We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bacara Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous Family Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our family of four enjoyed a great four-day getaway to Bacara. We golfed Sandpiper (10 minutes away), biked to the Ellwood Monarch Butterfly Preserve (a fabulous bike ride along the coast), played tennis on Bacara's clay courts, hiked the property, and enjoyed the pools and fitness center. Bacara has several restaurants, all with exceptional food. There's a coffee shop on the property as well as wine tasting. The lobby is beautiful, the grounds are gorgeous, and the ocean views are very nice. We took the train to Goleta and decided not to rent a car, which ended up being a great decision. We will definitely be back to this beautiful resort.

Room Tip: The grounds are very beautiful, so if you don't want to pay for an ocean view, your garden view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Alison F- Thank you for choosing Bacara for your family vacation. I understand that family vacations are so important and I am happy to hear you enjoyed your experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your 5-star review- and detailed account of your stay. You mentioned some wonderful, popular highlights that I am sure other travelers will appreciate. Again, thank you for your time and I hope we see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,281
    394
    237
    176
    133
See reviews for
499
914
46
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davie
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

All you have to do is pull up to the front and the word you will use all day is WOW. Room, service, Beach, what more do you want? We checked in and had a problem with our room. They did not stop to make sure we were happy

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mdagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear mdagen- Thank you for the beaming 5-star review! I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. We work hard to provide exceptional guest service, and it is wonderful to hear that feedback from our guests. Have a wonderful rest of the week and I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Thank you again,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This Resort is one of the very few places that we have ever returned too. The place is amazing in its location as it puts you just north of Santa Barbara and makes for easy access to the wine country. The people that work at the Resort make it their job to insure that you have everthing that you need. The Valet is very friendly and works hard to learn your name. The Bistro is a wonerful resturant with a great view. The guest rooms all open up to the fresh air which is a requirement for my wife and I. The bottom pool is 25 yards long so if you want to do laps you can do them early in the morning. We look forward to our return to Bacara!

Room Tip: Since the Resort is North of Santa Barbara you need a car to get around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RHQ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear RHQ13- As there are many wonderful resorts on the West Coast, it is an honor to be considered as one of the best! Thank you for recognizing our dedicated efforts to provide an exceptional guest experience. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor. I am pleased you enjoyed your time and truly hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights as part of our 3 week road trip of the west coast. It's a beautiful location and the property itself is in good condition and looks idyllic. There are three pools, one adult,only in the Spa area. Everything thing overlooks the beach. The food is very good, particularly in the bistro and spa cafe. There are facilities with surfing, paddle boards on the beach for you to use.

Our room was a great size with a fireplace and a beautiful bathroom. The lower floor rooms can be quite dark as they are basement type or ground level has lots of foliage.

The staff are very pleasant and helpful and really added to our staff. The spa looks nice but book early as there were no treatments available.

The negatives are...it was very busy, And this is a big one, there is an oil rig off shore and this contribute to "natural factors" in making the beach have lots of tar on it. It is generally mixed with the sand in places Nd not such a problem in the water but if you walk on it it sticks to your feet like crazy. Even the baby oil and wipe in the tar removal kit provided by the hotel doesn't remove it all, so beware!

All in all a great hotel for a few days to recharge your batteries before setting off along the coast once more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view above the 1st floor. Rooms with fire place are nice it's chilly at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel-happy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear travel-happy08- As a Trip Advisor "Top Contributor", I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. Thank you for the descriptive account of your stay and the specific experiences at Bacara. Thank you for acknowledging the oil as natural occurrences. I am sorry the tar kit did not work effectively; we normally receive the adverse response and guests find it helpful. Your feedback will certainly be shared with the team. Again, thank you for your time and I hope the rest of your travels up the coast was a wonderful one!

Cheers,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a beautiful property... it blends with the surroundings and feels specifically 'Santa Barbara'. Its both luxurious and also understated and the beach dunes bring a real calm to the resort. If you enjoy golf the proximity to the Sandpiper is a plus too....

We were there for our second stay, this time on a very busy weekend. The physical beauty delivered as promised, but the service shows some hiccups. Much of the staff is new, or on a short stint with an international exchange program. Most who I talked to had only been there a few months. Usually service at 5 start resorts shows high accommodation and excellence, but this staff usually said "let me check" when you had a request-- it was obvious they were either poorly trained or not empowered to make decisions.

I did raise concerns to the management and they were promptly addressed.... so kudos there.

Depending on the rate you pay this could be a good choice... but if you like pampered service you may find it a bit rough around the edges.

Room Tip: Be careful of the 'partial ocean view'. Yes, it did show a peak at the ocean... but not enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdornoLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear AdornoLou- Your feedback is very valuable to us. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We strive for exceptional service and are confident our team consistently provides positive guest service. It is important to hear when our team does meet our goals- so thank you. I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Bacara is absolutely 5 stars, the property is in pristine condition, the staff are professional, well informed, polite and sincere. The suites/rooms are very clean, nicely decorated, with soaking tubs, flat screens, DVD players, fireplaces. The property has undergone recent improvements, updating. Spa is top notch, with the ability to work out, steam and sauna. The Bar is very adult, modern and well supplied. Live music from time to time. The entire property makes you feel like you are "away" on vacation. Kids will enjoy the bunnies, hummingbirds and a Hawk named DAVE. Perfect location for weddings, girls get aways, The breakfast buffet is definitely worth getting up early for. You can not go wrong if you invest the time and money to just let your hair down here for a few days.

Room Tip: Ask for specific ocean view if it's important, otherwise, all of the rooms have very nice founta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Lori J- Thank you for enthusiastic 5=-star review! Your feedback is wonderful and I am sure that other travelers will certainly agree. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and photos- they are great! I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Truly,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

very nice place. . .surprisingly good for families with kids. .. . i really enjoyed my time there. . . it is a little isolated but that may be what you want. . .for us we needed to drive to some places and this was a little inconvenient but not bad; the pools were great. . the bar was great. . .the outdoor lounge was outstanding!!! Rooms are very very nice. . . ..the beach was fine.. .tar was not an issue; the gym was the best hotel gym i'd ever been to . . . .were not Spa folks but the Spa was very nice as well . . ...there is value at this hotel!!! it is 1/2 the price of the Four Seasons and i will come back here if i come back to Santa Barbara. Solid Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dtrain7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Bacara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear dtrain7- Your review was wonderful to read. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts of your recent experience. We value all of your honest feedback, and will share with the rest of the team.

Thank you,

Kathleen Cochran
General Manager
Bacara Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
12.3 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
12.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
13.1 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
12.0 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
15.9 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#17 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacara Resort & Spa

Property: Bacara Resort & Spa
Address: 8301 Hollister Ave, Goleta, CA 93117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Goleta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#2 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bacara Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the bluffs and beaches of the Gaviota coast lies a resort of stunning natural beauty and relaxed luxury. With 78 acres of oceanfront property, including two miles of natural beach, Bacara offers an expansive sun-drenched setting with endless vistas of sea and sky. The resort's innovative and artful design is in keeping with the intimacy and aesthetics of a Mediterranean village. Unwind at an award-winning 42,000-square-foot spa and fitness center or relax beside one of three zero-edge swimming pools and 26 private cabanas. The resort's 358 newly-renovated guestrooms and signature suites artfully infuse luxurious interiors with modern technologies for a true sense of comfort. Additional resort amenities include a new oceanfront restaurant, Angel Oak, four Har-Tru clay tennis courts, a Foley wine tasting room, and the adjacent Sandpiper Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bacara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Bacara Resort
Bacara Spa Resort Santa Barbara
Bacara Resort Santa Barbara Ca
Bacara Santa Barbara
Bacara Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing