We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sashimi Heaven”
Review of Kaido

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kaido
Ranked #22 of 105 Restaurants in Grass Valley
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Smartville, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sashimi Heaven”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Had a great experience at Kaidos the other day. Had the Tuna Sashimi and it was excellent. Went for my daughters birthday and she had a great time. She had the Tempura Shrimp and Teriyaki Chicken, which she loved. Even my picky 10 year old enjoyed the Tempura Vegetables. Food had excellent presentation and taste. Will have to go back real soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sdowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My fav sushi in town!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I have taken all of my family and friends here and they all are very impressed with the sushi. Not only is the taste fantastic, but the presentation is beautiful! I've had sushi from other places that people tell me is really good, but it pales in comparison to Kaido's. Definitely call for a reservation if you are coming for dinner on a weekend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

One would not automatically think that Grass Valley, CA would have good Japanese food, but surprise, they do!! Kaido's has the best shrimp tempura that I have ever had and the sushi is beautifully made and delicious. Be sure to make reservations, this is a small restaurant. You will not be sorry!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better Japanese Food than in SF”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Presentation, variety, taste. Kaido has it all! My wife is a native of the Phillipines and often visited Japan on business. She loves Japanese cuisine and asks to go to Kaido nearly every birthday we spend in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aHistoryTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A small gem”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My wife and I along with a local friend went to Kaido last night. We selected both Sushi, Tempura and Teriyaki. All of the dishes were expertly prepared and delicious. The service was a bit slow but the restaurant was full at that point. We traded bites and found that all the selections were just as good as the one we each ordered. We will be sure to return soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weldo-N-Wher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaido also viewed

 

Been to Kaido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing