We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, great location”
Review of Gray Eagle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Graeagle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gray Eagle Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Graeagle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fallon, NV
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place, great location”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We really like the Gray Eagle Lodge. We have mixed feelings about the lodge, not because of the staff or accommodations, but some of the guests were rude to us during our stay. Maybe we are too low class to be staying there. We LOVED the food! The cabins aren't fancy but are clean, great location(our favorite area), and very friendly staff. Good value. We could see deer out the window while we were dining. Not sure if we will return, but would recommend to others, no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    8
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
42
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We just had our first stay at the Gray Eagle Lodge. It's in the Lakes Basin Region of the Sierra, about 45 minutes north of Truckee. The lodge is a short dirt-road away from the main road and feels very secluded. The property has a waterfall and creek running through it, and several stand-alone cabins. Our two cabins were immaculate, spacious and very comfortable.

Everyone who works there is very nice, friendly and helpful. The breakfast and dinner, included with the room rate, were excellent. Along with nightly specials, there was always a fish, meat and vegetarian option. Don't miss the Thursday night Thanksgiving dinner - delicious! The chef does a really good job. It's fun to enjoy a cocktail before dinner - either outside the lodge, or at the bar inside.

Kids roam the property freely. There's a bocce court, volleyball court, firepit with nightly smores and a little swimming hole. Trails to local lakes leave directly from the lodge. Dogs are welcome - what a nice treat!

We had a wonderful stay and can't wait to return. Many people return year after year, but there were also newcomers like us, so we felt welcome.

Room Tip: There are a few cabins right on the creek and there are a few a little further away from the lodge a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassietrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed at Gray Eagle Lodge in August of last year (2012). I am so sorry to say it was a horrible experience. We had rats in our cabin. My 4 year old son accidentally discovered a trap with a dead rat under our bed, things went down hill from there. We were not offered alternative accommodations, instead we were instructed to box our food up, and they brought more traps which we had the unpleasant experience of hearing go off in the night. We then were told that they had been struggling with an infestation in our cabin all summer. THE CABIN SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN RENTED OUT AT ALL with such an unsanitary conditions. Finally, the last straw was watching a rat run across a rafter over our bed.

We left a day early. The only compensation we were given was we did not have to pay for the last day - when we weren't even there. Nothing was discounted, no refunds given. Just a mediocre apology. My son still occasionally has nightmares from staying there.

We so wanted to love this place and come every year. I will never go back there again....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JMMeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CowgirlinVerdi, Owner at Gray Eagle Lodge, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
It took us a while to figure out how to respond to this review. After reviewing the reservation history, interviewing our maids, front desk staff, and wait staff with regard to this particular guest and these accusations, we've decided to simply say that this is A COMPLETE MISREPRESENTATION OF THE TRUTH!!!! We wish this family luck in their future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This wonderfully situated lodge is an ideal getaway for both couples and families. The modified American plan, which includes both breakfast and dinner, is an excellent value. The cabins are lovely.

The staff are incredibly professional and friendly.

Sack lunches can be ordered the night before, and are a good value.

There are trails leading straight from the lodge to wonderful wild flower displays, waterfalls, creeks and lakes.

Room Tip: Some cabins are more centrally located, but not as quiet. Some are further out, but offer a little m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zelins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAYWARDS HEATH
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I was visiting friends in California and as part of my trip we spent three nights in this amazing place.I have never experienced such a unique experience in a peaceful ( no televisions or phones) comfortable rustic lodge nestling in a forest,with a creek , waterfall and wildlife including deer walking passed the lodge. Also very essential for me creature comforts abound including coffee served from 7am in the restaurant in front of a blazing fire and free wifi also great food together with most helpful and friendly service . I was lucky enough to be there for a wine weekend so also got to taste some amazing Californian wine and spent some fun times after dinner chatting round the outside fire pit at night and learnt the pleasures of toasting marsh mallows and chocolate. I even utilised the games room playing table tennis and draughts..first time for years and there is plenty to do for all ages and lots of treks for all levels.. My only complaint was it is such a long way(c. 5500 miles) from England for a return weekend break so wish it was closer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oaks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This lodge is ...in a word..."wonderful".
The scenery, the air, the lodging, the food, the ambiance.
It is very restful, yet with enough to do, very accomodating without being intrusive.
I saw older couples, young families and everything in between, any woman will love it, nothing to do, no meals to make, no housework, no nothing.
No phones, no TV's, quiet, relaxing, a water fall, small lake for kid swimming, hikes, golf nearby, a surprising little town (Graegle) nearby.
Lynn and Bret Smith, the owners and hosts are perfect for the place. You are welcome, you are assisted in anything if necessary...lunches, directions, there is a small bar, pool table, ping pong, bocce, books, a fireplace, outdoor firepit (s'mores!), nice wine, great food ( breakfast and dinner included) . I could go on and on.....

Room Tip: Any of the cabins, they all have a certain charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Our family has been going to the Gray Eagle Lodge every summer for over 15 years. The setting is a beautiful mountain scene. The falls are majestic as are the surrounding mountains and over 40 alpine lakes nearby. The log lodge is the center of great food, family and friends to gather for your all inclusive stay. There are quaint cabins with kitchenettes and decks to relax on. The falls run into Graeagle creek which has a nice location to lie on the beach. There are many hiking trails right from the lodge, you can hike to many alpine lakes and even walk on the Pacific Crest Trail which runs above the lodge. We will never miss an opportunity to stay at Graeagle lodge.
Also dog friendly. The owners Brett and Lynn Smith are great people and always take time for every guest with all their needs. The staff is also very friendly. You have to stay at this wonderful place!!!

Room Tip: They are all great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmoessinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graeagle
8.6 mi away
Chalet View Lodge
Chalet View Lodge
#1 of 4 in Graeagle
287 reviews
8.4 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#1 of 2 in Clio
50 reviews
8.3 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Gold Pan Lodge
Gold Pan Lodge
#6 of 7 in Quincy
40 reviews
10.9 mi away
No photo provided
My Sisters Cottage
#3 of 5 in Sierra City
1 reviews
14.6 mi away
Lake Davis Resort, Cabins & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray Eagle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray Eagle Lodge

Property: Gray Eagle Lodge
Address: 5000 Gold Lake Road, Post Office Box 38, Graeagle, CA 96103
Region: United States > California > Plumas County > Graeagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Graeagle
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gray Eagle Lodge is located in the Lakes Basin region of the Plumas National Forest. The property is located on Graeagle Creek with a beautiful waterfall adding to the natural beauty of the surroundings. The property offers twenty cabins and two Lodge guest rooms. The main Lodge is constructed with massive Sugar Pine logs and offers a sitting room and stone fireplace, bar, and the Firewoods restaurant. Wi-Fi service is availabe in the Lodge. Enjoy hiking and biking from your cabin door, or relax over a game of bocce ball. Our game room offers a pool table, ping-pong, a library, games and puzzels. Experience our many Alpine lakes via our kayak rentals, or visit Smith Lake with our row boat. Double occupancy pricing includes made-to-order breakfast, three-course meal and daily maid service. After your meal, enjoy S'Mores by the nightly community bonfire! 24 hour front desk. PETS ARE WELCOME! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing