We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to Our Lovely Wedding Venue!”
Review of Chalet View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chalet View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Graeagle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This lovely little lodge in the woods was the site of our wedding and we couldn't be happier to get back. My wife grew up just outside of Graeagle in Quincy and when we found this site two years ago we couldn't have been happier. The accomodations range from cozy and rustic to four star. The food they serve blew our socks off when we went for tasting before our wedding and we were ecstatic to serve it to our guests. Note that the wedding catering and the on site restaurant are the same chef. However, the most unique aspect of the Chalet View is the welcome home feeling you get from proprietors Carrie and Bob. From the first time we met the owners it was obvious that there #1 goal was our comfort and satisfaction. All of our business dealings with the wedding and on our return were like dealing with old friends even though we've really only met a couple of times. All of our wedding guests and some of these other reviews say the same thing. We can't say enough nice things about the Chalet View or it's ownership. Highly recommended for weddings (book early, we understand that they are already filling up for next summer) and highly recommended for a quiet weekend get away. We are planning to go back for our anniversary next year.

Thank You Chalet View!
The Cox family.

Room Tip: King Deluxe rooms are equivalent to any four star hotel you'll find in a big city. The less expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

This review brought tears to our eyes. We are always striving to create a memorable experience for our guests and are so rewarded when we have accomplished that. We love having our former bride and grooms come back to visit and welcome them to return to celebrate their anniversary with a complimentary stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

We made our annual visit to our favorite mountain lodge, and were not disappointed! Each year we find many improvements in what is offered, and this year was a winner. We always plan to play the little par-3 golf course, and this year we found it had been upgraded from 6 to 9 holes! The new $10 per stay per room charge is negligible and it was never busy while we were there, so we could take our time and play whenever we wanted to. It was a surprise that the dining room was closed one night of our stay for a private party--an inconvenience since there is no eating establishment close by. The grounds and scenery are lovely, as always, with new children's play equipment and game courts.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Aut0harper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

We are so glad you returned for another visit with us and were pleased with the improvements and additions to the property.

We apologize for the inconvenience of the restaurant not being open for one of the nights you were with us.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Regards,

Carrie Hickman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The reason I rated this a 3 and used rude in the title is when I first booked the room I reserved a terrace king room and from what the picture showed was a upstairs balcony. After checking in, which seem like the person was a little disoriented and almost looked like it was her first day, the room was on the bottom floor and REALLY tiny. I went back to the lobby to discuss what I booked etc. and I was moved to what I originally booked and no problem after that. Then when I was checking out the same person from the first day and another person were going to charge me the rate of $250 a night instead of $109 which was never mention to me on the first day. They also seem to put the blame on me for the whole thing. It went on like this for about 20 minutes and the staff seemed to get more annoyed with me and was not professional about any of it. If it wasn't for the fabulous room I would of rated this a 1.
Besides that the room was HUGE!!! It had a upstairs sitting area with a fridge, microwave, sink, table, second bathroom and a fold out couch. Being 6'1 it was a little difficult getting to the sink etc. due to the low ceiling. The bottom floor had a king size bed, huge TV (with only about 5 channels), fireplace and a dual sink in the bathroom. The balcony was also a great size with plenty of metal chairs and table with a view of the forest etc.
The grounds had a golf course ($10 charge for the entire stay), basketball and tennis court, Badminton court, indoor and outdoor seating. The location was about in the middle between the town of Graeagle and Portola and about an hour from Reno, NV.
If it wasn't for the horrible staff the Chalet View Lodge is a great place for everybody to enjoy time in the mountains.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwsaturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

We sincerely apologize that our staff was perceived as rude. We always strive to deliver excellent customer service and are very dismayed that in this incident we fell so short.

There are no pictures on our website of the Terrace King rooms. It is priced as our least expensive room. We do however have pictures of our Terrace Suites which are our top of the line rooms, and here is where the confusion came in. We are going to change the name of the king room to avoid any further confusion.

We did provide the guest with the upgraded room at a discounted rate and although this does not in any way justify our staff's shortcomings we are glad they did enjoy the accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were here for a large family event and it was perfect with a variety of rooms for the range of people. We had a balcony suite and it was really comfortable, well appointed and we loved taking walks in the the National Forest behind the property. Could have enjoyed the food more, but I gather they are working on this and that will be important because there is no place else to go. I would certainly return if I was traveling in the area.

Room Tip: Spring for the better rooms, they are really worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyL1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We appreciate your patience with our restaurant as we are currently working on modifications and improvements. We hope to host you again in the future!
Regards,
Carrie & Bob Hickman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were looking for a pet friendly place and stayed in the rustic cabin. We were expecting more rustic but were pleased about how nice it was. A bit expensive but it was perfect for our stay. We had some T.V. problems. The matter was dealt with very promptly. Our children played golf, swam, and played on the play ground. We did not find easy river access that was the only bummer. Hit the train tracks and a steep drop not to mention a hail storm for 5 mins. in 80 degree weather. Who knew. Beautiful facilities and great owners that made us feel very welcomed. Catered to our late check in and served us a quick meal before closing. We will return when we drop off and pick up our kids at the wonderful 2 Rivers Soccer Camp. Thanks Chalet View Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djn067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie H, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

We are so happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us! I did notice you mentioned not being able to access the Feather River easily. For future reference, we do provide maps and hiking guides at the Front Desk for guest use. Thanks for allowing us to host you on your recent trip; we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Bob and Carrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Not knowing the area well, we made plans to visit Lake Almanor on 4th of July! There are wonderful activities there but NO vacancy during this holiday. So we searched all surrounding areas, including vacation rentals, but still no availability. My husband discovered the Chalet View Lodge and we traveled there to wait out the holiday. We were amazed at the quality, amenities and serenity of this lodging. It was truly a delight to be there in the pines. Hotel Service was impeccable, as was that for dining.. The room was well-appointed and so comfortable. Because of the altitude, even with sunny weather, it was not hot! You must see their website to appreciate all they have to offer, because you can find plenty to do without leaving the property. But do venture out..the little town of Graeagle (gray-eagle) has lots of quaint shops and a lake they call a pond where you can swim, picnic, etc. We explored many back roads and swam in nearby lakes. The Staff at Chalet View can direct you to fun things to do. Also, this is a base for anyone - we met senior couples, hikers/fishermen(and women), and families with young children or teens here! The pool and patio terrace are delightful. I cannot tell how wonderful and affordable it is here!

Room Tip: We had a room on the pool side (not highway), and it was very quiet as we are light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mimiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rc_hickman, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

We are so appreciative that by chance you found us and our unique property in the Lost Sierra. Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Yours Truly, Bob and Carrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Good things: great spot for fam vaca or romantic get away, par three gold is fun for kids or adults to learn on, great spot for fishing and hiking, definitely one of the top lodging in the area. Loved the outdoor jacuzzi that faced the forest. Very few people midweek so lots of privacy. Full Starbucks menu. Short hike to Feather River where we caught and released fish and saw beavers. Outdoor patio with pizza oven was awesome potential but pizza was not great. Menu advetised onions and garlic and non was on the pizza. Really lovely carpentry, tiling and moulding and i loved the unique outdoor light fixtures. Not so great: when we arrived they informed us that chef quit and no dinner would be served for three days. That was okay because we brought in lots of our food from Whole Foods in Reno. one day they were out of half and half and one day they were out of morning coffee for guests. They got us complimentary Americanos at Starbucks. No rugs or carpets anywhere in the downstairs or upstairs of the spa suite. The tile is rough and dark and felt dirty. The way the spa suite was advertised, I thought I would have an outdoor private jacuzzi tub but it was indoor private. No outdoor patio for our suite to enjoy the summer breeze and drink a glass of wine. Parking spot view outside of room. I went this time for romantic getaway and it was WAY beyond my expectations. I will come again for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBHaydens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rc_hickman, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

How great that you discovered all that our property has to offer and that you recognized our attention to detail. We are always trying to improve so the constructive criticism is welcome. We will see you soon. Bob and Carrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graeagle
1.5 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#2 of 2 in Clio
55 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Nakoma
The Lodge at Nakoma
#1 of 3 in Portola
9 reviews
24.5 mi away
Gold Pan Lodge
Gold Pan Lodge
#6 of 7 in Quincy
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Pullman House Inn
Pullman House Inn
#1 of 1 in Portola
21 reviews
12.6 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
113 reviews
16.7 mi away
No photo provided
My Sisters Cottage
#3 of 5 in Sierra City
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet View Lodge

Address: 72056 Highway 70, Graeagle, CA 96103
Region: United States > California > Plumas County > Graeagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Graeagle
Price Range: £97 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet View Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe that travel is all about cultivating new experiences – ones that stay with you long after your trip. That’s exactly what you can expect here. Perhaps it’s the natural beauty that surrounds us, the adventures available, or maybe it’s the sense of contentment you feel throughout every season here. But we’re more than just a boutique resort and spa. We’re your dream wedding venue, an immaculate meeting venue and your ultimate family getaway. Most importantly, we’re your home during your Lost Sierra getaway. Welcome to Chalet View Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Chalet View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet View Hotel Graeagle
Chalet View Graeagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing