We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alta Sierra Village Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grass Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alta Sierra Village Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

For the price and location - this property has a lot to offer. Yes, some parts are dated, but well maintained and in good working order (I did not notice any wear and tear). Only suggestion is for housekeeping to spend a little more time in the bathroom area (this would be the only reason why I did not provide a 5 rating).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StevePSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

What a great find. This was the perfect stay for us while searching for our new place to call home. The room was very spacious, complete with microwave and fridge. This is a pet friendly Inn. We stayed in Room 4 for almost 2 weeks. The owners are very kind and so friendly. The view from our back deck was fabulous. The lake, the wildlife, absolutely serene. I am recommending this to anyone and everyone that is looking for a clean, friendly, convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelton,ne.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

A quiet hide away with all the conveniences of home. Sit back relax and enjoy the wildlife on your own deck. (deer and geese) Clean affordable rooms with microwave and refrigerator. Owners are very friendly and accommodating. I would diffidently stay her again!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view from their deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grannygrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunter, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Wow, what a wonderful time we had at this motel! I think we stayed in room 4. The room was cleaner then any Five Star Motel we've ever stayed at! The owners were incredible! They were always checking up on us to see if we needed anything, This motel is perfect for any honeymooners or a couple just looking to get away! It is centrally located just minutes away from several tourist spots. We will be going back in the very near future!

Ken and Jodi Pasqua

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken55943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

What a wonderful hideaway. Enjoyed sitting on the porch and watching the Canadian Geese come and go on the Golf Course pond in the morning and evening. Tucked in the trees far enough from major traffic to be nice and quiet. The room was clean, the staff friendly, the showers warm and the bed comfortable. What more could you ask for. There was no lack of dining opportunities close at hand, and it's centrally located to allow you to visit the many historically interesting things to see in the Mother Lode country. Highly recommended if what you need is a hot shower and comfortable bed at the end of fun filled day.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Golf course view and shared balcony are the high points as well as the cheap price. It was also very close to the house of the family we were visiting. But other than that the decor is outdated. the comforter is thread bare, the thread count of the sheets might be a negative number, spiderwebs all over the room. no toiletries other than off brand soap. a used razor was left in our bathroom. and the toilet paper was the worst I have ever experienced short of not having any. my lady bits are not happy with me.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thenizzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harold V, Owner at Alta Sierra Village Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Sorry your visit was not satisfactory. If you would have let us know we would have tried to compensate you. Hope the rest of your trip was up to expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Nice view of the golf course. Very friendly owner. Much cheaper than nearby holiday inn and better than motel six. Variety of room styles. If you don't like the one given ask to switch. Within easy drive of grass valley and a good stop before lake tahoe.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bmsmww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
5.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
5.8 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Sierra Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Sierra Village Inn

Property: Alta Sierra Village Inn
Address: 11858 Tammy Way, Grass Valley, CA 95949-6621
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inn features 16 rooms including one 6 room suite, one two room suite, and 14 one room units. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alta Sierra Village Hotel Grass Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing