We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Chain Resort Motel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay away!”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This place has really gone down hill over the last year. The pool has been "temporarily" closed all summer. From what the hotel people tell me, I doubt it will open up at all. The room we had smelled like vomit, there was dirty washcloths in the bathroom, and the shower light didn't work. I asked the ladies up front to move me to a different room because of the shower light issue and they told me that none of the rooms have shower lights - I later found out that this was a lie. The carpets were stained, there were burn holes in the bedding, and the heat lamp in the bathroom was an eerie hue of red. The people that stay at the motel are scummy. We had the pleasure of meeting a lady a few doors down who had just gotten evicted from her apartment for selling drugs. She was now living in the motel with her teenage daughter. She bragged about "smoking glass" the night before. She said that the hotel management let her live there for free because she was down on her luck. That's all fine and well, but I wasn't too thrilled about paying $75 for a room when it seemed as though the lowlifes of Grass Valley were living there for free. The staff is nice but extremely unprofessional. I overhead the cleaning lady joking about what a horrible job she does. I can confirm her lack of cleaning skills due to the filthiness of the room. We had stayed at the Golden Chain numerous times over the past year, but we will definitely not be returning. The prices went up, the quality went down, and the staff constantly uses the excuse of not having enough money from corporate to do anything about it. Maybe if they charged for the rooms instead of letting crackheads live there for free, they'd be alright. The place gave me the creeps and I will never return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KelCee1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    6
    6
    8
    27
See reviews for
24
11
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have stayed here previously and the room was clean and ok. This time my husband was going to have surgery so we decided to stay there for two nights. $167.00. We checked into room 119. Stains on the carpet all over, holes in the walls, toothpaste in the sink. We were afraid to pull down the covers and look at the sheets. We left. The clerk at the front desk would only refund 1 nights rate. The pool was full of green water. It was more than gross. Found out the same man owns the Best Western and the Nevada City Inn. It is very apparent that he puts his money in the Best Western. The place was more than gross, it deserves a negative rating. No ice machine. Best to avoid this place who knows what lies under the sheets.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grass Valley hotels

Coarsegold, CA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Wow, I can't believe this is the same motel I left positive feedback for a year or so ago. I made a reservation here for a particular room and when we arrived they had give "our" room away to someone else. They were sold out and gave us another room. It was AWFUL! The carpet was very badly stained and was DISGUSTING! There was hair on the phone and bathroom floor. The towels literally looked like the kind of towels I use at home for rags. The tv remote did not work. Hardly any hot water in the shower. No ice machine on property. The young man that checked us in was very nice and brought us a tray of ice...not the employees fault. I guess the motel was purchased by some foreigner that DOES NOT want to spend any money on upkeep and doesn't care. We couldn't go anywhere else because all the motels in town were sold out. Really disappointing because at one time this was a nice little motel!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelkel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

1 bulb out of 3 in the dim bathroom worked, phone number did not work to call and find out how to locate them while en route, lamp shade broken, decaf only in room and told no regular coffee until 7 AM in the lobby, towels same thickness as worn Motel 6 towels, shower was a trickle, TV pathetic channel selection and reception, and continental breakfast was coffee with no cream and individually packaged pastries from Costco that sell for about 50 for $10. One thing not overlooked, however, was the tip envelope in the room. Get real. If you are passing through and just need a quick sleep, ok, but expect nothing more. It's way past its golden days.

Room Tip: To choose a good room, go to Best Western Gold Country Inn, closer to Grass Valley, on Brunswick exi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fiftystatesevenconts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This place had a lot to offer at one time: miniature golf, barbecue area, swimming pool. Unfortunately it's in need of a complete remodel. The carpet in our room looked like cars had been parked on it. There was "stuff" smeared on the walls. The beds are so worn out they feel like a trampoline. Poor T.V. and few channels. The furniture is marked up. I booked the one night stay online and had a question about the internet so I called the office. The internet router is in the office so to connect in a room you need to be in one of the first 4 rooms. They said they would reserve on of those rooms for me but when I checked in someone had canceled the room. They also bump the room rates $10.00 on weekends. Since I booked online and got the un-bumped rate someone decided I didn't deserve internet in the room. This is a place you want to avoid. Won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: Look for another motel to stay in or sleep in your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrMotoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I stayed their in 2011, summer, based on some positive reviews on Trip Advisor ("great hotel for the price"). It's NOT a great hotel for the price. It's just a hotel for the price. The floor was dirty - you'll want to leave your socks on. The room was shabby. However - the bed sheets were very clean and the young man in the front office was very polite. So, if you're stuck and have to stay here, go ahead. But there must be better places for not much more money near by. If you like shabby hotels right off the freeway with lots of patrons smoking their cigarettes on the porch nexy to you, this is your place. Live it up.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guerneville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

A basic, old school motel for travelers. This one says "60's road trip" right down to the miniature gold course in the parking lot. Rooms are basic and comfortable and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. Loved this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edye P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
4.5 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
6.2 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
6.5 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Chain Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Chain Resort Motel

Property: Golden Chain Resort Motel
Address: 13413 State Highway 49, Grass Valley, CA 95949-9254
Region: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Chain Resort Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Chain Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Chain Hotel Grass Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing