We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpectedly pleasant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly pleasant.”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had a wedding to attend, and this was the closest big-name chain lodging. We paid about $80 per night for a king size bed with a jacuzzi tub (loved it!) in the building alongside the freeway. Our front door faced the parking lot and the freeway, but it wasn't loud at all. The sliding glass door led to the grassy interior courtyard (I guess you would call it that). The bed was comfortable, and the room had a microwave & mini-fridge. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean and spacious. It may be because our room was one of the farthest from the main building, but the free wi-fi was a bit slow. There's a CVS, Safeway, and Paulette's Country Kitchen (great!) right across the street. Didn't really get to check out the breakfast, but there's free coffee & cookies in the lobby. If I were ever in this area again, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SH0W_ME_thE_W0RLd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    118
    69
    50
    20
See reviews for
141
89
23
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We decided to visit area and just stumbled upon the hotel. People very friendly. Rooms plain but clean and well maintained. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I have stayed at this motel several times over the years, and it has always been a good, solid choice. We stayed there again over Thanksgiving weekend, and again, it was very good. It is an older motel, as others have mentioned, but they do a pretty good job of keeping it maintained and updated. Our group had 3 rooms, all of which were clean and comfortable.

Being a holiday weekend, the motel was completely full, and the staff seemed a little stressed, but they still did a good job. Grass Valley is a small town, so I don't think they are used to dealing with a high volume of guests.

Because of the holiday weekend, we ended up reserving 2 smoking rooms and 1 non-smoking room because that was all that was available. I called several times leading up to our stay to check on cancellations for non-smoking rooms. The staff was always very gracious on the phone, but there weren't any N/S rooms to be had. Then when we arrived, they had an additional non-smoking room set aside for us. A last-minute cancelation had come in, and one of the front desk staff snagged it for us. I really appreciated that. We still had 1 smoking room, but even that wasn't bad - you could tell it was a smoking room, but clearly they do a nice job of cleaning the rooms, so the lingering cigarette smell wasn't overpowering.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank november_moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2011

External facing doors. You wouldn't know from outside, but on the second floor, everytime someone walks past your door, the entire inner room shakes- you can feel it in the bed, even. Walls are thin. Only reason I slept was because the other guests were relatively quiet. The wifi was very unreliable- even if you could get on, you wouldn't stay on for more than a few minutes and it was very slow. Front desk said internet co and manager hadn't given them any ETA on fix. Fans in bathroom were annoying sounding. Hot water for bath very very slow (probably 15 minutes to fill tub), tub angle too steep to be comfortable for neck- one of those) but ok for showering. Otherwise, good stuff- good bed. Right next to a highway patrol station, so probably safer than average. But I've stayed in better places for about the same price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianC830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed here recently due to a wedding that we attended in Grass Valley. We booked through the hotel's website with a AAA discount. In all, we paid $188.00 for two nights. We really enjoyed our stay. Although the hotel does appear to be a little out dated. It was clean, quiet, and most importantly, the beds were comfortable. My husband and I enjoyed the breakfast on both mornings. It was better than a continental breakfast. They served eggs, bacon, different breads such as muffins, toast, bagels, different juices, coffee, hot chocolate,yogurt, fruit, hard boiled eggs, etc. Everything was fresh and delicious. I was very satisfied with the breakfast and happy that I didn't have to spend money elsewhere for it. So if you are budget conscious like me yet not willing to compromise on service, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Negabadomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Stayed at this hotel the night of Sept. 17th because of a tournament we participated in. I didn't know what to expect since the motel was rated two stars. This hotel was very nice surrounded by trees. Rooms were very clean with nice amenities; a microvave, refrigerator, etc. There also was a desk and a dining table with two chairs. It indicated free wi-fi, but we didn't have time to use it so we can't comment on the service. The hotel provided a free breakfast; coffee, tea, hot chocolate, juices, bagels, various breads, cereal, yogurt, fruit, eggs, bacon, etc. Also, in the hotel lobby coffee and an assortment cookies available. The motel is two floors and we had an upstairs room . There is a pool and hot tub. The pool was unavailable possibly for renovation. If we are in Grass Valley, we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway onramp. There was a group of rooms close to that entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I love this Best Western! I have been here twice, the staff is very friendly and helpful. I love the ambience of the place, although it is right off the highway, I can't hear the noise. It has big trees and is landscaped nicely, adding to the "gold country" appeal. And their free breakfast is very nice, hot, kept clean and stocked, and provides plenty of selections. And outdoor seating, what a nice way to eat your breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDBoardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
1.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.8 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
21.5 mi away
Best Western Golden Key
1.9 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gold Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gold Country Inn

Property: Best Western Gold Country Inn
Address: 972 Sutton Way, Grass Valley, CA 95945
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gold Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn!Discover this pet friendly Grass Valley, California hotel offering convenient access to Empire Mine State Park, Historic Nevada City and the Tahoe National Forest. Located in northern, inland California just off highway 49, the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is committed to providing the best in customer service, accommodations and amenities at the right price. Each well-appointed guest room at this Grass Valley hotel features cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to a complimentary full breakfast daily. This pet friendly hotel also offers guest laundry, an exercise facility and a full-service business center. Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn will be a short walk from a variety of dining and shopping in historic Grass Valley. The Empire Mine State Park, only two miles away, offer the perfect setting for hiking and afternoon picnics. This California hotel is also less than five miles from many other key area attractions including the Nevada County Fairgrounds, the South Yuba River, Scotts Flat Lake, Bridgeport Historic State Park and Historic Nevada City. Business travelers will appreciate being close to the Whispering Pines Business Park, the Grass Valley Group and the Loma Rica Industrial Park. The Grass Valley area is also home to a variety of annual events including the Draft Horse Classic, Music in the Mountains, Dog Shows, the Teddy Bear Convention and more!The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Grass Valley, California. Make a reservation today and save!**Hot tub and Pool closed until further notice* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gold Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing