We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not destined for repeat customers, only first timers” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Chain Resort Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Chain Resort Motel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Not destined for repeat customers, only first timers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

1 bulb out of 3 in the dim bathroom worked, phone number did not work to call and find out how to locate them while en route, lamp shade broken, decaf only in room and told no regular coffee until 7 AM in the lobby, towels same thickness as worn Motel 6 towels, shower was a trickle, TV pathetic channel selection and reception, and continental breakfast was coffee with no cream and individually packaged pastries from Costco that sell for about 50 for $10. One thing not overlooked, however, was the tip envelope in the room. Get real. If you are passing through and just need a quick sleep, ok, but expect nothing more. It's way past its golden days.

Room Tip: To choose a good room, go to Best Western Gold Country Inn, closer to Grass Valley, on Brunswick exi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fiftystatesevenconts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    6
    6
    8
    27
See reviews for
24
11
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

This place had a lot to offer at one time: miniature golf, barbecue area, swimming pool. Unfortunately it's in need of a complete remodel. The carpet in our room looked like cars had been parked on it. There was "stuff" smeared on the walls. The beds are so worn out they feel like a trampoline. Poor T.V. and few channels. The furniture is marked up. I booked the one night stay online and had a question about the internet so I called the office. The internet router is in the office so to connect in a room you need to be in one of the first 4 rooms. They said they would reserve on of those rooms for me but when I checked in someone had canceled the room. They also bump the room rates $10.00 on weekends. Since I booked online and got the un-bumped rate someone decided I didn't deserve internet in the room. This is a place you want to avoid. Won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: Look for another motel to stay in or sleep in your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrMotoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

I stayed their in 2011, summer, based on some positive reviews on Trip Advisor ("great hotel for the price"). It's NOT a great hotel for the price. It's just a hotel for the price. The floor was dirty - you'll want to leave your socks on. The room was shabby. However - the bed sheets were very clean and the young man in the front office was very polite. So, if you're stuck and have to stay here, go ahead. But there must be better places for not much more money near by. If you like shabby hotels right off the freeway with lots of patrons smoking their cigarettes on the porch nexy to you, this is your place. Live it up.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guerneville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

A basic, old school motel for travelers. This one says "60's road trip" right down to the miniature gold course in the parking lot. Rooms are basic and comfortable and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. Loved this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edye P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORT ORCHARD
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

The new owners just took over a few months ago, so I can understand if the rooms haven't all been spruced up yet. It's easy to see that this place has been neglected for quite awhile and it is going to take them awhile to paint, plaster, and refurbish. I can deal with that. But the basics of hotel day-to-day operation are sorely lacking.

We only had one set of towels in our room when we checked in - and they were dirty. We had to take them back to the office to get clean ones (and two sets). not so much as an "Oops".

That evening when I decided to take a shower I discovered the previous tenant's used bar of of soap and partially used shampoo in the shower stall. Seems like things like that should have been cleaned upt.

The next morning, while the office door said coffee would be available starting at 7 AM, we finally had to wake up the manager at 8 AM to get them to unlock the door and turn the coffee pot on. It was another 15 minutes before the coffee was brewed, they didn't bother to turn on the water for tea (which my wife drinks instead of coffee), and all they had to go along with the coffee for the "continental breakfast" was the little pastries in individual cellophane wrappers.

Room Tip: In a different motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ron_A_VTX-1300R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
257 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

The moel is a old style motel where you park in front of your room and looks run by a family.
The room was very clean and freshly painted, looks like they made some renovations next few months,
For what I needed a place to sleep was good!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricardofr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

"Resort Motel" gives the wrong impression of this place... it's a sweet old-fashioned simple motel, lovingly fixed up and maintained by the managers. Fancy doesn't exist here, it's just a really pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tamaraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
6.2 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
3.3 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
17.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Chain Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Chain Resort Motel

Property: Golden Chain Resort Motel
Address: 13413 State Highway 49, Grass Valley, CA 95949-9254
Region: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Chain Resort Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Golden Chain Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Chain Hotel Grass Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing