We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chalet View Lodge
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
162
91
34
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
162
91
34
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursehot tubfeather riverterrace suitefire pitstarbucks coffeecontinental breakfastking bedbeautiful areaplay structuresmall pondmini vacationhard boiled eggszip linetwo storyyogurtbocce ball
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We drove up from Reno on Friday afternoon and experienced a very warm welcome with a swift check-in process. Our first night we stayed in a cabin, if you have not booked a cabin here- you must! The cabin space is very well utilized and the bedroom was pleasantly large with a very plush king size bed. The cabin featured a kitchenette with all the amenities you'd need to prepare a fun meal. The bathrooms are cozy and the living area is comfortable. We took walks around the property and enjoyed a round of golf. Our second night the cabin was taken and we enjoyed the property so much we opted for one of their spacious resort rooms. The bathroom is huge! There is a neat loft with a full-queen size bed - we didn't use this extra space but it was fun to check out- our bed was again very plush and large- lots of pillows - which personally I love!
We had dinner at their resort restaurant and it was 5 star!
There is so much more to write but my husband is bugging me to take a walk down by the bon fire they have. Please check out our photos.
Thanks for a fabulous stay! We will be back again.

Nicole and Roger Evans

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BusinessWriter14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaletviewlodge, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed everything during your recent stay with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to hosting you again.

Regards,
Carrie & Bob Hickman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This place is on Highway 70 between Portola and Graeagle, Ca. Beautiful area and so nice to find this gem. Especially when you have been on a long ride on a Harley. What is especially nice is they have a restaurant in the facility. Also there is a Starbucks shop in the lobby and Starbucks coffee for the rooms. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the bed is awwwesome! Only downside is the bathroom is a bit small, but there is a jacuzzi bathtub and shower and all is very clean. The restaurant is good, and the server, Julie, was an absolute doll. That girl did everything with good humor and a smile for everyone. She was by herself without a busser and the kitchen had only a chef, no line, sous, or prep cook. While it was somewhat slow, no one seemed to mind because there isn't any place else to go.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chari42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaletviewlodge, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

We are so glad you found us after your long ride and enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to hosting you again.

Regards,

Carrie & Bob Hickman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at the Chalet View for two nights when in town for a wedding. The location was remote, wild, and beautiful and the lodge is nestled in the trees right off Highway 70. We had a King room with a loft and trundle bed that faced the woods. Friends of our stayed on the highway side of the lodge and said that it wasn't too noisy since the road is fairly quiet at night.

Our room was nicely decorated and spacious and had a high-end mini fridge and sizable bathroom with jacuzzi shower/tub. Our king bed was comfy although a bit soft. Some noise could be heard from the rooms next to ours at night, so light sleepers could potentially have an issue with this. Rooms on the end of the lodge would probably be quieter. Also, the weather during our visit got to the low 30's F at night and even though we had an in-room heater turned on to 70 F, it was still FREEZING in our room.

The property itself is wonderful and the lodge and lobby are made of a beautiful wood and are nicely appointed. We spent one afternoon hiking down to the river and train tracks and explored a few of the other trails behind the lodge. We also enjoyed smores at the fire pit and played bocce and a short round of golf (you can rent clubs from the front desk for a couple of dollars). There is also a hot tub and swimming pool and small pond that is stocked with rainbow trout. The free continental breakfast was somewhat lacking, however, and we had to drive into town to get a more substantial lunch at Longboard's.

On a random note, the lodge is heavily branded by Starbucks. Their logo is listed on the main hotel sign and they have a mini cafe area in the lobby where you can get your Starbucks fix. In the rooms themselves there are coffee machines and Starbucks branded cups. If you can't live without your Starbucks while deep in the Sierras, the Chalet View Lodge is the place for you.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the woods and on the ends of the lodge are quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelFiend5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaletviewlodge, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

We really enjoyed hosting the wedding, what a great group of people! Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so sorry you were cold in your guest room. We always have extra heaters available at the Front Desk if we are made aware a guest is cold. We also offer delivery of extra blankets as well. We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall and hope to host you again.

Regards,
Carrie & Bob Hickman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

1st the good. We had reserved two nights with an Amazon deal. Due to family and pet emergencies we had to reschedule three times. This was handled exceptionally well by the desk staff for which my spouse, dog and myself are most grateful.
I will grant that we were there during the transition period from winter to summer when the management is actively revamping facilities. However, our overall experience was just disappointing. The breakfast was sparse featuring orange juice actively turning into alcohol, eggo waffles, a lack of napkins and other items which were insufficiently stocked. The bed was uncomfortable, having the shape of a soup bowl. The second night, our parking area had become a pile of gravel to be used the following day for topping interior roadways when there were MANY unused lodging parking areas that could have been used instead. I could go on, but let me jump to the laborious checkout. We were asked if "everything was okay?" When my spouse responded with a non-committal "fine" we were encouraged to give "constructive criticism." In addition to above, I pointed out that for a dog friendly establishment, I was surprised that there were no wildlife secure outdoor waste bag recepticals. For each point the management responded with weak excuses (unnecessary in my opinion, just listen) and responses that amounted to asking us if we had ever experienced running a similar business? This very negative reception to their invitation I found very off-putting. We will never revisit this location

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Noah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rc_hickman, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

You just know sometimes when you interact with someone that they will be writing a negative review, I could tell on checkout that this was the case with this couple. We expect that there will be guests who disagree with our other guests on breakfast ( the orange juice is real and had settled), but the beds? They are the Serta presidential and we rotate them as required and have had nothing but rave reviews,I think it may have had something to do with their large golden sleeping on the bed! I never made a comment about running a place yourself, but I did say that the logistics of having fourteen garbage receptacles with the constant bear visits is problematic. We did have a small pile of gravel by their car and it is difficult to do maintenance on our extensive resort property without some slight inconvenience. We strive to have all of our guests have the best experience possible up here in the Lost Sierra and we are disappointed that these reviewers did not. Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This place was absolutely wonderful and we will surely be back. After checking in the owner offered us a free upgrade although the room we had was already really nice. The new room had a cozy fireplace and outside balcony and was very clean and comfortable. We ate a delicious meal at the restaurant and when they heard it was a special occasion, they even offered us a free bottle of champagne! This hotel went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable and I would definitely recommend Chalet View to anyone looking for a great place to stay in the Graeagle area!! The owners were really wonderful, we enjoyed a nice soak in the hot tub and it is dog friendly!! The location is perfect for local golf, hiking and biking...we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaletviewlodge, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We strive to have every guest enjoy their time with us and are so rewarded when that happens. We enjoyed meeting you and look forward to seeing you upon your return visit.

Regards,

Carrie & Bob Hickman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews