We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanksgiving Stay...Calm and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
San Carlos, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Stay...Calm and Quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2007

We stayed 3 nights at the Best Western over the Thanksgiving holiday this year. Normally, all the hotels book up a month or two in advance for this holiday but we were able to get Tues-Thurs and then on Thurs morning (thanksgiving) we called the front desk to see if we could stay another night. Lo and behold there was availability at the last minute, so we had a retreat from family that night!

The rooms looked like they had been recently renovated. The carpets are clean and no signs of wearing ragged. Bathrooms were free of mold, leaks, stains etc. We had a second floor, King room with a balcony overlooking a green lawn area. The only drawbacks to this place was the front desk staff. They were a bit surly and rude when we checked in and when we checked out. Nothing big, just a little attitude when I didn't hand her the key cards (only one of which worked during our stay) upon checkout and a little delay as the two of them bickered about something administrative when we checked in at 10:30pm the first night.

I would definitely stay here again given the conveniences of the location (try the bakery across the street Flour Garden, it's great for breakfast coffee and pastries!) and the price. Definitely an above average motel stay.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — Front desk staff
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank franglais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    117
    68
    49
    20
See reviews for
136
88
23
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2007

I stayed at this hotel while I was in the area for the Nevada County Fair. I come to Grass Valley every year for the fair and have stayed at many of the hotels in the area, but this one has got to be the nicest one for the price I got. The front desk staff was very friendly and the rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KylieKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2006

We needed something last-minute so I didn't shop around for this like I usually do. It was expensive, but all other hotels were booked.The room was clean and despite the overflow, there was ample parking. There was nothing remarkable, good or bad, about this hotel.

  • Liked — quiet location near HWY
  • Disliked — the parking lot was very full, but then again, every room was taken
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwennyyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canyon Country, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2006

I stay here several times a year during business trips. I have always found the front desk staff to be very friendly and accommodating. Pets are welcome in all rooms for a $15.00 fee.
The rooms are comfortable and all have a microwave and a waist-high mini fridge.
During my last stay on 01 Feb 2006, the hotel was in the process of upgrading the room furnishings and my room had all new furniture and a new TV. This stay I was in a room adjacent to the freeway and was concerned about noise but I heard none and I slept very soundly. It would be nice if in the renovations they could update the old wall-mounted heating and cooling system; although adequate for temperature in the main room, the bathroom was quite cold in the morning. Otherwise I was very comfortable and appreciated the new linens & towels.
Note: The hotel is not walking distance to the historic part of town but there are plenty of eateries and other conveniences nearby: across the street is a 24 hour Ralph's supermarket, a Long's drug store, an American-style coffee shop, sub sandwich shop, and an awesome bakery with a Cyber Cafe ($3.00/hour internet access), among other shops. A short walk down the street are more options including a Round Table Pizza, the excellent Uptown Burrito and a movie theatre. Walk over the freeway bridge for several fast food options plus a good Chinese food restaurant and other eating choices.
The historic downtowns of Grass Valley and Nevada City with their many gorgeous Victorian structures are both a short drive away (less than 4 miles), about equal distance in either direction off the highway, and both towns offer many more pleasures for food, shopping and sightseeing.
Keep in mind that this is a Best Western, not a luxury hotel, and accommodations in the area are limited. Yet I will continue to return to this hotel for its reliability and comfort, and the fact that it is truly pet friendly!

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank BeniLana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2004

On a positive note, Very clean and comfortable rooms. Furnishings nice. Room had a frig and microwave. On the negative side, overpriced for a 2 diamond on the Highway. The highway noise was considerable and very annoying. Well I guess it was somewhat quiet around 3am but not for long. Be sure to ask room location when checking in and avoid anything close to freeway if that is even possible. I would also request a top floor room. We had a bottom floor next to an outdoor stairway. We could hear the people in the room above us walking around and when anyone went up or down the outside stairs it sounded like a train coming through. The room would even shake. I would question the free high speed internet connection they offer. Some rooms do have FREE internet connection but most rooms only have data ports and require an 800 number or local access number to connect. Staff was okay and always available to answer questions. Couldn't find any "how was your stay or feedback questionaires" not really surprised that the desk clerk didn't ask us how our stay was. There doesn't seem to be much choice for accomodations in the area. We really did enjoy the towns of Grass Valley and Nevada City and it was worth the visit.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Subswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grass Valley hotels

Mission Viejo, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2004

We stayed for one night on Sunday, August 1, 2004. Our room included: Cont Break, 2 queen beds, coffee maker, pool, laundry, ice, fridge, data port
Comments: Hotel was fine, quite, clean, basic amenities included. We were able to get extra blankets and pillows. Was a little expensive for what it was. More like a $70 a night hotel instead of $90. I would maybe try to find a better deal in area (although area in general is a little overpriced) but I could stay here again.
On a side note we were referred to a restaurant called Margaritas Cantina down the street. I highly suggest another eatery. This place was way overpriced and the food was pretty plain.

Helpful?
8 Thank Mission_Viejo_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2004

My family stayed at this motel for 2 nights and were quite satisfied. It is right off the highway, so it is easy to get to, but soundproofed well enough that we couldn't hear any highway noise when we were in our rooms. The rooms themselves were standard motel rooms, nothing fancy, but very clean. The matresses were very firm, but reasonably comfortable for a couple night's stay. There were plenty of pillows, blankets - all of above average quality. Our rooms also had a microwave, coffee maker, and small refridgerator. The rooms had sliding glass doors leading out to a center grassy courtyard area. There was also a pool and a hot tub at this motel, which looked nice although we didn't swim. The people at the front desk and the housekeeping staff were very friendly.

I'd stay in this motel again.

Helpful?
7 Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
1.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
1.8 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
21.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
1.9 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
Address: 972 Sutton Way, Grass Valley, CA 95945-5177
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn!Discover this pet friendly Grass Valley, California hotel offering convenient access to Empire Mine State Park, Historic Nevada City and the Tahoe National Forest. Located in northern, inland California just off highway 49, the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is committed to providing the best in customer service, accommodations and amenities at the right price. Each well-appointed guest room at this Grass Valley hotel features cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to a complimentary full breakfast daily. This pet friendly hotel also offers guest laundry, an exercise facility and a full-service business center. Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn will be a short walk from a variety of dining and shopping in historic Grass Valley. The Empire Mine State Park, only two miles away, offer the perfect setting for hiking and afternoon picnics. This California hotel is also less than five miles from many other key area attractions including the Nevada County Fairgrounds, the South Yuba River, Scotts Flat Lake, Bridgeport Historic State Park and Historic Nevada City. Business travelers will appreciate being close to the Whispering Pines Business Park, the Grass Valley Group and the Loma Rica Industrial Park. The Grass Valley area is also home to a variety of annual events including the Draft Horse Classic, Music in the Mountains, Dog Shows, the Teddy Bear Convention and more!The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Grass Valley, California. Make a reservation today and save!**Hot tub and Pool closed until further notice* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing