We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You need this sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaido

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kaido
Ranked #18 of 105 Restaurants in Grass Valley
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“You need this sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I defy anyone to say a bad thing about this restaurant. We have been eating here for years. The Bali Hai roll is not to be missed. Their Japanese entrees bring me back to the 2 years I lived in Japan.
Make a reservation if you're going to eat there

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

One of the awesome places to visit while in Grass Valley, CA. Plenty of seating and bathroom is clean and unique. Fish was fresh and had great taste. Out of all the sushi restaurants I've been to... Never had a chef shout 'Thank you' and flash a big genuine smile from behind his work station.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raphael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
560 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“definitely worth trying”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were amazed to find a sushi restaurant in sleepy, western Grass Valley -- and even more amazed to discover the food was some of the best to be found anywhere. The specialty rolls, named after local landmarks (and Godzilla) are the things to try. One of them makes an ample meal for two people. There are plenty of traditional side dishes -- miso, edamame, seaweed and the like -- all delicious. Despite the posted hours, the restaurant closed early the night we dined, but the hostess and kitchen staff welcomed us in and served us in efficient but unhurried style.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirk E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent, but pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We are fortunate to have 3 very good sushi restaurants in Grass Valley/Nevada City. Kaido's is certainly one of them. There menu is extensive, the specialty rolls are voluptuous, and the hamachi kama is to die for. However, and this is a pretty big however, this place is pricy. Expect to pay $50 for two not including saki. Sadly, this make Kaido's a rare treat for us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Tasty, but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is the only sushi restaurant in Grass Valley (there are a couple of them in Nevada City), so when we crave sushi, we come here. Everything we've tried here is good. We like the sushi and sashimi, as well as the teriyaki and tempura. Even the accompaniments -- miso soup and green salad - are exceptionally good. Their prices seem inordinately high, however. And the service is friendly, but a bit slow. Reservations are a must if you are planning to come here on Friday or Saturday night.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJ748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaido also viewed

 

Been to Kaido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing