We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“make this your base, but get food elsewhere”
Review of Chalet View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chalet View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Graeagle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 September 2010

If you are touring Plumas county make this your base. Rooms are clean, well appointed, beds are comfy and the staff is polite. What's missing is important; quick access to food. Note this lodge is 5 miles outside of Graeagle, it is on Route 70 and the address on google maps is listed as Portola. If you want to be near the golf in Graeagle or have walking access to places to eat then stay elsewhere. But keep in mind this lodge is quiet and very pleasant.

The HDTV is adequate though a wee bit small considering the viewing distance. What is annoying is the inability to access the inputs on the TV to allow connection of your own devices.

The on-site restaurant was quite disappointing in that it is only open on Fridays and Saturdays, yet the website stated nightly specials.

Make sure you prepare yourself to get breakfast someplace else. The continental breakfast lacks muffins/danish, offers only one type of bread(french toast) and defrosted bagels. The bigger problem is the location of the items in the foyer as the table setup is too small to allow more than 1 person at a time to obtain items. If you are working on increasing your patience, it will offer excellent practice.

If the rooms had a microwave in addition to the refrigerator you could make your own.

The terrace is wonderful, making for a pleasant place to relax except that the lodge staff play their choice of music over the speakers on the terrace making for a bit of annoying intrusion into what could be a very tranquil setting.

The grounds offer the ability to play boccie, horseshoes, or even sit on a dock over a pond.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rc_hickman, Owner at Chalet View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2010

We have solved this "get food elsewhere" dilemma by hiring culinary institute graduate Lizzie Parker to serve dinner 7 nights a week as well as filling or deli case with delicious items.Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2010

We spent five days at this wonderful gem in pristine Plumas County. This area reminds me of what the Lake Tahoe Basin was like in the 1950's--unspoiled, charming and majestic. The Chalet View Lodge is located a short drive from two quaint towns, and yet each is established and has anything a traveller might need, as well as activities and plenty to do. This Lodge is best described as a hidden secret. The rooms in the main lodge have high quality mattresses, arching ceilings with lofts above, great wi-fi and a refrigerator large enough to store plenty of food. They even contain wine racks racks with temperature control settings (nice touch for those who want to bring a bottle or two to enjoy next to the outdoor fireplace). Our room was immaculate.
One striking feature about this lodge was it's quiet nature. It was filled to capacity while we were there, and yet the grounds were so large we could always wander off to a private scenic corner and enjoy staring up at the Milky Way. The fire pit near the pond has Adirondack chairs and pre-stacked wood, so we lit a roaring fire, roasted marshmallows and listened to the crickets. The atmosphere is intimate, the layout spacious, and at night the solar path lights snake through grounds and you almost feel like you are at an old-fashioned summer camp.
The breakfast offering is standard HEALTHY fare, so anyone criticizing it is probably more of the eggs and hashbrown type. They had the most delicious granola I've ever had, yogurt, fruit, hardboiled eggs, oatmeal, bagels and cream cheese and all sorts of other treats. If you are the hashbrown type, they serve those five minutes away in a cute little diner. As the old saying goes, "The attitude is gratitude."
Lastly, the owners go way out of their way to make your stay perfect. We plan to return next month for another short visit. Can't wait.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dockelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

My family stayed at Chalet View for our summer vacation. We expected a fairly nice, slightly rustic cabin but it was far from nice and way to rustic. The stairs creeked badly and with every step the cabin creeked with it. I honestly felt like I was staying in cabin from Walden. The carpets were stiff, probably with dirt and disease, and the pull out couch bed felt like a chain linked fence with a sheet over it. One evening while my family and I were playing volleyball on the court, which did provide us with some fun, we noticed about a half dozen or so bats flying out from under the overhang on the side of the cabin. We investigated and found that they were nessting in a small hole under the eve. When I went back to my room I checked the corner that would be closest to that of the bats and found some nice black specs (bat fecies). I was terrified that I would wake up to a bat fluttering around the room. There was also black hairs on the sheets and made me wonder if the housekeeping even checked the cabin before we moved in. Also when we made the reservation, we clearly stated that there were 6 of us and the cabin was clearly suited for no more than 4. There was not enough plates, cups and space. To top it off, the wifi barely reached our cabin. I would constantly lose connection in the corner that I had to sit in to even get some reception. The complementary breakfast is nothing to brag about and neither is the 6 hole golf course that is closer to minigolf. I also did not hear/ see any staff during our stay except at the front desk. If you are looking for a rustic cabin and want to become one with nature then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bobaganush92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

My husband went to high school in Portola, so we booked the Chalet View for his reunion. Another family met us here. They booked a cabin with their 8 year-old, we stayed in a loft room. Their cabin was a bit rustic for us, but they loved the convenience of having a little kitchen and a front porch. Our teenagers liked ouir loft area with trundle bed.

We all LOVED the fire pit, pool and spa, golf course, and daily breakfast (w/Starbuck's!).

Very close to Portola, and just a few minutes from scenic Graeagle and Blairsden.

One minor negative- Ran into a couple snags when making res and while checking out, but both times they quickly took care of the mistake. This staff understands customer service; couldn't have been nicer. They were very accommodating throughout.

The setting is beautiful. What a location! WIll post pix soon.

Wish we could have stayed longer. Til next time......

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tvlfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We found this gem of a resort which includes really nice hotel accommodations; pool, small golf-course, bocci ball, restaurant, contintental breakfast as we journeyed outside of Lake Tahoe to do some mountain biking in near-by Downieville.

Accommodations were top-notch and spaceous and the staff wonderful. You won't find many accommodatins of this quality in this rural area. We felt lucky tht a friend had made the recommandtion to stay.

Definately onour ist of places to visit again.

The surrounding area is gorgeous country and MTB riding Downieville downhill course an awesome experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardswagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We have visited Chalet View Lodge about six or eight times over the past three years. We always bring our teenage son and he brings another guest or two. Of course, we trailer our off-road toys up so we can enjoy the long trails just off the property and across the road up to the Ranger Look Out tower on Smith Peak and over to Lake Davis down the other side. We have stayed in each type of rooms available. We sometimes bring our little dog when we stay in the cottages.

The food in the restaurant is wonderful and the continental breakfast and made to order Starbucks in the lobby is all we need to get going in the morning. The staff are very kind and helpful. Our son and his buddies are very impressed with the Starbucks girls working the front desk. We can't wait to get back to the Chalet View Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DougHaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We found this place online, stayed three nights, and loved it! The service was great, the breakfast was wonderful with French toast, eggs, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, and much more, and the rooms were nice. The room had air conditioning, a great view, spacious bathrooms, and a short walk to the hot tub/pool.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamminjaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graeagle
1.5 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#2 of 2 in Clio
54 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Nakoma
The Lodge at Nakoma
#1 of 3 in Portola
9 reviews
12.6 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Pullman House Inn
Pullman House Inn
#1 of 1 in Portola
21 reviews
24.5 mi away
Gold Pan Lodge
Gold Pan Lodge
#6 of 7 in Quincy
41 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lake Davis Resort, Cabins & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet View Lodge

Address: 72056 Highway 70, Graeagle, CA 96103
Region: United States > California > Plumas County > Graeagle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Graeagle
Price Range: £96 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet View Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe that travel is all about cultivating new experiences – ones that stay with you long after your trip. That’s exactly what you can expect here. Perhaps it’s the natural beauty that surrounds us, the adventures available, or maybe it’s the sense of contentment you feel throughout every season here. But we’re more than just a boutique resort and spa. We’re your dream wedding venue, an immaculate meeting venue and your ultimate family getaway. Most importantly, we’re your home during your Lost Sierra getaway. Welcome to Chalet View Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Chalet View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet View Hotel Graeagle
Chalet View Graeagle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing