We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Having a Horrible experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I'm writing this review at 12:41am! First room was dirty and dead flies in bed. Also shower was broken, there was very little water pressure not enough to rinse soap off!! Water was either ice cold or scolding hot. Requested that they move us to another room with a working shower and CLEAN. Huge inconvenience with 2 small children.

Next room they moved us to was smaller! Also TV cabinet door is broken and hang off cabinet. Crib didn't have a blanket for our child and we called twice requesting one. Just called again to ask for a manager and I was told he was busy and would call back.., still waiting!! Just got a knock on the door with a blanket and its dirty and smells. Manager still has not called back.

It's obvious this hotel is going down hill and not close to a 5 star, a 3 star rating would be generous! If you have a different option don't stay here. I'm just going to cover my daughter with my sweatshirt and try to get some sleep! #FRUSTRATED #5starprice2starquality

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mntsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Mntsurf - Thank you for reaching out to share your experience. Your stay is certainly not indicative of our service and overall resort standards. At the Bacara, the comfort of our guests traveling with children is our top priority. I apologize immensely for any challenges you experienced during your time with us. I have been working diligently with the front office team to learn more about your experience, so that we address all of your concerns. As you know, our Front Desk Manager has reached out and spoken with you directly. If you have additional questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Warm Regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,122 - 1,128 of 2,349 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I just had the best anniversary ever at Bacara. Not only did we have a gorgeous room with an amazing view, we took over the movie theater and invited 60 of our closest friends and family to celebrate by watching one of our favorite movies with us. We had champagne and popcorn to our heart's delight-and got as noisy as we wanted. Bacara really set up a nice area for guests to mingle and the staff was very attentive and willing to help in any way. Add some relaxing time at one of the pool cabanas with Alex and Ian keeping us in food and drink, yep, quite memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PassportReady2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear PassportReady2013,

Congratulations on your anniversary and thank you very much for selecting Bacara to be host to a very special occasion. I am elated to hear that we exceeded your expectations and the staff delivered a level of service that was attentive and responsive to your needs. From the entire team at Bacara, may you have many more anniversary celebrations. We would love to be your host for future occasions.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

On a warm afternoon the cocktail called Ticket to Paradise is very refreshing and the view of the ocean is wonderful. Nanette the bar tender recommended the drink and both my wife and I enjoyed. We discovered later it was her creation. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Max224- We love Nanette! Her "Ticket to Paradise" cocktail proves to be very popular among our guests! I am pleased you enjoyed your time and hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

With its beautiful view, delicious cuisine, spacious spa and their very own Foley wine tasting room, the Bacara Resort & Spa was all I had hoped for on a recent road trip from San Francisco to Los Angeles. My husband and I had planned on going into nearby Santa Barbara for a day during our 2-day stay, but with all the Bacara had to offer, along with the total relaxation and pampering we received, we didn't move off the property. Elena gave me one of the best facials and at night we enjoyed dinner outside under the stars. The staff at every part of the resort is knowledgeable and friendly; we were treated us as if we were the only ones around, which we were not. The elegant and spacious suite provided us with privacy and a beautiful ocean view. We would definitely go back for another long weekend and hope to do so next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Bonnie S- Thank you very much for your detailed review our of resort and your wonderful experience. I am so pleased you enjoy every facet of our resort from the views, cuisine, spa and more. I will certainly share your feedback with the entire team, Please come back and visit us again soon.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Bacara is a lovely, but very expensive, resort 10 miles from Santa Barbara. The online pictures are stunning, however the resort did not live up to its hype. We paid for a room with a partial ocean view and fireplace, but were given a room with a view of an elevator and a non working fireplace. How disappointing.

The resort is 10 miles outside of Santa Barbara. It is only possible to get to it by car but they charge and added fee for parking ( really?).

To be fair the employees are wonderful and the food was excellent. Just be aware what you are paying for before you arrive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mermomUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear mermomUSA,

Thank you for sharing comments regarding your stay at Bacara. Please accept my apology that we did not provide you with the desired ocean view room you had hoped to have while visiting our resort. I appreciate your kind words and compliments about our wonderful staff and excellent culinary experience. The time you have given to share this review and comments are highly valued. I sincerely hope you will allow another opportunity to earn your patronage.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Incredible service, your wish is their command. The rooms are gorgeous, the food is sublime and the pool is perfect. Nothing is an inconvenience to the staff here. Highly recommended for a couples getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiaNinna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear GiaNinna S,

I am truly pleased to hear that your couples getaway to Bacara was an experience that exceeded your every expectation. Your compliments about the incredible service and the overall stay will be shared with my team. Thank you for thinking of Bacara for your getaway weekend. I hope we will be your resort of choice in the future when traveling to Santa Barbara.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have had a life changing experience with the Sky Ranch Fitness. We stayed at the Bacara which was amazing. All of our meals for the week were prepared with the nutritionist Even with the calorie considerations they were tasty and beautiful presentations. .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estrellitamarinera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear estrellitamarinera,

Thank you for 5 the star review and your wonderful compliments about Bacara's Sky Ranch Fitness Vacation experience. It is a very popular health and wellness offering and many of our guests share a similar life changing experience when they partake in the week long rejuvination. My wish is that you have continued success with your health and wellness. We look forward to your next visit to Bacara.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
12.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,094 reviews
12.4 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,060 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kimpton Goodland
Kimpton Goodland
#6 of 12 in Goleta
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
478 reviews
12.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,270 reviews
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Santa Barbara Goleta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara

Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117-2474 (Formerly Bacara Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#1 Business Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range: £387 - £655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the bluffs and beaches of the Gaviota coast lies The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara, a resort of stunning natural beauty and relaxed luxury. With 78 acres of oceanfront property, including two miles of natural beach, we offer an expansive sun-drenched setting with endless vistas of sea and sky. Our resort in Santa Barbara, California features innovative and artful design that is in keeping with the intimacy and aesthetics of a Mediterranean village. Unwind at an award-winning 42,000-square-foot spa and fitness center or relax beside one of three zero-edge swimming pools and 26 private cabanas. The resort's 358 newly-renovated guestrooms and signature suites artfully infuse luxurious interiors with modern technologies for a true sense of comfort. Additional resort amenities include a new oceanfront restaurant, Angel Oak, four Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a Foley wine tasting room, and the adjacent Sandpiper Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Bacara, Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing