We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bacara”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bacara Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
Simi Valley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Bacara”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The staff at Barcara was super nice, friendly and helpful; attentive to all of our needs.
The room and view were splendid: double balcony, enticing ocean and beach below, lush foliage abounding. We enjoyed a wonderful stay and wish we didn't have to leave.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room with full or partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raseibert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear raseibert- Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We strive to provide our guests with exceptional guest service and I am pleased to hear you had an opportunity to appreciate. I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,303
    400
    243
    178
    134
See reviews for
506
924
47
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

From the moment we drove up to the entrance of Bacara to the day we had to check out, the service & attention to detail we experienced from all of the staff at this exceptionally beautiful resort was unsurpassed. My husband & I enjoyed 3 days & 2 blissful nights while celebrating our 26th wedding anniversary at Bacara. Our room was spacious & nicely appointed with a fireplace & doors opening to a private patio. The grounds around Bacara make for great hiking & spectacular ocean vistas. We're telling our friends!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Gail W- I appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience. I hope you and your husband truly enjoyed your anniversary celebration. It is an honor and with great pride to hear you will tell your friends about our resort- that is the highest form of a compliment. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Thank you again,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I'm writing this review at 12:41am! First room was dirty and dead flies in bed. Also shower was broken, there was very little water pressure not enough to rinse soap off!! Water was either ice cold or scolding hot. Requested that they move us to another room with a working shower and CLEAN. Huge inconvenience with 2 small children.

Next room they moved us to was smaller! Also TV cabinet door is broken and hang off cabinet. Crib didn't have a blanket for our child and we called twice requesting one. Just called again to ask for a manager and I was told he was busy and would call back.., still waiting!! Just got a knock on the door with a blanket and its dirty and smells. Manager still has not called back.

It's obvious this hotel is going down hill and not close to a 5 star, a 3 star rating would be generous! If you have a different option don't stay here. I'm just going to cover my daughter with my sweatshirt and try to get some sleep! #FRUSTRATED #5starprice2starquality

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mntsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Mntsurf - Thank you for reaching out to share your experience. Your stay is certainly not indicative of our service and overall resort standards. At the Bacara, the comfort of our guests traveling with children is our top priority. I apologize immensely for any challenges you experienced during your time with us. I have been working diligently with the front office team to learn more about your experience, so that we address all of your concerns. As you know, our Front Desk Manager has reached out and spoken with you directly. If you have additional questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Warm Regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I just had the best anniversary ever at Bacara. Not only did we have a gorgeous room with an amazing view, we took over the movie theater and invited 60 of our closest friends and family to celebrate by watching one of our favorite movies with us. We had champagne and popcorn to our heart's delight-and got as noisy as we wanted. Bacara really set up a nice area for guests to mingle and the staff was very attentive and willing to help in any way. Add some relaxing time at one of the pool cabanas with Alex and Ian keeping us in food and drink, yep, quite memorable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PassportReady2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear PassportReady2013,

Congratulations on your anniversary and thank you very much for selecting Bacara to be host to a very special occasion. I am elated to hear that we exceeded your expectations and the staff delivered a level of service that was attentive and responsive to your needs. From the entire team at Bacara, may you have many more anniversary celebrations. We would love to be your host for future occasions.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

On a warm afternoon the cocktail called Ticket to Paradise is very refreshing and the view of the ocean is wonderful. Nanette the bar tender recommended the drink and both my wife and I enjoyed. We discovered later it was her creation. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Max224- We love Nanette! Her "Ticket to Paradise" cocktail proves to be very popular among our guests! I am pleased you enjoyed your time and hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

With its beautiful view, delicious cuisine, spacious spa and their very own Foley wine tasting room, the Bacara Resort & Spa was all I had hoped for on a recent road trip from San Francisco to Los Angeles. My husband and I had planned on going into nearby Santa Barbara for a day during our 2-day stay, but with all the Bacara had to offer, along with the total relaxation and pampering we received, we didn't move off the property. Elena gave me one of the best facials and at night we enjoyed dinner outside under the stars. The staff at every part of the resort is knowledgeable and friendly; we were treated us as if we were the only ones around, which we were not. The elegant and spacious suite provided us with privacy and a beautiful ocean view. We would definitely go back for another long weekend and hope to do so next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Bonnie S- Thank you very much for your detailed review our of resort and your wonderful experience. I am so pleased you enjoy every facet of our resort from the views, cuisine, spa and more. I will certainly share your feedback with the entire team, Please come back and visit us again soon.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Bacara is a lovely, but very expensive, resort 10 miles from Santa Barbara. The online pictures are stunning, however the resort did not live up to its hype. We paid for a room with a partial ocean view and fireplace, but were given a room with a view of an elevator and a non working fireplace. How disappointing.

The resort is 10 miles outside of Santa Barbara. It is only possible to get to it by car but they charge and added fee for parking ( really?).

To be fair the employees are wonderful and the food was excellent. Just be aware what you are paying for before you arrive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mermomUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear mermomUSA,

Thank you for sharing comments regarding your stay at Bacara. Please accept my apology that we did not provide you with the desired ocean view room you had hoped to have while visiting our resort. I appreciate your kind words and compliments about our wonderful staff and excellent culinary experience. The time you have given to share this review and comments are highly valued. I sincerely hope you will allow another opportunity to earn your patronage.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
12.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
984 reviews
12.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,019 reviews
12.6 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,279 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,336 reviews
15.9 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Property: Bacara Resort & Spa
Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#1 Business Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the bluffs and beaches of the Gaviota coast lies a resort of stunning natural beauty and relaxed luxury. With 78 acres of oceanfront property, including two miles of natural beach, Bacara offers an expansive sun-drenched setting with endless vistas of sea and sky. The resort's innovative and artful design is in keeping with the intimacy and aesthetics of a Mediterranean village. Unwind at an award-winning 42,000-square-foot spa and fitness center or relax beside one of three zero-edge swimming pools and 26 private cabanas. The resort's 358 newly-renovated guestrooms and signature suites artfully infuse luxurious interiors with modern technologies for a true sense of comfort. Additional resort amenities include a new oceanfront restaurant, Angel Oak, four Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a Foley wine tasting room, and the adjacent Sandpiper Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing