We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management changed the ambiance of the lodge”
Review of Holiday Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Lodge
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
west yellowstone
1 review
“Management changed the ambiance of the lodge”
Reviewed 31 May 2009

Stayed at the Holiday Lodge while visiting friends in the area, and it really is too bad that old reviews do not drop off. I found the manager to be very professional and friendly. While the property is older, it is obvious that the management has worked hard to upgrade the rooms. To say nothing of the lovely breakfast.

And of course, compared to other lodging in the area, it is really inexpensive, so bring your children and lot them run around barefoot. They will be OK. And you will enjoy the stay and save some money too!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowstonetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    4
    5
    21
See reviews for
22
9
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Incline Village, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2008

We recently spent a night at this motel while in town for a weekend and found it to be a very pleasant experience. The room was clean and comfortable and for the price was well worth it. You can tell the owners take pride in making their guests comfortable and we look forward to staying here again next year.

  • Liked — Convenience to everywhere in town
  • Disliked — There was nothing we didn't like
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ammut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2008

This is an old motel that is run down and not maintained in a standard that most travelers would expect. The towels were thread bear thin, the curtains were old & did not even keep out the sunlight, the wall unit air conditioner blew on our faces all night...so we had to shut it off and sweat. Unfortunately, we couldn't open the window because we would hear the traffic on the busy road all evening and the toilet blocked up the next morning. We woke up around 6:30 and started packing the car as fast as possible to get out of this dump. There were several other travelers who looked as if they were doing the same thing. The 'continental breakfast' was not seen because it started too late. Don't most summer travelers want breakfast early in the morning so they can continue on their holiday? We would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless you are VERY DESPERATE for a bed....better yet....travel on down the road to Sacramento and you will definately get a bed for the night.

  • Liked — Leaving!
  • Disliked — Overpriced for a DUMP
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CaliforniaSilverFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glowurmzyz, Asst. Manager at Holiday Lodge, responded to this review, 11 November 2008
When a guest lets us know of a problem either through personal contact with management, our housekeepers or a comment card we we addresss the situation immediately. We did receive a thin batch of towel from a supplier, they will never ship those again, new drapes have been installed along with rods with wands for easier use, some A/C units have a energy saver button, if that was touched it will cycle off and on to adjust the temperature. The plumbing is old, if too much paper is used there may be a problem. We are in a commercial area, there is no traffic after 9pm, we cannot control other people talking or smoking outside someones room, most of our rooms are non-smoking so folks must go outside to smoke. The hours for our continental breakfast have been set at 7-11am weekdays and 8-11am weekends because the motel is run by one woman. There are no complaints from our regular guests. Regarding peoples facial expressions, we cannot control that either. If people are in the parking lot early in the morning they are probably trying to get an early start. I would hope that this addresses the complaints on this posting. We also hope that travelers will come by the Holiday Lodge for a tour before letting one persons comments be the reason for not staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grass Valley hotels

Hayward
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

I really have to say the online photos looked great! But when we got there that was a whole different story. The people stared at us like we were from a different planet ? And the office staff seem over worked and didn't know what they were doing? The room looked like it was dirty and the bath towels were well? I didn't want to use them? And the airconditioner keep failing on us? And the refer wasn't working. Also, we tried to go to sleep at 10:30 on saturday night and there were smokers out side our room the NON SMOKING ROOM and talking loud and using foul words and our kids heard the bad words and we couldn't go to sleep because they were so loud. I peeked my head out the door for a second time and said something to the people who were talking loud, They said "sorry" and went in a few minutes later. The next day we got up got dressed hated to take a shower cause we had to use their towels, but we couldn't get out fast enough. My daughter and I went to check out gave the staff person the key and she said thanks, turned around and said nothing else and she looked at us like "you can go" and the breakfast table was empty, the guy who was suppose to set up the table walked right by and did nothing and seem as if he didn't care? I care enough to send this information to tell you as a traveler beware of where you stay really do your research before you enter into a hotel. READ READ READ! caution HOTEL is a DUMP!!

  • Liked — NONE
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank daubyricha2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glowurmzyz, Manager at Holiday Lodge, responded to this review, 11 November 2008
Seven out of thirty-five rooms are smoking rooms. Many smokers must take a non-smoking room either because they request it or we do not have a smoking room for them. In the case of people smoking and talking outside their room, this is what they must do if they are staying in a non-smoking room. We appreciate them smoking outside, we are sorry they have to use bad language. There is no way to control how other people speak. The continental breakfast is served from 7-11am weekdays and 8-11am weekends. The only time the table would be empty is if it is after 11am. The staff is instructed to always replenish supplies after every wave of guests has visited the lobby. We do not have any male employees, the man seen in the lobby must have been a guest. The energy saver button on some of the A/C units will make the unit cycle off and on to adjust the temperature. If this is the case all the guest had to do was make sure the energy saver feature was not used. We did receive a batch of thin towels, the supplier was notified and will never ship this inferior product again.
Thank you, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Ca
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2008

This is not at all what I expected.
I did see the pictures online and thought it would be OK.
When we arrived we checked in and went to our room.
What a nightmare.
As all the hotels where booked we had no choice but to stay here.
The bed was harder then the floor you could feel all the springs in the mattress.
The bathroom floor and shower/tub had mildew on it.
The towels where so thin you could see right thru them.
We had a room with an adjoining door so we locked that door but the knob was loose but we managed to lock it.
The door to the room was also a problem you had to push real hard on the door to turn the lock.
This room comes with a fridge and a microwave they have an extension cord hanging off the counter plugged into the wall and then the microwave and fridge where plugged into that defiantly not a room you would want any children in.
There was no fan in the bathroom just a window I was afraid to open the window as
anyone could walk by and look into the bathroom.
There is a large window next to the front door with two sliding windows they had a stick in the track to lock the windows.
The bath tub was very slippery when wet and had no mat to prevent you from slipping in the tub and the tub was chipped.
We found out later from another hotel that the druggies hang out at this place.
I will never stay at this place again.
I would not recommend it to anyone!
I paid $90.00 for 1 night and this is a dump.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Creepy feeling
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank amustangsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2008

Very kind and nice hosts. Able to give good advice. Excellent breakfast. Big and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GoggenBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2007

When we arrived to the hotel you could tell immediatly that it was not in good condition. Not only is it not suitable for children but is filthy and disgusting. My son walk around the run barefoot the first day and the bottom of his feet turned black. The towels they provided were basically large hand towels we had to use after showers. It is an electrical nightmare in the rooms as well. Power plugs for lamps and clocks slump out of socket exposing metal. extension cords dangling from wall. I have also never been to a hotel where you had to pay upfront for you room. Most hotels hold your card on file and give you a total after checking out. You can believe that if I ever come back to Grass Valley, I would not stay here even if nothing else was available.

  • Liked — Soap
  • Disliked — Filth
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Peanut2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
0.8 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
382 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
144 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
126 reviews
2.5 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
114 reviews
21.1 mi away
Best Western Golden Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Lodge

Property: Holiday Lodge
Address: 1221 E Main St, Grass Valley, CA 95945-5711
Region: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Lodge is a pet-friendly boutique motel conveniently located on East Main Street in Grass Valley. We are less than a mile from historic downtown Grass Valley, a quick 5 minute drive to Nevada City, and less than 1 mile off the I-49. Our location features affordable rates and a clean, comfortable stay. Every room is equipped with a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. We offer both standard and themed rooms. During the summer months, take a dip in our large outdoor swimming pool. We also provide a free continental breakfast each morning. Please note, we underwent new management in late Summer of 2014 and have been making many renovations and upgrades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Grass Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing