We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bacara Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
usa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Bacara is a lovely, but very expensive, resort 10 miles from Santa Barbara. The online pictures are stunning, however the resort did not live up to its hype. We paid for a room with a partial ocean view and fireplace, but were given a room with a view of an elevator and a non working fireplace. How disappointing.

The resort is 10 miles outside of Santa Barbara. It is only possible to get to it by car but they charge and added fee for parking ( really?).

To be fair the employees are wonderful and the food was excellent. Just be aware what you are paying for before you arrive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mermomUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear mermomUSA,

Thank you for sharing comments regarding your stay at Bacara. Please accept my apology that we did not provide you with the desired ocean view room you had hoped to have while visiting our resort. I appreciate your kind words and compliments about our wonderful staff and excellent culinary experience. The time you have given to share this review and comments are highly valued. I sincerely hope you will allow another opportunity to earn your patronage.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,281
    394
    237
    176
    133
See reviews for
499
914
46
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Incredible service, your wish is their command. The rooms are gorgeous, the food is sublime and the pool is perfect. Nothing is an inconvenience to the staff here. Highly recommended for a couples getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiaNinna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear GiaNinna S,

I am truly pleased to hear that your couples getaway to Bacara was an experience that exceeded your every expectation. Your compliments about the incredible service and the overall stay will be shared with my team. Thank you for thinking of Bacara for your getaway weekend. I hope we will be your resort of choice in the future when traveling to Santa Barbara.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acapulco, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have had a life changing experience with the Sky Ranch Fitness. We stayed at the Bacara which was amazing. All of our meals for the week were prepared with the nutritionist Even with the calorie considerations they were tasty and beautiful presentations. .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estrellitamarinera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear estrellitamarinera,

Thank you for 5 the star review and your wonderful compliments about Bacara's Sky Ranch Fitness Vacation experience. It is a very popular health and wellness offering and many of our guests share a similar life changing experience when they partake in the week long rejuvination. My wish is that you have continued success with your health and wellness. We look forward to your next visit to Bacara.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Beautiful lobby with an enticing fireplace. Staff is well trained, courteous and knowledgeable. I love when a hotel or restaurant has a great staff as that really does make a lasting impression. This property is very beautiful, on the ocean with endless views. Rooms are nice but not luxurious. The food was very good. Loved breakfast on the outdoor patio overlooking the ocean. I would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: It's worth the splurge for an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnafFboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear DonnafFboca,

Thank you very much for the very positive review and recommending the Bacara Resort and Spa. I am elated to hear about the lasting impression our staff has shared with you. I am very proud of the team at Bacara and our sincere desire to always provide an outstanding service experience to every guest who stays at our resort. We sincerely hope your travels will bring you back to Bacara soon.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pebble Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My family and I, then my boyfriend and I, spent a lovely day or two at Bacara within two days. Both times the service was impeccable, the scenery amazing and the experience lovely. There were a couple little 'missed spots': My wake up call never came, room service took more than an hour when quoted 40 minutes, and the people in the room above us felt as if they were dragging spike laden metal balls across their floor at all times, disrupting our peace. That said, if you get a room 'on special', meaning under $300, it IS both a family oriented AND romantic getaway!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on top floors or one level rooms only! Ceilings are thin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dina711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Dina711,

Thank you for choosing to stay a Bacara during your recent visit to southern California. Your compliments about our wonderful scenery and impeccable service are appreciated. I will be sharing your experience and the details of your review with my team. Hopefully you will be able to return Santa Barbara soon!

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montvale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have been dreaming of coming back to the Bacara for the last 14 years. I went there the year it opened and had a magical experience that I've been talking about ever since. Sick of hearing me talk about it, my husband booked our trip for Memorial day holiday as an early 50th bday present for me. I knew a holiday weekend may be crowded, but did not expect the massive groups that were there for a 2 day bat mitzvah, weddings, extended family gatherings, etc. Needless to say there were a lot more kids on property than I expected for such a high end resort. Maybe this is the new norm. The pools were over run by the groups and the hot tub looked more like a kiddie pool. The staff was stretched thin and am sure were told the events/groups were priority.

Also, we paid extra for a quiet room, which needless to say with all the kids was not really quiet. We also were supposed to have a garden view, but when looking outside the terrace, it was overgrown weeds and branches (room 9212 - make sure you don't get it). Not very scenic for such a beautiful resort.

I also thought the spa experience was ok, not great. The facial I had was amazing, but the scrub felt rushed. Also, on the first day there were little treats to nosh on like dried apricots, nuts and wasabi peas and on day 2 nothing. Some of the registration desk staff seemed young and not interested in interacting with the guests. I recently went to Woodloch Spa in Hawley, PA and thought that was a much better spa experience.

Lastly, we went wine tasting and I asked the front desk if they could help us ship wine back if we collected bottles from a few wineries. I was told yes for an extra $30 fee they would pack it up and ship. When we went to the desk on Tuesday to check out, I was told no that couldn't be done and whoever told me that was mistaken. Thankfully the concierge said he would contact a wine shipper and ensure it was properly sent.

It is a beautiful resort and I possibly would consider coming back on a non-holiday weekend, but my magical dream was definitely tarnished.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a quiet room - not worth $30/day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlryan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear jlryan64,

I am saddened to read your review and find out that the Memorial Day getaway from the east coast was less than exceptional. As you noted, we were extremely busy, however this should not have taken away from your expectations about the outstanding service and experience we sincerely want to deliver to every guest. I will most definitely share your thoughts with my team. I truly hope you will think of returning to Bacara the next time your visit Santa Barbara.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We've stayed at BACARA a few times and very family centric along with couples staying here. Property is well appointed they just got bought out by Foley family with winery ties. Indeed you get to the resort it is not likely you'll leave for the wknd. I would avoid any garden level rooms since there is a lot of foot traffic around the resort.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calitravlerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear calitravlerone,

Thank you for commenting on your recent visit to Bacara. We always value the feedback we receive from our guests through tripadvisor. I am very pleased that you enjoyed our family oriented atmosphere. Also thank you for your positive note about Bacara being a true destination resort and place where one can truly relax.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
12.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
12.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
13.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
12.0 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
15.9 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#17 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Property: Bacara Resort & Spa
Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#1 Business Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the bluffs and beaches of the Gaviota coast lies a resort of stunning natural beauty and relaxed luxury. With 78 acres of oceanfront property, including two miles of natural beach, Bacara offers an expansive sun-drenched setting with endless vistas of sea and sky. The resort's innovative and artful design is in keeping with the intimacy and aesthetics of a Mediterranean village. Unwind at an award-winning 42,000-square-foot spa and fitness center or relax beside one of three zero-edge swimming pools and 26 private cabanas. The resort's 358 newly-renovated guestrooms and signature suites artfully infuse luxurious interiors with modern technologies for a true sense of comfort. Additional resort amenities include a new oceanfront restaurant, Angel Oak, four Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a Foley wine tasting room, and the adjacent Sandpiper Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing