We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing but excellent”
Review of Holbrooke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holbrooke Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing but excellent”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed for one night in September. From start to finish our experience was great. The hotel is, as other reviews state, not the most up-to-date and modern, but that isn't the point. It is a hotel full of character and was utterly charming. Our room was spacious and clean and had a balcony overlooking the pretty rear patio. The bathroom had a claw-foot bath and was, again, clean and spacious. Overall our experience was fantastic and I could not have been more pleased with our stay. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the President's room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    42
    13
    15
    12
See reviews for
22
55
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed here twice now and love the old century look. A little pricey. Great bar. Would recommend to friends and family. Would stay here again. Haven't tried the restaurant so can't say.has rooms named after famous people we stayed in the general grant room as my husbands is a civil war buff.

Room Tip: If you like old decor this is the place for you. Right in town so can walk everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We loved our stay here, and would happily stay again next time.

If your first priority is that everything should be new and bland, then sure -- you are better off staying at the chain hotel by the highway. There were a couple of minor inconveniences in our room.

But in our experience, the historic atmosphere more than made up for this. Everything was sparkling clean. Furniture is unique and beautiful. Our room had a balcony away from the street, great for morning coffee. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly, even going above-and-beyond to help us print out a long document.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nell3CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel is not a classic old historical hotel. It is a rundown dump with creaky floors outdated furniture the beds are even standard beds! Anyone or 5 foot nine could not actually sit on but that we had in our room. You can hear people going to the bathroom next door and of course the dog barking, That was an alleged service dog! Seriously I do not know what hotel do not separate dogs into a certain period of their hotels. Nevertheless, I do not recommend this hotel it is a dump run down and overpriced!

Room Tip: I just wouldn't recommend staying here at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Legally_blonde75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grass Valley hotels

Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Place is old and unkempt. Breakfast was a few cold muffins that even a grocery store would not sell. When I asked for a map and directions to Lake Tahoe (an hour away) they were stumped. It was 100 degrees outside and we had to ask them to turn the air on.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JANET B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I loved the Holbrooke. It was rustic and very charming. I loved the clawfoot bathtub, the antique furnishings, and the super soft and comfy bed! The staff was helpful, the breakfast was decent, and I wish I could have been there longer. Since I was only in town for a late afternoon wedding and left the next morning, I didn't get a chance to have lunch or dinner there. I felt very comfortable, much more so than the "modern" hotels. It was a bit warm, and if you can't live without air conditioning, this isn't the place for you. If I am ever in the area, I would love to go back to the Holbrooke. . The hotel was in a great location, with ample parking.I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gingerbeeSonoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The staff was really helpful, great food, music in the bar was excellent and no cove charge. Hotel room was like going back in time yet we sill had wi-fi. free breakfast very good. neat old elevator works great. I will be coming back for sure.

Room Tip: Room in annex building are quieter!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isaac G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
0.1 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
3.6 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sierra Mountain Inn
Sierra Mountain Inn
#2 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbrooke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrooke Hotel

Property: Holbrooke Hotel
Address: 212 W Main St, Grass Valley, CA 95945-4788
Region: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holbrooke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Holbrooke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbrooke Hotel Grass Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing