We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic needs met” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Goleta
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Basic needs met”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Haven't stayed in a Best Western in many years, but this was convenient for my situation. Room was spacious enough and the bed comfortable. However, it was hotter than usual that week and the a/c unit didn't comfortably cool the room--kept going on and off, and it was too cold when on then too warm when off. Aggravating the problem was that the only blanket was a (feather?) quilt--too hot when it was on you, too cold without.

I appreciated having the fridge in the room to keep milk and snacks--although it was set too cold and the milk froze. Free wi-fi I guess is pretty standard, but I thought they offered more TV stations than most hotels. Others complained about the quality of the food for the free breakfast buffet, but I thought it was just fine given the situation; certainly convenient, The frittata was good, and on Sunday they had real bacon which was better than the microwave sausage on the other days. The usual array of cereals, muffins, bagels and pastries. Most important was that the coffee was good and they had a great cappuccino machine that had a whole host of yummy choices. You could eat inside or out in the courtyard which was lovely.

Price-wise it varied from $110 TO $150 (with AAA discount), the latter price for Saturday night seemed a little pricey for a Best Western--but the whole Santa Barbara area is expensive (and this is about 8 miles out). Did not get to use pool and jacuzzi but looked nice. 4 out of 5 rating seemed a little too high, I would give more like 3.5.

Room Tip: My room in the back was quiet but I would ask for a room on the courtyard. Ask for 1st floor unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Inkblots_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South-Coast I, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review of our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed our breakfast, coffee machine, rooms and many other amenities. We strive to provide great service and are glad that your needs were met.

We are also in the midst of upgrading the hotel, to include the air conditioning. We hope that you will be able to come back and stay again to enjoy the new rooms.

Thank you,

Nicole Weland
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    254
    72
    16
    9
See reviews for
255
137
28
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

We were passng through and found this "hotel " on line as one of the few available over labor day weekend. Needless to say, we left after one hour of checking in 10:00 pm with our sleeping 2 year old. The room had a terrible smell , there was loud noise , banging etc next door & above us . We complained to management and was told there was not much they could do on a holiday weekend . Nonetheless , definitely not a place I would ever recommend .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vivacouture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South-Coast I, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

We would love to be able to keep other guests from making noises, but sometime this happens and we apologize.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 805.967.3200.

Nicole Weland
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

It was our first stay in a Best Western hotel, but since then we've become a fan. Clean and good sized room and bathroom with everything we needed (towels, coffee, soap,...). Breakfast buffet is a bit dissapointing. There is no possibility to have a snack or drink in the cafetaria during lunch or dinner, which isn't very comfortable with little children. Also, the hotel is quite expensive, being located some miles away from Santa Barbara.
If you're used to small hotelrooms in Europe, this will be a blast :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kdelem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South-Coast I, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your vacation spot! We are so glad that you had the chance to enjoy all that our hotel has to offer. We would love to have you come back soon. I think that you would appreciate staying with us in a slower season such as Winter or Spring, when we offer the same great amenities, but the rates are not as high as Summer.
Hope to see you again soon,

Nicole Weland
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

I don't normally use Best Western but this was the only property available in town for my trip. Quite disappointing for the price and considering this is Best Western's mid-class hotel.

Negative
- significant mold visibly growing in the air conditioning unit on the vents where the air comes out
- bathroom had a distinct sewage smell probably caused by the toilet not completely filling after flushing and allowing air to escape through the trap
- There were stains on the walls between the beds and the area around the night table was covered in dust and had obviously not been cleaned in a very long time.
- the refrigerator was located under the sink in the bathroom (?) it took me a couple of days to figure that out and even then it was so small it couldn't hold a standard take out containter.

Positive
- beautifully landscaped but I would much rather have a clean room
- staff happily adjusted our changing reservations several times with no problems

I opted to check out of this place and drive from the next town after a few days of staying here. Makes me want to avoid Best Western in the future.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 744CitizenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South-Coast I, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed the grounds and many of the other great amenities we have to offer.

Our staff strives to provide the best customer service and cleanliness, and we are very surprised that you had a negative experience in the room during your stay. Just this week I had two guests specifically ask to speak to me, and compliment us on how clean our rooms are.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 805.967.3200.

Thank you again,

Nicole Weland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We have stayed here several times and it is always a mixed bag. The rooms are clean, nicely sized, and the bedding comfortable. There are plenty of towels and pillows. There is an outdoor pool and jacuzzi and many restaurants and stores near-by (including Trader Joe's!) I find the breakfast buffet to be average at best. There is quantity, but not quality...the breakfast area is larger than most and when the weather is beautiful eating out on the patio is a great option. My real complaints are the thinness of the walls and the friendliness of the staff. This trip we were placed right next to the laundry room and could hear the machines working all day, including some rather loud noises when the plumbing was used to fill the washers. I figured this was just going to be a problem during the day with the maids changing out so much bedding, but alas, I was woken in the middle of the night by the noise as well. You can also hear the upstairs neighbors everytime they walk across the floor. The staff *is* professional, but not friendly. Even a simple "Good morning" was not returned by some staff members. So, would I stay here again? Yes...but I always compare the price between this Best Western and the Holiday Inn next door and go with the cheapest option. It is significantly cheaper than anything in downtown Santa Barbara and there is certainly less traffic in Goleta with easy access to the airport and beach. The property backs up on a nice residential neighborhood that is very family friendly and safe.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7Kathi_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South-Coast I, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad that you continue to come back to our property and that you enjoy so many of the great amenities we have to offer. On behalf of our entire team, I apologize for the noise that you encountered. I was very surprised to hear there was a noise issue since all of our walls and floors are concrete block, and we do not usually have any noise complaints from other floors or neighboring rooms. Please contact me direct prior to your next stay and I would love to give you a complimentary upgrade for your trouble.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Nicole Weland
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Used the South Coast Inn as our touring base for a few days before heading for Los Angeles and it served us well. Situated in well maintained grounds, the bedroom was a little dated, albeit I couldn't fault the cleanliness of the room. A satisfactory breakfast is provided and there's plenty of free parking around the hotel. Convenient for Santa Barbara and only a few blocks from the main highway. Backs onto a residential neighbourhood and had no concerns about the area. Certainly worth considering if you're in that area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walnut-Whips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South-Coast I, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you so much for choosing us as your hotel while you were in town. We appreciate your positive review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Happy travels,

Nicole Weland
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed there for five nights, the price was above average on our trip when compared to the quality. But it was clean, served a pretty good breakfast and was located in a nice area with supermarkets and restaurants within 1 mile.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cortexM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleta
0.5 mi away
Pacifica Suites Santa Barbara
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Santa Barbara Goleta
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Santa Barbara/Goleta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Goodland
Kimpton Goodland
#6 of 10 in Goleta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Santa Barbara - Calle Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn
Address: 5620 Calle Real, Goleta, CA 93117-2319
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Goleta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Goleta
#4 Business Hotel in Goleta
#4 Family Hotel in Goleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS South Coast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus South Coast Hotel Goleta
Best Western Goleta
Goleta Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing