. The balcony overlooked a huge green plastic sheet over adjacent hotel areas. The nice, large TV is awkwardly angled on top of a credenza, the minibar is a bunch snacks sitting on top of the credenza with no price list provided. The nice bathroom has partial shutters over the tub opening into the main bedroom however when open they block entry into the room...not convenient. The shower for a "newly remodeled" unit is puny and has no hand shower attachment as most better hotels do now. The Miro dining room is beautifully situated on the ocena front and Sunday brunch was lovely there with a nice choice of delicious food.
I feel the hotel is overpiced for the quality of the accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewerabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

My husband and I were able to get away mid-week to this lovely resort in the off-season (January). Everything about this place is lovely. You drive into a courtyard with a beautiful fountain. Inside, you're greeted with one of the most beautiful and unique flower bouquets. The staff is exceptionally kind and polite. The room was nicely laid out and the bed was one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in away from home. We were fortunate to get an oceanview room which was exceptional...amazing to wake up, look out the doors and see dolphins and sea lions, all without getting out of bed! The spa facilities were great. I loved the eucalyptus steam room. We ate at Miro and the food was delicious and service was exceptional.

This was an incredible vacation. We felt relaxed and pampered. This is a beautiful place.

Room Tip: The oceanview room was incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smarie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Just attended a Sales Conference at Bacara Resort and they've certainly got this nailed down! The rooms were very comfortable, the facilities were excellent and the staff was amazing. I have to say that the food was probably the best we've had at any of our annual Sales Retreats. The main restaurant was closed for renovations but Miro was great; I had lunch at Miro the day we arrived and had a delicious grilled tuna sandwich while gazing at the ocean. During the conference, we ate lunch in a Courtyard in the sun, and had cocktails and a fabulous dinner each of the 3 nights. During the breaks they laid out terrific snacks (which I'm told were great) with the coffee and tea. If anything, they over-fed us! I love that they have little golf carts available to cart you back and forth 24/7 (some of those hills are a bit much to be dragging a heavy suitcase over). Only downside is that Santa Barbara is a $55 cab ride each way, yikes. Best to stay and hang out at the resort because it has everything you need. All in all it was a terrific stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulsan, South Korea
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Went in the off season and stayed here on bussiness It was very nice stayed in one of the standard rooms and it had fire place and a good view. The resort is by itself so you will have to drive 15min if you want to get back in to town. The pool and the work out facilities were good. Can only imagine the pool during the height of tourist season it must be quite a site with all of the cabana’s around it and the villas over looking it. Hotel restaurant was also nice and the breakfast was a little expensive but very good. The last thing is the place has rose marry planted all over the place it was cool when I was there so a breeze would blow through and between that and all the flowers the smell was amazing!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wyatt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
12.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
12.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
13.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
12.0 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
15.9 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Property: Bacara Resort & Spa
Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Goleta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the bluffs and beaches of the Gaviota coast lies a resort of stunning natural beauty and relaxed luxury. With 78 acres of oceanfront property, including two miles of natural beach, Bacara offers an expansive sun-drenched setting with endless vistas of sea and sky. The resort's innovative and artful design is in keeping with the intimacy and aesthetics of a Mediterranean village. Unwind at an award-winning 42,000-square-foot spa and fitness center or relax beside one of three zero-edge swimming pools and 26 private cabanas. The resort's 358 newly-renovated guestrooms and signature suites artfully infuse luxurious interiors with modern technologies for a true sense of comfort. Additional resort amenities include a new oceanfront restaurant, Angel Oak, four Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a Foley wine tasting room, and the adjacent Sandpiper Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing