We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jack, the night manager, was fantastic-should be a BW Plus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
MURPHYS
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Jack, the night manager, was fantastic-should be a BW Plus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Overnight stay, that was exceptional in accommodations and service. Jack, the night manager was great. Good location, many eateries nearby, close to e-way, but no noise. Second time we have stayed here and were not disappointed. This Best Western should be a Plus!!!! We have stayed at Best Western Plus's that were far inferior to this motel. Kudos to Jack, and the Gold County Best Western.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank denem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for your staff compliment Jack really appreciates it. We are very thrilled to have such a loyal customer. Make sure to come stay when we have our remodel done this coming year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    117
    68
    49
    20
See reviews for
137
88
23
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were there for a funereal. Staff was very nice and helpful. Place is bigger than you think, room was very nice, decor, comfort level. Offered a lot of amenities, if we were there for another reason, we would probably have used more of them. Overall it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for your stay, we are sorry it was under the above circumstances and our staff wishes you the best. We hope you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Habra, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Excellent hotel in Grass Valley, CA. The staff at the Hotel is great, the rooms are very clean and tidy, the breakfast is always great with a variety of items to chose from, close to downtown shops and restaurants. Freeway access is great too. This is our third stay at Grass Valley and we plan to return next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
We are very glad your stay was a good one. It is customers like you that keep the small businesses in small towns going, we are very grateful to have you as a customer. We look forward to your return, by this time next year we will have many more upgrades for you to experience on your stay including a larger breakfast room and new room designs. The Best Western Gold Country Inn thanks you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawthorne, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Nice area, nice place to stay; not exceptional for the money. Parking was a problem, as was access to the vending/ice machine. Breakfast area was less than adequate in size, for the amount of people staying in the hotel. The food was not bad, but lacked variety of choices; i.e. minimal fruits, grains, etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for staying with our business, we will be undergoing remodeling including expanding our breakfast room at least double. We are also working on our meeting room which will add parking and more space for our guests. We hope you will stay with us after our remodel this winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California, Usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Gold Country Inn has all of the things I look for in a hotel; beautiful grounds, clean room, and a pleasant staff.The queen bed in our room was really comfortable. I had a great night's sleep. We will stay again on our next trip to the gold country.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank mike_schlimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad your stay was satisfactory and we hope to see you stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The staff at this Best Western is always very helpful and cheerful. I travel on business to GV and Nevada City and can count on a good night's sleep and a great dinner at the restaurant right next door. GV and Nevada City are truly nuggets of the Sierras and this hotel just ties a bow on every trip I make there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drvid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
We are happy your stay was good. We hope you stay with us again soon, we just added HBO to our channel list!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

we had one little snafu with the reservations, but overall my friends who stayed here were happy with the hotel and they were very accommodating. This hotel is in a very convenient locations and is quiet despite being close to the freeway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank MinersCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniah M, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your event stay, we are very pleased your stay was a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
1.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
1.8 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
21.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
1.9 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
Address: 972 Sutton Way, Grass Valley, CA 95945-5177
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn!Discover this pet friendly Grass Valley, California hotel offering convenient access to Empire Mine State Park, Historic Nevada City and the Tahoe National Forest. Located in northern, inland California just off highway 49, the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is committed to providing the best in customer service, accommodations and amenities at the right price. Each well-appointed guest room at this Grass Valley hotel features cable satellite television and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to a complimentary full breakfast daily. This pet friendly hotel also offers guest laundry, an exercise facility and a full-service business center. Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn will be a short walk from a variety of dining and shopping in historic Grass Valley. The Empire Mine State Park, only two miles away, offer the perfect setting for hiking and afternoon picnics. This California hotel is also less than five miles from many other key area attractions including the Nevada County Fairgrounds, the South Yuba River, Scotts Flat Lake, Bridgeport Historic State Park and Historic Nevada City. Business travelers will appreciate being close to the Whispering Pines Business Park, the Grass Valley Group and the Loma Rica Industrial Park. The Grass Valley area is also home to a variety of annual events including the Draft Horse Classic, Music in the Mountains, Dog Shows, the Teddy Bear Convention and more!The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Grass Valley, California. Make a reservation today and save!**Hot tub and Pool closed until further notice* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing