We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a few days R&R”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bacara Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great for a few days R&R”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights as part of our 3 week road trip of the west coast. It's a beautiful location and the property itself is in good condition and looks idyllic. There are three pools, one adult,only in the Spa area. Everything thing overlooks the beach. The food is very good, particularly in the bistro and spa cafe. There are facilities with surfing, paddle boards on the beach for you to use.

Our room was a great size with a fireplace and a beautiful bathroom. The lower floor rooms can be quite dark as they are basement type or ground level has lots of foliage.

The staff are very pleasant and helpful and really added to our staff. The spa looks nice but book early as there were no treatments available.

The negatives are...it was very busy, And this is a big one, there is an oil rig off shore and this contribute to "natural factors" in making the beach have lots of tar on it. It is generally mixed with the sand in places Nd not such a problem in the water but if you walk on it it sticks to your feet like crazy. Even the baby oil and wipe in the tar removal kit provided by the hotel doesn't remove it all, so beware!

All in all a great hotel for a few days to recharge your batteries before setting off along the coast once more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view above the 1st floor. Rooms with fire place are nice it's chilly at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel-happy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear travel-happy08- As a Trip Advisor "Top Contributor", I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. Thank you for the descriptive account of your stay and the specific experiences at Bacara. Thank you for acknowledging the oil as natural occurrences. I am sorry the tar kit did not work effectively; we normally receive the adverse response and guests find it helpful. Your feedback will certainly be shared with the team. Again, thank you for your time and I hope the rest of your travels up the coast was a wonderful one!

Cheers,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,282
    394
    237
    177
    133
See reviews for
499
914
46
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a beautiful property... it blends with the surroundings and feels specifically 'Santa Barbara'. Its both luxurious and also understated and the beach dunes bring a real calm to the resort. If you enjoy golf the proximity to the Sandpiper is a plus too....

We were there for our second stay, this time on a very busy weekend. The physical beauty delivered as promised, but the service shows some hiccups. Much of the staff is new, or on a short stint with an international exchange program. Most who I talked to had only been there a few months. Usually service at 5 start resorts shows high accommodation and excellence, but this staff usually said "let me check" when you had a request-- it was obvious they were either poorly trained or not empowered to make decisions.

I did raise concerns to the management and they were promptly addressed.... so kudos there.

Depending on the rate you pay this could be a good choice... but if you like pampered service you may find it a bit rough around the edges.

Room Tip: Be careful of the 'partial ocean view'. Yes, it did show a peak at the ocean... but not enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdornoLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear AdornoLou- Your feedback is very valuable to us. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We strive for exceptional service and are confident our team consistently provides positive guest service. It is important to hear when our team does meet our goals- so thank you. I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Bacara is absolutely 5 stars, the property is in pristine condition, the staff are professional, well informed, polite and sincere. The suites/rooms are very clean, nicely decorated, with soaking tubs, flat screens, DVD players, fireplaces. The property has undergone recent improvements, updating. Spa is top notch, with the ability to work out, steam and sauna. The Bar is very adult, modern and well supplied. Live music from time to time. The entire property makes you feel like you are "away" on vacation. Kids will enjoy the bunnies, hummingbirds and a Hawk named DAVE. Perfect location for weddings, girls get aways, The breakfast buffet is definitely worth getting up early for. You can not go wrong if you invest the time and money to just let your hair down here for a few days.

Room Tip: Ask for specific ocean view if it's important, otherwise, all of the rooms have very nice founta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Lori J- Thank you for enthusiastic 5=-star review! Your feedback is wonderful and I am sure that other travelers will certainly agree. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and photos- they are great! I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Truly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

very nice place. . .surprisingly good for families with kids. .. . i really enjoyed my time there. . . it is a little isolated but that may be what you want. . .for us we needed to drive to some places and this was a little inconvenient but not bad; the pools were great. . the bar was great. . .the outdoor lounge was outstanding!!! Rooms are very very nice. . . ..the beach was fine.. .tar was not an issue; the gym was the best hotel gym i'd ever been to . . . .were not Spa folks but the Spa was very nice as well . . ...there is value at this hotel!!! it is 1/2 the price of the Four Seasons and i will come back here if i come back to Santa Barbara. Solid Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dtrain7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear dtrain7- Your review was wonderful to read. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts of your recent experience. We value all of your honest feedback, and will share with the rest of the team.

Thank you,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

If you're looking for a luxurious getaway with children in tow, this is the place! Be aware though that the beach is loaded with tar, I would avoid unless you want to spend a good deal of time cleaning your feet & shoes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lrpooch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Lrpooch P- Thank you for recognizing our resort as a family-friendly destination. We truly appreciate your 5-star review. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Truly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel just appears "tired." When I first arrived that was my first thought. Many of the rooms appear to be a distance from the main lobby and down the hill and if you want to go to the beach that is even further down the hill. Just a fact about the topography. There are bellman that drive luggage carts that will take you down to your room with your bags, but when the key to my room did not work, it took approximately 25 minutes for one to arrive and three phone calls from the hall phone. This is definitely a family resort so if you want quiet, room selection is critical. The service was fine, nothing outstanding for a top rated resort. If you book a partial ocean view, it is definitely very partial. There are better choices in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear bob411- Thank you for your review. Your feedback is very valuable. I apologize that you had some negative experiences during your time with us. We will certainly take all of your feedback in to consideration. Again, thank you for your review.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were very impressed by the quality of service at this resort. The staff had a way on checking to see that everything was done to make your stay as enjoyable as possible yet they were never overbearing or intrusive. The room was wonderful and sparkling clean with all the amenities you would expect at a resort of this type and we had a lovely balcony with partial ocean view. We ate at the Spa for lunch 2 days and The Bistro one evening and both were delightful and the food was very good. The wine list is also extensive. The pool by the spa has flavored waters which were refreshing and something different and towels were plentiful and usually warm..right from the dryer. The lounges were incredibly comfortable and there are a couple of "bed" lounges which were awesome. We used the spa for a late checkout and all products and facilities were top notch. It was a very lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor will be more quiet and possibly have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebraCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear DebraCalifornia,

Thank you for sharing compliments regarding your recent stay at Bacara. As a Senior Contributor for TripAdvisor we place a very high value on your comments. The experiences shared by guests like yourself allow us to always strive to achieve the next level of exceptional service and improve on all aspects of our resort.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
12.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
12.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
13.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
12.0 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
15.9 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#18 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Property: Bacara Resort & Spa
Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#1 Business Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the bluffs and beaches of the Gaviota coast lies a resort of stunning natural beauty and relaxed luxury. With 78 acres of oceanfront property, including two miles of natural beach, Bacara offers an expansive sun-drenched setting with endless vistas of sea and sky. The resort's innovative and artful design is in keeping with the intimacy and aesthetics of a Mediterranean village. Unwind at an award-winning 42,000-square-foot spa and fitness center or relax beside one of three zero-edge swimming pools and 26 private cabanas. The resort's 358 newly-renovated guestrooms and signature suites artfully infuse luxurious interiors with modern technologies for a true sense of comfort. Additional resort amenities include a new oceanfront restaurant, Angel Oak, four Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a Foley wine tasting room, and the adjacent Sandpiper Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing