We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You hike, someone else cooks.”
Review of Gray Eagle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Graeagle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gray Eagle Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Graeagle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Sea Ranch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You hike, someone else cooks.”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We travel to Gray Eagle Lodge with a large group of women friends every year in September. It's perfect. Lots of wonderful hikes and a chef to feed you after 5 o'clocks on the deck. The cabins are always being updated, the owners are lovely people as are the folks who work there. Really, it is quite wonderful.

Room Tip: Chose a cabin on the river. The sound of the water at night is magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank judyknittingtennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    8
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
42
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westwood, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We spent 3 nights at Gray Eagle Lodge to celebrate my husband's birthday. The Willow cabin was fabulous with a handicapped accessible ramp and a roll in shower. The dinners were fabulous as well as the breakfasts. Bret, the owner, was very accommodating and the rest of the staff was extra friendly and always ready to answer questions and help with whatever we needed. There were many things to do, including hiking, fishing, golfing, swimming and kayaking. However, since my husband is in a wheelchair, and not able to do any of the above mentioned activities, he was a little bored, especially since there was no TV.

Room Tip: The Poplar cabin has it's front deck overlooking the creek....spectacular!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My wife and I, and our three kids (ages 17, 14, and 11) have come annually to Gray Eagle Lodge for 9 consecutive summers. We all love it, and it continues to interest each of us. There are numerous activities available for all ages, from hanging out at the stream at camp, to the dozens of hikes (wild raspberries end of August), the myriad of local lakes, horseback riding, atv riding.... Every year we bring inner tubes and float down the Feather River with water guns. The people you meet at the lodge are amazing, and we met several of out closest friends there. We vacation with them every year and our group grows every year. Each of our kids caught their first fish at Smith Lake, and chef will cook it at the lodge if you clean it. I learned to fly fish in the local stream, and there are fish in it!
The breakfasts and dinners are wonderful, and I particularly recommend the soups of the day. The entire staff there is very friendly and helpful. We rented paddleboards for the first time this year and all loved them. Brett will deliver the rented kayaks and paddleboards to Salmon Lake, which is beautiful. The cabins are cleaned each day and are perfect for the environment. The best thing about Gray Eagle Lodge is the environment, where kids play from sun up till the last game of flashlight tag in the evening near the campfire. It is also close to Graeagle, which has local markets, golf, and massage, if that interests some of your group.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My family has been a regular at the Gray Eagle Lodge for a dozen years. I can honestly say...in my opinion...that this is the best place to stay in the Sierras, particularly for active families. Hiking of all types from easy to strenuous right out your door. Swimming in the pristine creek on the grounds ot in nearby mountain lakes. Visiting waterfalls or ghost towns. Playing badminton, ping pong, pool at the lodge. Sitting and chatting around the campfire. Nearby kayaking and fishing. Excellent breakfast and dinner - no need to shop, cook or clean up. Great wine and drink. Cabins are not super luxurious (not should they be) but are clean, quiet, comfortable and well-appointed with all the basics - refrigerators, decks, showers, etc. All this made even better because of the friendly owners, staff and fellow guests. The mountains like they are supposed to be! By the way, this is my first and only Trip Advisor review. Hopefully this won't make it even harder to get a reservation.

Room Tip: We've stayed in many different cabins over the years. Just ask the staff for their advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We plan on making this trip an annual one, booking out a year in advance every time. Cabins have the basics and are very clean. You dont need much inside because there is so much to do outdoors whether it is sitting outside the lodge reading, hiking to the lakes, fishing, canoeing and with the dog along!

Food is amazing. Staff is amazing. We met so many people who have been coming for generations that it convinced us it is everything we think it is.

Room Tip: You cant go wrong if you can find availability. I prefer cabin to lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzyChapstick30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We just spent our 13th year at the lodge. We started when our baby as in diapers and now she hikes 15 miles like it is a walk in the park. Casey the new chef did a great job in taking over for the Legend Louie. Thanksgiving dinner under the stars with 6 new and old families was one of our highlights. If you are looking to start a great family tradition or just want a place to hang out with no phones or TV this is the place. We base most of our travel plans on TA so I had to write a review about GE Lodge. We caught 30 fish on 2 local lakes hiked over 35 miles from our front door shared great stories and fine wine on the deck for 7 outstanding days. Next July the Legendary Babcocks will again join our crew of the Clouds, Phams, Colossi. So if you happen to book a room and have a great trip just tell Bret that Tal sent you.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Minklerkingsriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Great location, great food, great people...best vacation. Our family looks forward to going each year, and we are never let down on how relaxing and unplugged we become. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graeagle
8.6 mi away
Chalet View Lodge
Chalet View Lodge
#1 of 4 in Graeagle
288 reviews
8.4 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#1 of 2 in Clio
50 reviews
8.3 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Gold Pan Lodge
Gold Pan Lodge
#6 of 7 in Quincy
40 reviews
10.9 mi away
No photo provided
My Sisters Cottage
#3 of 5 in Sierra City
1 reviews
14.6 mi away
Lake Davis Resort, Cabins & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray Eagle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray Eagle Lodge

Property: Gray Eagle Lodge
Address: 5000 Gold Lake Road, Post Office Box 38, Graeagle, CA 96103
Region: United States > California > Plumas County > Graeagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Graeagle
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gray Eagle Lodge is located in the Lakes Basin region of the Plumas National Forest. The property is located on Graeagle Creek with a beautiful waterfall adding to the natural beauty of the surroundings. The property offers twenty cabins and two Lodge guest rooms. The main Lodge is constructed with massive Sugar Pine logs and offers a sitting room and stone fireplace, bar, and the Firewoods restaurant. Wi-Fi service is availabe in the Lodge. Enjoy hiking and biking from your cabin door, or relax over a game of bocce ball. Our game room offers a pool table, ping-pong, a library, games and puzzels. Experience our many Alpine lakes via our kayak rentals, or visit Smith Lake with our row boat. Double occupancy pricing includes made-to-order breakfast, three-course meal and daily maid service. After your meal, enjoy S'Mores by the nightly community bonfire! 24 hour front desk. PETS ARE WELCOME! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing