We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty and run down”
Review of Stagecoach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stagecoach Motel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Dirty and run down”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We booked online without checking it out first with Tripadvisor. Won't ever do that again.This place is run down and dirty. The towels hanging up in the bathroom had black marks where someone had once cleaned their shoes, but the management failed to wash them properly to get the dirt out. Everything you read in the other reviews is right on the mark. Worst place I've ever stayed in. Sleeping in our car would've been better.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NextDestination77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    3
    4
    13
See reviews for
6
10
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I stayed here for a wedding a few weeks ago because there was a huge music festival and my choices were this place or a very pricey B and B. I should have splurged on the B and B. Where shall I start? I had to go down the street to another motel to get registered and get the key. When I got to the motel, there was no number on my door. The bathroom had mold, the lamp was broken (as in, the shade was torn and sitting on the nightstand). The paint and walls were peeling and the air conditioner was deafening. I got up early, packed my things, and fled. I'd have done better camping, but I didn't bring my gear. This place should literally be closed by the health department. It was abominable and cost $72. It may have been worth $27, tops.

Room Tip: There was no pool, no service, no fitness center (lol), no anything. I did have photos but I deleted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wrdpntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrae, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We booke online, did not check them out first. Dirty filthy place with constant drug activity and managers fighting, Dirty room and bedding. Wi-fi worked to help us escape and find a Bed & Breakfast in Grass Valley. The 5 hours we were there was like being in a horror movie. It is a Scid Row Motel but worse..

Room Tip: Check out feed backs before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pat g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2011

our room was nice and clean, tv cable an wyfi worked. the hosekeepers were also friendly! the morning breakfast was good as well. i would go back for sure! and bring my hole family! its great.

Room Tip: 118 is great, so is 106 , well these were the rooms i stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Despite the terrible reviews, I chose to stay here on a business trip tp keep my spending down, and I am glad I did, the room was clean and quite, a typical free continental breakfast, the staff was very helpful, they were helpfull printed out directions for me and tips on good local places to eat. I booked another stay there before I left for my next business trip, over look the reviews if you want to save a buck it is not nearly as bad as the reviews said

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hubbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Had to ask for toilet paper, the bathroom sink was plugged up, blanket on bed had cigarette burns and a knife cut in it, room smelled STRONGLY of cigarette smoke, no maid service, carpet was filthy dirty and stained, ashtrays filled with cigarette butts were sitting outside most of the rooms and on top of the coke machine, no coat hangers in rooms (even after we requested some), person at front desk had no idea about how to work the air conditioner in our room. A terrible place to stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank autoharpNovato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

this was one of the worst places I have ever stayed in my life.
We checked in late and the clerk was not even coherent..
Rooms were clean enough but bed hard , sheets scratchy brought my own pillow and blanket..It was creepy staying there. Smelled of smoke People fighting ,people yelling during the night. Trying to check out the same clerk had trouble running my credit card and ran it 7 times .. My friend decided to pay with cash.. well need I say more. Would not stay there again if you PAID ME TO.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mags9449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
2.2 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
0.5 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
3.9 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
4.1 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stagecoach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stagecoach Motel

Property: Stagecoach Motel
Address: 405 S Auburn St, Grass Valley, CA 95945-7225
Region: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Stagecoach Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stagecoach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stagecoach Motel Grass Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing