We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, about to receive a needed update”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus South Coast Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2012

The garden was well cared for and a lovely amenity. Plenty of places to sit and enjoy the lovely space. The pool area was pleasant and clean. We enjoyed the ping-pong table that was out on the upper patio.

The breakfast bar was one of the most complete that we've experienced in this level of hotel: boiled eggs, frittata, sausage, bagels and cream cheese, yogurt, toast, cold cereal, fresh fruit, espresso machine and more.

Our room had two queen sized beds. The remote was in one of those "fresh remote" bags. The white duvet on the bed was sandwiched between two white sheets instead of a difficult to remove cover. I felt as though the staff was making an extra effort to show that they take cleanliness seriously. Very nice. Plenty of towels and toiletries. The air conditioner and fan worked properly and provided white noise.

The train tracks are nearby and there are frequent trains that go through the area. We didn't find this to be a problem, but some may. In spite of the nice garden area, there is a fair amount of road noise. We didn't find this to be a problem due to the ability to run the fan all night.

The location was conveniently located relative to the UCSB campus, beaches and the greater Santa Barbara area with our rental car. Plenty of restaurants and a grocery store within walking distance.

A notice in the room indicated that this hotel is undergoing renovations for the next several months between the hours of 10am-4pm. We didn't experience any disruption during our stay. The renovations should help update the well worn wall coverings, furniture and bathrooms.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SubarcticHomebody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such an in depth and detailed review. We appreciate hearing thoughts of our guests and the feedback you left will help us maintain the things people love and improve the things they don't. We are happy that you enjoyed all of our great amenities and had a great stay. WE hope to see you again next time you are in the area!

Thanks again,

Nicole Weland
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

527 - 533 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is a very nice property with nice landscaping. We were only there one night, so we didn't get a chance to see much, but we were overall impressed. I thought the rooms were a little overpriced, but location has a lot to do with that. The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: This hotel is getting ready to undergo a major renovation, so you may want to call first to see if i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPR18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

We are so glad that you were able to stop in for a quick stay and enjoy our property. We hope that you can come and stay with us again soon!

Thank you for the feedback,

Nicole Weland
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

Will stay again. Very nice grounds and pool area. Great price for this area

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bgtrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

I am so glad to hear that you will come and stay again! We strive to make each guest happy and I am so glad that we made a good impression. Come back and enjoy the pool and the grounds any time.

Hope to see you again soon,

Nicole Weland
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Very nice place - grounds are beautiful - quiet also. Very good breakfast. Air conditioners are a bit noisy though. Close to airport and a nice beach is just down the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaE617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

So glad to hear that you loved the grounds! Our landscaping team works very hard to keep them beautiful and to keep our fun topiares up to par. Thanks for taking the time to post your response. Your feedback is much appreciated.

Thank you again,

Nicole Weland
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Needed a hotel while visiting UCSB. In the past we've stayed at a few high priced options, and a few low priced options, this hotel ended up being the best value by far. The grounds are beautiful--flowers, a pool and lawn area. Rooms are clean and bed is very comfortable. The free breakfast is OK (the egg dish reminded me of airplane food--avoid it) but there was fresh fruit, bagels, bacon and good coffee that met our needs. I will definitely stay here again. Note for getting TV to work--needs to be set on HDMI 2 not HDMI1 as outlined in the instructions .My room was in the back, away from traffic and was very quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frugalshopper_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

I would like to send you a big thank you for taking the time to review us, and letting us know that we are providing a great value for you. It is always great to hear when a guest enjoys our hotel and our great amenities. Thanks again and we look forward to having you here again the next time you are out to visit UCSB!

Thank you again,

Nicole Weland
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We chose this hotel based on reviews here, the price, and our prior good experiences with Best Western properties. The good: breakfast choices, the grounds, 2 queen beds instead of doubles, the price. The not-so-good: room temperature. We could never find the happy medium between stuffy and warm and dry, noisy and cool. The air is operated by a unit on the front wall and I got up a couple times during the night to either turn it on or off. This is also a hotel with windows and doors on the exterior, which means that if you want natural light coming in, you will need to not mind people walking by your window on their way in and out of their own rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank los4caracoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are always looking for ways to improve, and you will be happy to know that while we plan on keeping the great breakfast, large queen beds and great prices we will also be starting some great renovations. One of these include in wall air conditioning units with in wall thermostats. We just put our first one in, and will be doing as many as possible over the next year and a half to completion.

We hope you can come back and visit us again to try these out!

Thanks again,

Nicole Weland
Assistant General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Wonderful breakfast with a great array of choices. Nice grounds with pool and fun topiary. Room was comfortable, clean, quiet, and pleasant. Hotel staff was excellent - very helpful and courteous. Good wi-fi access

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were put near the back of the property - this was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

I am so excited that you were able to partake in our great hot breakfast! It is great to hear when guests enjoy what we have to offer. It is also nice to hear that our staff is continually offering great customer service and that you were able to take the time to notice our fun topiaries. We hope that you come and stay with us next time that you are in town to visit UCSB.
Thank you again for the feedback,

Nicole Weland
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta
0.4 mi away
Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Goodland
Kimpton Goodland
#6 of 12 in Goleta
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Santa Barbara Goleta
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Santa Barbara - Calle Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus South Coast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus South Coast Inn

Address: 5620 Calle Real, Goleta, CA 93117-2319
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Goleta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#4 Business Hotel in Goleta
#4 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range: £114 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus South Coast Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus South Coast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus South Coast Hotel Goleta
Best Western Goleta
Goleta Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing