We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy Corner”
Review of Holbrooke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holbrooke Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Atwater, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cozy Corner”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The Holbrooke Hotel can now be marked off the bucket list. As a paranormal researcher by hobby and a photographer as a passion, I just had to visit and stay at this historical sitel. The staff was kind, and had plenty of stories about things that rattled in the middle of the night. I choose to stay in one of the supposedly active rooms. Nothing that would grab your balls, but there was a steady flow of activity, with a few recorded evp’s. A very nice and comfortable stay. I’ll be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ORBS_inv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    42
    13
    15
    12
See reviews for
22
55
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We chose the Holbrooke Hotel as our base of operations for a day of wine tasting and dining, followed by an evening visit to Nevada City. The hotel was charming and our room was neat and clean. The temperature in our room was quite high but was quickly corrected by the front desk. I got the impression that all room temperatures are controlled by one location. Remember that the Holbrooke is a historical location filled with wonderful charm, not some new and sterile hotel . Check out their bar, a great place to mingle with locals and enjoy some live music. We enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to returning for another visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpine147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed here Saturday, November 9th. The Place is full of old history and the woman at the front desk was really friendly and informative. We had a pet room which was nice and clean. (They charge at non refundable $50. pet fee, which is a bit high) We loved the fact that this place is located in the historic downtown area. We tasted wine at 2 local tasting rooms and ate a good dinner at an Italian restaurant located a few doors down. The hotel bar had some really good local beer on tap. We cannot wait to stay here again. If you want modern, this is not the place to stay. The whole point of staying here is to experience what is like to stay in a hotel that has been around for over 100 years. I felt like we were back in time staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terral f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dobbins
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My wife and I were in Grass Valley for a Buddy Guy blues concert. We were framilar with the Holbrooke Hotel and the convenience of its location. Additionally, the fact that it's loaded with historical significance made the selection easy. Another favorable factor is the convenient hotel parking to the rear. Parking in downtown Grass Valley,especially during an event, is very limited.

We arrived early but our room was ready so we were allowed to check in. The hotel receptionist was very professional and polite. I questioned her on the history of the hotel and the famous people that had stayed here. She was very accommodating and knowledgable. We took a bunch of photograph's inside the hotel.

The entire hotel is awsome as an historical relic, like stepping back in time. The fact that so many presidents and other important VIP's stayed here adds to the mystic of the place. As we went our room we walked pass the "Holbrooke Room" suite #1. We fell in love with its large sitting area and fire place, not to mention the large deck that looks out over Main St. We immediately transferred over to that room. The two cleaning ladies were very friendly and accommodating. They stopped what they were doing and immediately finished cleaning our suite so we could move in. The suite is worth the extra money ($130 during the week) if you like more space. Keep in mind though that there is noise from the heavy traffic on Main St. until later in the evening. We love the high ceilings in the rooms. The bathroom was large and acceptably clean. You have to keep in context that this hotel has been operating since 1851.

After gertting situated we went to the bar and met Cheryl the bartender. She was lots of fun and very personable. She served up one of the best dirty martini's I have ever had. We decided to have dinner at the hotel restaurant for convenience sake. It has a nice atmosphere with a good selection of food. The service was OK and our particular meal was acceptable, but not exceptional. We'll probably try another restaurant when we stay again.

We did some window shopping up and down Main St. which is always fun in this quaint town. We were able to walk to the concert at the Veteran's Memorial Hall.

After getting back from the concert we bellied up to the bar and reveled in the rich wood. I wondered how many of the four presidents that stayed here sat at this same bar. We then went up to the room, again feeling we were in the 1800's, and slept in a comfortable bed.

After we got back home we developed the photograph's taken inside the hotel. We were astonished to see floating orbs in several of the photo's of my wife. Additionally, our photo of the bar had an orb hovering near the ceiling. I have had this camera for years and taken hundreds of photograph's. I have never seen this phenomenon. We did some research and found that some think these orbs are evidence of paranormal activity. Who knows!!

Anyway, we both enjoyed ourselves and plan to stay again at this historic treasure.

Room Tip: Suite #1 looks out over Main Street from the second floor. It has a large sitting room and a gas fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fbrown1096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We thought it would be a fun adventure to stay in the historic Holbrooke Hotel while visiting family.
Wrong decision as $129/night plus taxes offered little. Linens were never freshened; room not vacuumed; water glasses not replaced. Room overlooked parking lot so it was noisy, especially on trash pick up day. Continental breakfast - one pot of coffee and one pitcher of juice - was ser up
in the hotel's dining room. Soiled linens were left on the tables from the previous evening's dining. Noticed one guest shaking out the table cloth and brushing off the chair before having coffee. Very disappointed in service. For historic hotel experience, try Nevada City.

Room Tip: Suggest you avoid rooms facing the noisy parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grass Valley hotels

Paradise, California, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Wanted an Historical fun place to stay. Found Holbrooke Hotel in Grass Valley. Did not have a good review but has been been renovated, and upgraded. We loved it, people were really nice. Free parking in back. Price was $109 during the week. Stayed in their little BB off the main hotel. Only place like this we could find with two beds. Free continental breakfast. Outdoor dining, formal dinning, and cool Library where you could eat. Fun bar right off library. Could take dinner or drinks to room if you wanted. We stayed two nights. Right down in old Grass Valley. Walking distance to fun shops. Down the street on Church street Museum, wonderful, full of history about the mine and the Sisters. Empire Mine only about 5 miles away, a must see. Takes a few hours to see everything. Take a lunch.

Room Tip: Loved the little house out back. Like our own little retreat. 2 story , front porch, with setting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A518VSLindaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron Park, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here for a friends pre-wedding party, fun active bar area with live music. Our room was not bad, could use some updates. Other friends had really big rooms with outdoor balconies. The restaurant wasn't bad for dinner, service was really slow. Not long ago the show "Hotel Impossible" went in to help this failing hotel. Seems the owner was more focused on playing in the band then running his hotel. The TV show redid one of the rooms and remodeled the main event room and the back patio area. They also put up some much needed directions so people could find the parking area located behind the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chillsboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
0.1 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
3.6 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sierra Mountain Inn
Sierra Mountain Inn
#2 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbrooke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrooke Hotel

Property: Holbrooke Hotel
Address: 212 W Main St, Grass Valley, CA 95945-4788
Region: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holbrooke Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holbrooke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbrooke Hotel Grass Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing