We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recharged the country soul of this city girl”
Review of River Pines Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Graeagle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River Pines Resort
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Recharged the country soul of this city girl”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Love, love, love!!! Owners are friendly and accommodating. Rooms are very spacious; water pressure in shower is awesome! Food at lodge restaurant and other area eateries is absolutely delicious. Scenery is stunning. Will go back next year.

Room Tip: This is a 1960's style one story lodge located deep in the Sierras. Don't expect the modern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123Critic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    4
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tuolumne City, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The room was dirty, there were spider webs in the kitchen, the cleaning staff was driving around the DIRT road with all the CLEAN sheets and linens on top of a golf cart, some of the floor heaters had NO knobs, there WAS ONE OPENING WINDOW in the bathroom, the stove fan switch was BEHIND the refrigerator, we found out after we were checked in the next day that the hot tub was broken, the bathroom sink sprayed water in your crotch, the toilet splashed water on the floor, the bathroom had NO curtain, the carpet was old and dirty and needed to be changed, the chairs were so uncomfortable you would be better sitting on the dirty floor, the Futon was hard and made a nasty couch.the outside porch lights had to be turned on by a string on each side of the cabin no where near the door, clock didn't work, smoke detector was not mounted properly

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UNCLEJARHEAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie R, Owner at River Pines Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
First thanks to unclejarhead for his review. I am sorry he doesn't come back and post the comments he personally received from us.
River Pines Resort as are most of the resorts in the area, are resorts built in the late 50's early 60's and are constantly a work in progress.
As was explained to Mr. Jarhead, we had just opened the cottages for the season (closed from November to April 30). A rough clean was done for a group coming in but we had not started our spring cleaning which entails a lot more than cleaning. We replace batteries in clocks and smoke detectors, walls are washed and oiled, carpets are cleaned and visible repairs are reported. As with anything, things happen when people use them, especially after they have been closed for the season. Hopefully they have sense enough to report any repairs during their stay or when they leave (which Mr. Jarhead did not). as with most of the older resorts in the area our eyes are sometimes those of the guests. This family takes pride in the cleanliness of the resort. We are fortunate to have the same housekeepers for the last 15 years who take pride as well. As I told Mr. Jarhead in my reply if it is the Hilton of the Sierra's you are looking for, we are not it. If you would like to be a round a good, clean family run business where people have been coming for 40 years and have a great time and appreciate the ongoing efforts we make then please give River Pines a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Maybe we caught them on a bad day, but the folks working here have a lot to learn about customer service... And especially anyone traveling with babies, beware...

Booked months ahead for a wedding (there aren't a lot of options as things get booked up in the summer) because they said they had pack-n-plays/port-a-cribs (we had an infant with us). Got there and yes, they had 1, but it was broken/non-functional (and we've set up a lot of different pak-n-plays in our time). Nobody there knew anything about how it was supposed to work or if anyone had ever used it in the past (it looked to us like it was missing parts).

We asked them what alternatives they could think of for us, and essentially the answer we got from 3 different people we asked for help was "I don't know". I asked if they could call neighboring places to find a crib for us, and they again said "I don't know". I ended up calling around to everything within a 10 mile radius myself, asking if we could pay them for a pak-n-play to borrow for the night, and after 2 hours (which made us miss the rehearsal dinner we had arrived in plenty of time for), we found some place that had one (and at that point we were so fed up with the lack of customer service that we went and stayed there instead).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palindromea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Let's start with the good. There was plenty of space in the room, it was fairly clean and the location is great. Graeagle is a great little town in the woods, perfect for a little time out of the city. Unfortunately, the bed was all springs and you could feel it. Super old, musty feeling cheap pillows. Worst night's sleep I've had in a while. Sound carried through the walls badly and the general feel of the place was more like a motel than a "resort". I don't particularly care about the TV being more than 20 years old and I could even settle for the bad bed, if I were looking for a cheap spot to crash on my travels, but for the price? I stayed at a fantastic little B&B in Guerneville for the same price as this place. If they cut way down on their price or upgraded the rooms with better beds and TVs from this century, the place could work. Until then...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PlainJaneDoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Impeccably clean. TV worked well. Great lodging option for exploring Gold Lakes Basin. A little pricey for a small, old roadside motel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2005

My wife and I had a very pleasant stay at River Pines Resort this weekend. The owners of the resort also maintain daily operations, and the on hands approach really shows in the little details. The rooms are warm and comfortable and the located in beautiful Graeagle, CA. If you are looking for peace and quiet in a calm, comforting environment this is the place. If you enjoy the great outdoors you will never run out of things to do here or just walk outside your room for peace and tranquility. We will be back, thank you Leslie and family.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank george_sand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 October 2005

My husband and I visited Graeagle for the first time over Labor Day weekend and stayed at the River Pines Resort. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The quaint, rustic rooms and cabins were reminiscent of an older time yet had enough modern amenities to make the stay more than comfortable. Graeagle is a charming place and there and all the surrounding areas are extremely beautiful with a variety or activities including a plethora or top rated golf courses and the most fabulous biking and hiking. We enjoyed the area so much we went back the next weekend during the MS bike race and we'll be back again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graeagle
4.9 mi away
Chalet View Lodge
Chalet View Lodge
#1 of 4 in Graeagle
283 reviews
5.1 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#1 of 2 in Clio
46 reviews
10.3 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Lake Davis Resort, Cabins & Motel
13.7 mi away
No photo provided
My Sisters Cottage
#3 of 5 in Sierra City
1 reviews
21.5 mi away
Gold Pan Lodge
Gold Pan Lodge
#6 of 7 in Quincy
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Pines Resort

Property: River Pines Resort
Address: 8296 State Highway 89, Graeagle, CA 96103
Region: United States > California > Plumas County > Graeagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Graeagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Pines is a full service resort, nestled in the mountains of Plumas County. We offer a pool, outdoor bar, lodge and a host of outdoor activities for the whole family. Whether you are looking for a retreat or to take advantage of the natural beauty of our area, let the staff at River Pines Resort spoil you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River Pines Resort And Vacation Rentals
River Pines Resort & Vacation Rentals Hotel Graeagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing