We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing, great stay!”
Review of Chalet View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chalet View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Graeagle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, relaxing, great stay!”
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We found this place online, stayed three nights, and loved it! The service was great, the breakfast was wonderful with French toast, eggs, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, and much more, and the rooms were nice. The room had air conditioning, a great view, spacious bathrooms, and a short walk to the hot tub/pool.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamminjaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    88
    33
    13
    10
See reviews for
77
121
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2010

As a business traveler, I am always hesitant to select lodging in outlying areas such as Portola. Well what a surprise we found at the Chalet View Lodge!! I was a little leery when I saw the photos on the website, thinking, well you can always make a photo look nice. Not only was it just as it was depicted, but the atmosphere was fantastic. The owners and the people who work there are truly nice people and make you feel so welcome! The amenities, from the rooms, bedding, linens, to the dining, golf, bocce ball, and continental breakfast are great! Even the other guests at the property were so friendly. I attribute that to the relaxed and charming feel that this resort has to offer. I look forward to another stay, and hopefully for a longer period of time!! And for you pet lovers, they allow dogs on the property, yet it still remains very clean and tidy. Can't wait to return! J. Dover

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dovcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

I love nature but i do tend to have trouble living in it. Gross bathrooms, being dirty, bugs etc make the idea of camping less than ideal but the Chalet View Lodge is a PERFECT happy medium. The wood cabins are adorable, comfortable and clean. Weekend trips can feel like work for the "homemaker types" but the cleaning service really made it easy to relax. A lot of times when I think about being in the woods, I go straight to the typical stereotype of beer and guns but looking around the courtesy breakfast on the Chalet's patio, I saw very well mannered guests reading the NY times, their Kindle or quietly conversing with company. During the day you have more than enough to do. The hiking is incredible for any level--moderate to advanced. The golf course is convenient, the swimming pool and hot tub are great and after all that--you work up an appetite you have the option of grilling (charcoal provided) or going up to the patio for a great dinner (BYOB). We had a campfire completely to ourselves by the pond (firewood included) where we were able to drink wine and look at the most stars I have ever seen. The owners, Bob and Carrie remind me of European hosts--So outgoing and truly want you to experience what they believe is the most beautiful place in the world.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenCali7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2010

upon arrivel i was coming into the hotel late in the evening. thier was noone thier to help me at the front desk the door was locked. to my surprise. on the front door tapped inside an evelop and tapped to the door were my room keys! what hotel in thier right mind does this? they ewre just hanging out thier for everyone to see with the room number on them.

the hotel rooms were awfull, no hot water, no phone books in the rooms, god for bid considering thier out in the middle og no mans land.the tv was broke, the a/c could cool down the room and on top of it all the damn room key barley worked, it took me 5 tries to get the damn room door open.

the rooms were poorly constructed, you could tell the ceiling had water leeks and a bad patch job was done.

i tried talking to the owners but apparently you the customer are not good enough for them to call you back.

a six hole golf course what the hell is that all about? who in thier right or left mind builds a six hole golf course? tried getting room service but the menu that was in the room was totally different from what they were actually serving.

i wouldn't let prisioners or my dog stay at this place. stay away very far away from that dump.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatever167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We had such a lovely stay at Chalet View Lodge that we decided to turn our 4 night stay into 7 nights. The two bedroom cabins were just perfect for us, our 2 kids, and 2 dogs. It was nicely designed and furnished comfortably. We thoroughly enjoyed the grounds -- hot tub, pool, golf course, play structure, volleyball court, trout pond, and horseshoe pit. Our dogs loved daily walks to the Feather River, which is a nice stroll through the pines and mule ears and the kids loved the breakfast buffet.

Bob and Carrie, the owners, take great pride in the beautiful destination they have created, yet they are very friendly and accomodating. We are already looking forward to our next vacation in this beautiful area of California!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EAConnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay area
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

The setting is fantastic, and the grounds are also fantastic, but beginning with the rinky-dinky map they give you (perhaps pay a local artist a few dollars to draw the rooms, cabins, roads, trails and facilities on a single map?), you can see how everything has been somewhat cheaply built out. When i visited last summer, there were constant leaks in the new suite that we visited. The walls were incredibly thin in the units. Then there's the room finishings - the most over heated cheap lil fridge and poorest quality cheapest flat screens that can be had at a mega store. Same for the clock radios, too hard foam pillows, etc. So while there is an air of fancy in the tiled floor rooms, everything was built and finished as cheaply as possible. Still, the setting is just fantastic, the people who work there are wonderful, and the rooms just fine.

I just wish that owners and managers would know that when they are charging top dollar for such a wonderful destination, they should build and furnish their property accordingly.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank perseus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Palisades, Ca.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2010

When I stay at hotels in this price range I usually brace myself but I was shocked---in a good way when I arrived. The staff was friendly and professional and the rooms were what you'd expect to find at a mountain resort that charges twice the rate I paid . We hiked by a serene nearby lake, golfed and went to Lake Tahoe (a beautiful one hour drive). It's so nice to stay at a place where the owners are genuinely interested in making sure you have an enjoyable visit. My only mistake was not staying longer.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank localwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graeagle
1.5 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#1 of 2 in Clio
50 reviews
12.6 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
112 reviews
24.5 mi away
Gold Pan Lodge
Gold Pan Lodge
#6 of 7 in Quincy
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Lake Davis Resort, Cabins & Motel
16.7 mi away
No photo provided
My Sisters Cottage
#3 of 5 in Sierra City
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet View Lodge

Property: Chalet View Lodge
Address: 72056 Highway 70, Graeagle, CA 96103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Plumas County > Graeagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Graeagle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet View Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the crossroads of luxury and unspoiled wilderness lies Chalet View Lodge. Featuring 50 guest rooms, suites and rustic cabins, our accommodations have been exquisitely designed for ultimate relaxation. The resort boasts a 9-hole executive golf course, swimming pool and spa, catch and release pond, zip-line, volleyball and bocce ball courts, just to name a few of our amenities. Experience dynamic flavors prepared by our award winning Executive Chef, Adam Bronson, inspired by our onsite greenhouse at The Grille. Here, you'll live day to day, adventure to adventure. Explore the areas hundreds of miles of spectacular trails, either on horseback, mountain bikes, snowmobiles, foot or whatever means of locomotion you desire. Regardless of the season or celebration, Chalet View Lodge is prepared to pamper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Chalet View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet View Hotel Graeagle
Chalet View Graeagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing