We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bacara Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Stay”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

In mid June I had the pleasure of visiting this resort for the first time. I will definitely be back! From the warm greeting I received when I arrived to the "anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable" attitude I received during my entire stay, I definitely felt valued as a customer. The property is lovely, and I appreciate that there is an adult only pool/lounge area. I love children, but sometimes you need a little quite. :-) The resort is conveniently located, so if you want to go wine tasting, explore Santa Barbara, go shopping, or just about anything else you imagine, it's all nearby. I would highly recommend a visit to this charming place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine80312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Sunshine80312- It is always wonderful to welcome our friends from Los Angeles! Your 5-star review and wonderful feedback is definitely valued. Thank you for all of your specific details that I am sure other travelers on Trip Advisor will appreciate.

Thank you,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,319
    406
    243
    179
    135
See reviews for
513
933
47
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I went up for our 10 year wedding anniversary. From the start we were treated very well. They upgraded our room to a suite and the flowers I ordered were there when we arrived. The room and all amenities were terrific. Also, everyone on the staff was incredibly polite and easy to deal with. The reason this vacation was almost perfect is because of two things. First, everything was very expense. The parking was $32 a day and the breakfast buffet $35. Second, there was a disconnect with the staff at the main restaurant. 50% of the time when we ordered, it came out wrong. Not complicated orders either. And my wife hated the guacamole at the pool. $18 for the chips and crappy guac. I know this sound's nit-picky, but with the money your spending there, there types of details shouldn't be overlooked. Overall, still pretty terrific.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Steve F- First and foremost, thank you for choosing our resort for your anniversary celebration. I am pleased you and your wife enjoyed the majority of your stay. I appreciate all of your mentions. Our parking rates are indeed an industry standard and many destination resorts remain competitive to this. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Cheers to many more anniversary celebrations in the future!

Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

5⭐️for this place ? Really those people give them a 5⭐️need to have a class how it 5⭐️level mean.

Well I will give u all then formation if u think I'm right or not. My sister in law was planing a trip for a weekend trip, she book a room at this hotel n I check on line the picture the look doesn't appeal me so I didn't book. I'm so glad I didn't book for the room.

Anyways I went to their room OMG the floor matte was so old n dirty n room so mall , all the sheet n stuffs n there need to change it so old n rundown. The toilet seat was old old old! I'm not a pet person so dogs are allow in the hotel. Really!

Dog pee on the grass ? Barking so annoying if u not a pet person .

Facility wasn't that clean. Restroom was clean n good
Lunch was ok service was ok at the area. But dinner was really really good from service to the good food n the view. See with this I don't mind paying , I paid over $1150 with tips for 7 adults n 3,kids.

But the hotel wasn't worst $450 a night. They need to up keep the n change every thing to newer.
Service was good ,
poor is only 3⭐️ poor.
Hotel it 3⭐️
price 8⭐️price.
If I paid this price I rather go to Vegas stay at aria , vdara , or cosmopolitans, so on. That we call 5 ⭐️

I will not wast the money on this hotel but on the restaurant at the ocean view u will it was worth it.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank annieyesenniata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear annieyesenniata- Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay. As a resort that serves thousands of guests a year, many whom return year after year, I know we are capable of meeting the public's highest standards. I will address specific details with the team. Again, thank you for your review.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This resort is absolutely lovely. Picture perfect, wonderfully maintained, exceptional
customer service. We rented a pool cabana during our stay which made the
pool experience very nice, I would suggest that even though they are pricey.
Food at Bistro, poolside and room service was very good quality. We overslept
our reservation for the Miro so didn't get to try that restaurant. The lobby bar had
good food menu and drinks and served late. The yoga classes and
fitness room were great. We played tennis and the tennis club and service were excellent.
Very nice hiking trails around the property. The beach is beautiful but is a major dog-friendly
beach as is the resort itself. This is a plus for dog lovers. However we took a long walk on
the beach and saw families with little kids playing in the sand and saw tons of dog-lovers having
their dogs pee and poo right on the beach and sand where families had kids playing.
It would be a turn-off for me to be putting my beach blanket on sand where dogs are freely
peeing. It was a wonderful weekend we only had two things come up to mention on the odd
or negative side: first we reserved a King bedded partial ocean view room through our travel agent and upon arrival they had a double bedded room for us. Spent 10 minutes at check in seeing what else was available. They found us a king bedded room but with a garden view. Still sorting out with my travel agent the fact that I still got charged for the higher priced partial ocean room. Second odd item is valet upon pulling up in our car to hotel, we got out and opened the back of our SUV and there were three valets standing right there who all greeted us happily but who just stood there
even when I said "our luggage is here in the back" they did not move. Myself and my boyfriend
started dragging our luggage out and putting it curbside. When we had two small work bags
left one of the three valets said "can I help you get those bags?" and I said "well we are done now..." it was really odd. Then one of them rolled up a luggage cart and helped us from there
but it was really weird that they were all standing there making us take our own bags out.
Maybe it's some liability rule or something who knows. Aside from those two hiccups everything
else was really lovely. I would recommend this place for romantic getaway and meanwhile the
place also seemed very kid friendly without being a kid-circus environment.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are superior as they offer best views and most privacy. There is elevator access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear jill d,

I am pleased to read that Bacara provided you with an exceptional July 4th romantic getaway. Thank you very much for the 5 star review and your detailed comments. Our team truly appreciates when guests take the time to share their experience at Bacara. Please accept my apology for the challenges with valet upon arrival to the resort. Rest assured this is not at all indicative of the level service we strive to deliver. I will gladly take all of your thoughts and share them with the Bacara team. I look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Awesome with a capital "A"! Great staff!! Service is what the hotel business is all about and Bacara has that completely figured out. It's apart of the resort's culture and DNA!! My only regret is that my stay was a short one.
I will be back soon for sure!!

Room Tip: Contact them ahead of time if you are coming in because a special occasion and they will help make i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Martin P- I certainly appreciate your review with a capital "A"! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for reaching out on Trip Advisor to share your experience. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We recently spent 4 days at the Bacara Resort and Spa. The location is absolutely beautiful, sitting on the water with not only two nice pools, but also with beach access. We enjoyed a pleasant morning at the spa getting treatments our first day and then rented a cabana by the pool for the rest of the day. The waiter at the pool was great and checked on us often. We ate at both Miro and the Bistro. The views at both were incredible, overlooking the ocean and the food was delicious at both. We enjoyed the less formal atmosphere of the Bistro more and our waiter, Andrew, was excellent.

The location gave us close access to Santa Barbara for shopping and additional dining options on State Street and a good jumping point for a day in Los Olivos for wine tasting. We encountered great service by all staff at the resort. The bellmen were great, taking us on a cart to and from the room when we checked in/out due to the hillside property. They gave us a nice tour of the property on the trip to the room. The fitness room is a good size with plenty of equipment so no one needed to wait for machines/treadmills. They also have a very nice wilderness trail area for hiking.

The rooms are very nice, beds comfortable and everything is very clean. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are awesome, but the garden view rooms are nice and were priced more affordably. Tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Christine C- I absolutely love your description..."Peaceful retreat on the ocean"! Thank you for your 5-star review and wonderful, detailed account of your stay. I am pleased that not only did you get a chance to truly experience our resort, but ventured out in to the surrounding areas for wine tasting as well. Again, thank you for your kind review and I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Truly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I just spent our 10th wedding anniversary at the Bacara, and everything about the resort exceeded our expectations. Every staff member we came in contact with, from the Valet to the pool guy, went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed. The pool, surrounded by incredible Spanish architecture, with the ocean in the distance, makes for a setting that is close to surreal. We had dinner at the Miro with a table overlooking the sunset, and I had a ribeye that was probably the best steak I've ever had. Our room was super nice, with open beams and lots of light coming in. We had room service for breakfast. Make sure you get the lemon custard french toast. The Bacara is a gem, and we will be back with our respective families soon. You won't regret a stay there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericpeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear ericpeterson,

Congratulations and thank you for allowing Bacara to host your 10th wedding anniversary. It means a great deal to the Bacara team when we are selected for special occasions. I am elated that we exceeded your expectations and I will be certain to share your experience with my team. I look forward to your return to Bacara.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
12.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,034 reviews
12.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
999 reviews
12.6 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,377 reviews
14.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
124 reviews
15.9 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Property: Bacara Resort & Spa
Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#1 Business Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the bluffs and beaches of the Gaviota coast lies a resort of stunning natural beauty and relaxed luxury. With 78 acres of oceanfront property, including two miles of natural beach, Bacara offers an expansive sun-drenched setting with endless vistas of sea and sky. The resort's innovative and artful design is in keeping with the intimacy and aesthetics of a Mediterranean village. Unwind at an award-winning 42,000-square-foot spa and fitness center or relax beside one of three zero-edge swimming pools and 26 private cabanas. The resort's 358 newly-renovated guestrooms and signature suites artfully infuse luxurious interiors with modern technologies for a true sense of comfort. Additional resort amenities include a new oceanfront restaurant, Angel Oak, four Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a Foley wine tasting room, and the adjacent Sandpiper Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing