We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
73
9
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
9
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalmonmud piestream runningcity lifeprime ribribsbretlakespropertywildernessbasingridaccommodationswoodsgoldipadentrees
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Beautifully situated in the woods w plenty to do--lakes for fishing, paddle boarding, and kayaking. Lots of hiking trails for every interest/ability. Dog friendly and delicious food! We'd love to come back!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank furski2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

This is one of the most peaceful places we've ever stayed. The cabins are beautiful - simple but very well maintained. The food was consistently good. The stream going through the property is very tranquil and perfect to play in. Wish we could have stayed longer! Can't wait to go back!!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Jennykedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We have been coming to Grey Eagle Lodge for over 25 years and it just keep getting better and better. The cabins are cozy, comfortable and on a river. The staff is friendly, helpful and welcoming. There are so many activities to do, reading on your deck, going for one of the many beautiful hikes, paddle boarding, swimming in the pristine lakes, fishing and the list goes on. The food at the lodge is delicious, home cooked meals with a variety to chose from - whether you are an omnivore or vegetarian. I cannot wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: All cabins have their own unique charm.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Great experience, awesome places to bring kids, as there is all kind of activities and accommodations for them. The creek running through the property is SO refreshing to dip into the swimming holes, and there are ankle-deep areas perfect for the tykes! It's also a great jumping-off point for back-packing the region and is a welcome sight when returning from a few nights out in the wilderness (parking for Smith Lake and all the other trails is an 1/8th mile away).

We were treated like royalty by Sara at the desk and Bret the owner, and ate, drank, and slept in fine comfort- upgraded from lodge to cabin at no charge and took the difference and tipped the staff- they deserved it.

Room Tip: Book early!
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greghadfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

I loved the location, trails, beautiful scenery, and lots of water features, some swimmable. The food was well-above average and plentiful. I did not find the hosts especially dog-friendly, even though they advertised themselves that way. You do not have the option to eat outside with your dogs, so I left mine tied up (in the designated dog area) and one of them made some noise (whining, no barking) and there were a lot of people sitting nearby (many of whom seemed to enjoy meeting the dogs); I was asked to leave the dinner table and put them somewhere else (In the car, when it was 100˚ that day? In the cabin, where they were not allowed on the furniture? Tied to a tree with a short leash? I chose the cabin). The next morning, I brought them back to the tie-up at breakfast (as there were no people sitting nearby) and got a snarky comment from the owner ("Brought those dogs back, eh?"). Frustrating and stressful, to say the least. I would like to return to the area, but would rather stay somewhere else. Note that the cabin price covers only 2 adults and 2 meals/day; kids (and dogs) are extra, like $65/day per kid extra, so be aware of all the costs before you book. The teens I was with greatly enjoyed the ping pong table, the nightly campfire with s'more fixings provided, and the opportunity to socialize with other guests, as well as the option to rent kayaks and SUPs which the lodge schlepped to Salmon Lake for us. One night there was a bad guitarist and another night there was a fabulous guitarist hired to play. Both played for about 4 hours straight, so it was a mixed bag of entertainment. Wonderful lakes nearby, some hiking distance (Lily Lake, Long Lake), several larger ones a short drive away (Gold Lake, Salmon Lake, Sardine Lake).

Room Tip: Pick a cabin not too close to the lodge, to avoid car noise/garbage pickup, etc.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CowgirlinVerdi, Owner at Gray Eagle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Gray Eagle Lodge's first priority is to our human guests. When guests have dogs that are suffering from nervousness and separation anxiety, we often ask guests to move their dog to a location where the dog might feel more comfortable. While we are pet friendly, when we have other guests that complain about dog behavior, we do put the human guest first. These dogs were very nervous and we very much appreciated the attempt to move them into a cabin. Unfortunately, that didn't work either as one of the dogs jumped through the screen and out of the window. We were unable to accommodate the desire to eat outside as the one table we have outside was filled with people. We wish this guest the best of luck in her future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews