We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nope”
Review of Holiday Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Lodge
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nope”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

In need of some major remodeling. The receptionist was nice, room was old. I took a glass out of the sanitized bag & it had cigarette ashes in it. The bathroom was gross. It seemed clean but was so old. & stained. Blankets were worn & torn. Big plastic sheets on the roof with sand bags holding it down. I couldn't wait to check out. Price was high for such a run down place

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Latina53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    4
    5
    21
See reviews for
22
9
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I couldn't agree more that this is , indeed, an excellent accomodation. It is not stylishly new, but neither were the manners, courtesy, and caring attitude evidenced by all members of the staff. In the last several years I have found it difficult to get extra towels after 8 P.M. in most of our "4 and 5" star hotel chains. "Housekeeping is no longer on duty." A call to Dawn, the manager, at 10:30 P.M. regarding a non-functioning TV remote was responded to immediately and ended up having the maintainence man replace the set so that I could see the news at 11! Find that elsewhere! Clean, comfortable, newly painted inside. Breakfast of coffee, cereal, cello-packed Danish, and juice in the "garden room" was just enought to start the day and better than the $23.00 continental breakfast at Chicago's "Grand Old Hotel Known to All" (you know the name! I'll return to Holiday Lodge with pleasurable anticipation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsarinaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2012

The Holiday Lodge is an excellent accomodation for the price. Although it is older, the rooms and grounds were clean and functional. Location is convenient to both all of Grass Valley and Nevada City. The night manager, Dawn, gives everyone her card with her cell number and encourages calls for any reason, any time. She couldn't have been friendlier or more accomodating. She's the reason I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask Dawn. She'll show rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
314 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

After reading some of the reviews I was very nervous about staying here. However, everything else was booked so I didn't have much choice. I was very pleasantly surprised. Although it is obviously old, the room was clean, the bed comfortable and and the amenities satisfactory. It's not the Ritz but, for $90, what do you expect. The continental breakfast is very basic - just danish and coffee. It's very convenient to Highway 49 and not far from the main part of town. The only negative - I had my dog with me and there was really no good place to walk her.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crosswycke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

we came from redding Ca. to Grass Valley, a place we love. We wanted to keep the cost down so we called around for the least expensive hotel price. It was an older motel.
When we started to go to bed we turned the covers back and found a crack pipe under the pillow.
We went to the resident mgrs. room and showed her what we found and told her we were going to call the police, she said not to she would take care of it. We immediately got out of there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinneenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My husband and I booked two rooms last minute for us and 4 teenagers, for our annual trip to the Yuba River.

Pluses: Friendly staff; good location to highway (but not able to hear it), fast food, stores and movie theaters (by car, a few minutes away); accepts dogs for a $25.00 fee; good air conditioning, cable and free wi-fi in the rooms; staff worked hard to accommodate us at the last minute, and gave us the non-smoking rooms we needed.

Minuses: The beds were VERY hard; the bathroom floors are chipped from water damage, giving an unclean feeling; the toilet paper was flimsy and no spare roll left in the room, even after a visit from room-keeping; only one towel set given for a room with two Queen beds (changed after the room-keeping visit) and the towels were a little on the thin and rough side; some street and balcony noise, as well as noise from room neighbors talking and smoking outside their doors; pool water was cold. No scenery and moderate landscaping. Rooms were about $95.00 a night.

My family is very familiar with the area and kept busy most of the day at the river or shopping and dining in Nevada City and Grass Valley. The basic nature of the rooms actually worked for us, since we were dragging in wet towels, swimsuits, sandy sandals, a dog, etc. Softer beds and a nicer bathroom area (and supplies) really would have made this place just right.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Basic motel, friendly, clean, overpriced. microwave is a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yotam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
0.8 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
360 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
101 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
126 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sierra Mountain Inn
Sierra Mountain Inn
#2 of 10 in Grass Valley
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Lodge

Property: Holiday Lodge
Address: 1221 E Main St, Grass Valley, CA 95945-5711
Region: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Lodge is a pet-friendly boutique motel conveniently located on East Main Street in Grass Valley. We are less than a mile from historic downtown Grass Valley, a quick 5 minute drive to Nevada City, and less than 1 mile off the I-49. Our location features affordable rates and a clean, comfortable stay. Every room is equipped with a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. We offer both standard and themed rooms. During the summer months, take a dip in our large outdoor swimming pool. We also provide a free continental breakfast each morning. Please note, we underwent new management in late Summer of 2014 and have been making many renovations and upgrades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Grass Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing