We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing time at The Villa”
Review of Chalet View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chalet View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Graeagle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dayton, NV
2 reviews
“Relaxing time at The Villa”
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Went back this year with my husband and stayed at The Villa. Wow! Roomy, comfortable, quiet and romantic. Service, like last visit, was the best. Enjoyed the walking trails and restaurant (fantastic food!). Lakes Basin hiking also a short drive away. We tried several restaurants in Portola, Graeagle, and Quincy and Chalet View's chef surpassed them all by far. Even Longboard's was not as good with the exception that they offered a great creme brulee for desert.

Will definately be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvs2fishNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    88
    33
    13
    10
See reviews for
77
121
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tahoe
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

This hotel is advertised as being in Graeagle but it is five miles out of town and located on a different highway. It would be more accurate to say that this hotel is located halfway between Graeagle and Portola. It is disappointing that Portola isn't played-up in local advertising since it is a clean and friendly town with a world-class railroad museum and good mom and pop restaurants. It is also close to Lake Davis. Graegle is a nice community if you're into golf (which we are not). Land development is the major business here and vacation home sprawl has, sadly, taken-over the place. However, the town is close to Plumas-Eureka State Park and the Lakes Basin, and that makes the place worth visiting.

We stayed in a "King Loft" room, which was clean but sparce. The very small table in the room only had only one hard chair and there wasn't anywhere to sit and relax except for the bed. The loft had a trudle bed but no television. The walls in our bathroom had several scuffs and scapes and needed touch-up painting, and the grout between the jacuzzi bath and the wall was separating. It was hot when we stayed at the hotel and a swim would have been nice. The pool, however, looked green, and although I have no doubts that it was clean, did not look inviting for this reason.

Except for the small golf course adjacent to the hotel there wasn't anywhere to walk. The Feather River is only about a half mile from the hotel, but we couldn't find a trail or public access to the water. Adding or advertising river access seems a "no brainer." We found ourselves driving away from the hotel to take-in local sights and missed diners at the hotel restaurant as a result. But we did enjoy the nice Continental breakfasts out on the back patio.

The staff was very friendly and appeared to enjoy their work. We did not use or see anyone at the spa or the exercise room. The lobby and other public spaces were decorated nicely and the owners have obviously tried to make this an attractive and porfitable place. However, the patchwork driveway repairs that greeted us on arrival, and the empty commercial space on the property, told us that the hotel was in trouble.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TahoeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

After searching frantically for lodging within the Portola/Quincy/Graeagle area, I was hesitant to book a room when I found this establishment on the internet. Driving down Hwy 70, it appears out of nowhere and it was beautiful, looks just like it does on their website. I was still hesitant...I mean, how nice could a place be way out there? Well, I was amazed! The staff was incredible, the room -- amazing, the property, absolutely beautiful! A GREAT get away for a family or for the weary business traveler! My room consisted of a large king sized bed with high quality bedding and extra pillows, a flat screen TV, wireless internet, a quiet A/C-heater, an upstairs reading room/loft, beautiful leather furniture, and a spacious bathroom with hot water. The walls were thick enough were I couldn't hear any of the neighboring rooms, and the deck outside had a few patrons enjoying a wonderful dinner in the cool night air next to a warm fireplace.

From what I heard, there are several things to do from tennis, volleyball, hiking, and the river is right behind the property. The is a nice playground for children, but the overall feeling of Chalet View Lodge is that of relaxation, high quality, and pleasantries.

I'm sure everyone can have a bad experience anywhere after reading two of the other reviews, but I didn't see any bit of what they were saying when I was there, nothing was less than perfect during my stay. Thank you Chalet View, i look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apensity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Had a great stay for 2 nights. The hot tub was nice and roomy, and the patio with the outdoor fireplace was wonderful. We had a great meal from the new chef. The scallops and fresh sockeye salmon were "off the charts" good! The second night we were upgraded to the new large rooms. Very nice with 2 bathrooms, living room and a great King Size bed. I have stayed there 5 or 6 times, and have always been pleased. It's a great home base for our trips into the National Forest.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MontereyWineGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, Ca
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

My wife booked 6 nights at the Chalet View Lodge in large part based on their attractive website and the other reviews on Tripadvisor.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The lodge is very clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly and professional.

We stayed in the two bedrwoom Villa. It has a full size kitchen, a family room and two full size bathrooms. It is perfect for a family of four.

The lodge has a pool, hottub, a 6 hole executive golf course and a pond stocked with trout for the kids. Excercise and spa facilities are on site and very reasonably priced.

During our visit we golfed at Whitehawk Ranch, Graeagle Meadows and Plumas Pines. All three courses are beautiful. The twilight rates at these courses are an incredible value.

I highly recommend the Chalet View Lodge. It is truly a hidden gem in the Sierras.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Need_a_vacation_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No. Calif.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

We were supposed to spend 4 nights, ended up spending only 1. Reserved a terrace suite which turned out to be very strange - the bed and TV downstairs with a TINY loft upstairs with a very small loveseat, microwave, & ref., but no TV. It would have been fine if you wanted to lay in bed and watch TV all day, but no space as advertised to just relax. We switched to a regular hotel room, which was nice and clean. The bed was comfy. But, the heater was very noisy and clangy, so we had to turn it off. Then we were freezing in the middle of the night, with no extra blankets or comforters in sight. Our Starbucks coffee was in the room as promised, but no coffee maker! The continental breakfast the next morning was minimal and poor at best. We were very disappointed compared to their advertising. Perhaps it would be better in the summer, but don't believe what you read on the website - they had a very creative photographer and webmaster!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skwfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rc_hickman, Front Desk Manager at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this review, 5 May 2009
We were sorry to hear of our guests checking out early when we really feel we were not given the chance to remedy the complaints. We feel our suites are very comfortable and accommodating. We would have been happy to upgrade to a Deluxe Terrace Suite that has a full living area downstairs with a couch, flat screen television, fireplace and balcony but guest did not want to due to the flight of stairs. We also showed guest a cabin and many other resort rooms available. We do not know why the coffee maker was missing but we would have been happy to replace it, if we had been informed, being as we strive to meet every opportunity to make an improvement. We apologize that our guests were dissatisfied with the continental breakfast which is usually stocked full of bagels, french toast, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cereals and fresh juices. We are always looking for ways to improve our rooms and are always grateful for constructive criticism. We are confident that our lodge will meet the needs of each and every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2008

Our family recently spent three nights in a two bedroom cabin at the Chalet View Lodge. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The property was beautiful and well maintained. Our children (8, 6 and 2 years old) couldn't stop talking about this being their "best" vacation. My son and I played a few holes of golf. My daughter caught her first rainbow trout in the pond and we all roasted marshmellows under the stars.

The cabin was perfect for our needs. Rustic yet comfortable. We took advantage of the continental breakfast each morning and enoyed french toast, cereal, juice and bagels. The in-cabin kitchen allowed us to prepare our own dinners and we usually packed a lunch before heading out to hike, play near the feather river or visit the train museum.

The staff was friendly and helpful. We chatted with the owner while fishing in the pond on the property and he made us feel especially welcome.

We were initially concerned about bringing children to a place that looks just as inviting for a romantic getaway. (It is) It couldn't have worked out better. The property was large enough that we didn't feel limited in any way. A great vacation!

  • Liked — Cozy cabin with many activities available
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safdda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graeagle
1.5 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#1 of 2 in Clio
51 reviews
12.6 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
112 reviews
24.5 mi away
Gold Pan Lodge
Gold Pan Lodge
#6 of 7 in Quincy
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Lake Davis Resort, Cabins & Motel
16.7 mi away
No photo provided
My Sisters Cottage
#3 of 5 in Sierra City
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet View Lodge

Property: Chalet View Lodge
Address: 72056 Highway 70, Graeagle, CA 96103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Plumas County > Graeagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Graeagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet View Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the crossroads of luxury and unspoiled wilderness lies Chalet View Lodge. Featuring 50 guest rooms, suites and rustic cabins, our accommodations have been exquisitely designed for ultimate relaxation. The resort boasts a 9-hole executive golf course, swimming pool and spa, catch and release pond, zip-line, volleyball and bocce ball courts, just to name a few of our amenities. Experience dynamic flavors prepared by our award winning Executive Chef, Adam Bronson, inspired by our onsite greenhouse at The Grille. Here, you'll live day to day, adventure to adventure. Explore the areas hundreds of miles of spectacular trails, either on horseback, mountain bikes, snowmobiles, foot or whatever means of locomotion you desire. Regardless of the season or celebration, Chalet View Lodge is prepared to pamper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Chalet View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet View Hotel Graeagle
Chalet View Graeagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing