We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horseback ride even for beginners”

Circle Bar B Guest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Go horseback riding on some of the finest trails and horses in the Central Coast! We offer horseback year round, with rides ranging from 1 1/2 to 4 hours!
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Horseback ride even for beginners”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Beautiful, scenic horseback ride even for inexperienced riders. Mick did a great job guiding us on the ride and the horses are well trained so they're easy for all beginners. We would highly recommend this 1.5 hour ride!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank pleasureseeker2235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    21
    7
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great horseback riding experience”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We booked a private horseback ride - 1 hour and a half - at Circle Bar B and we so enjoyed it. The trail was great and our guide Rick did a great job. Having done many rides, I highly recommend this place if you are in the area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnnaG412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A leisurely ride through the hills”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We reserved the 1.5 hour private ride for our family of four. I expected that we would take a different route from the group rides, but it was the exact same route, and there were a lot of riders on the trail that day so it wasn't really "private".

Our guide was quiet; not much conversation or entertainment in that regard. However, the woods and scenery are quite nice. As others have mentioned, the horses plod along at a slow walk; it's probably not safe to have them go any faster since the trail winds through the hills with some pretty steep drop-offs.

While it takes just under 30 minutes to get to Circle Bar B from downtown Santa Barbara, it is a nice drive. Also, the horseback riding prices are much cheaper than the ones in Santa Barbara, and Circle Bar B is able to accommodate heavier riders.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank spotsandfriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange county, CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Rustic = OLD!! ..and terrible attitudes!”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We went there for a horseback ride, and even though we were both experienced riders, we fully expected a typical trail ride. Well, we got what we expected -- horses that don't do anything but a very, very slow walk. Bu what we didn't expect was a guide who treated us all like we were kids, had zero personality, and spoke like he had said the same exact thing a thousand times. As for the horses, they were all lined up and tied up with a rope so tight that they couldn't move their heads. It was a slow weekday in November, so we were saddened to think they would be forced to stay like that all day waiting to go out on a ride, with saddles on them all day too.
We toured the inside of the main lodge, they consider it rustic, it just looked very old to us. We asked to see what a room looked like and we were told to go online to look at pictures!! We for sure won't be going back to stay or ride again!

Helpful?
2 Thank taragrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CircleBarB, Front Office Manager at Circle Bar B Guest Ranch, responded to this review, 12 September 2015
Hello There,

Thank you so much for your review, we always like to get feedback on what our riders enjoyed as well as what we need to work on.

We are so sorry you had such a negative experience on your ride. Due to liability all of our rides are kept at a slow walk to insure the uppermost safety for our riders. We have a handful of guides who have a wide scale of personalities. We apologize that you felt your guide lacked spunk.

We pride ourselves on providing the best care for our 55 horses. Of those 55 horses only about 20 or so are working each day, while the rest roam free in our pastures. The horses are rotated daily so that none are over worked. We do saddle up the horses that are working for the day, and due to liability we must keep them tied while they wait for the next ride, but always make sure they are tied with plenty of slack so they are comfortable. We have half day rides that depart daily at 9am, hour and a half rides that depart daily at 9:30am, 11:30am, 2pm and 4pm, and two and a half hour rides that depart daily at 9am and 1pm. Being that we have so many rides, the horses are not tied up all day. After the last ride of the day we unsaddle them, bath them, feed them and then set them all free in the pastures to roam the rest of the day and night.

Our guest ranch is exclusive to overnight guests but we are always happy to show rooms when we have the staff to do so. We apologize you felt it rude for the staff to advise you to take a look at the photos of the rooms online and did not explain that either all of the rooms were booked and we had none open to show, or there was no other staff members to cover the front office so that they could show you the rooms.

Again, thank you so much for your review.

-Circle Bar B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lompoc, California
1 review
“Noises Off....Haven't laughed that hard in years”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Once again, David and Susie Couch did not let us down. As producers and performers of the shows at Circle Bar B, Susie did a bang up job as Bleinda/Flavia in Noises Off, this performance was top notch. My wife and I haven't laughed this hard in years. Unfortunately, this season has come to an end but the 2014 season will start up again in April. The food, as always, was tasty and plentiful. If you are going to be in the Santa Barbara/Goleta area from April to Oct. make sure you get tickets to one of the shows/dinner. You won't be sorry. There are Sunday matinee's and Friday and Saturday night performances.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harrison Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Circle Bar B Guest Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Circle Bar B Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing