We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you really need a hotel”
Review of Coach N Four Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coach N Four Motel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If you really need a hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were attending a wedding in Grass Valley. The bride had booked a block of rooms for guests. It was not up to our standards, but nothing else in town was available. The room was dark and not particularly inviting. We did meet other wedding guests sitting outside their room nextdoor to ours.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DZehrbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    7
    2
    4
    12
See reviews for
8
8
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo County, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Saw the reviews and booked a King room for Friday night. Got to hotel around 5pm for check in, Were alot of guys standing around the parking areas, Owner Natasha shewed them off when we pulled in. Got the 1st room and the bed was not made room was dirty, Room 2 Had dirty personal items in it. Asked for our money back and went to the Best Wertern off Sutter rd.
We Flew in to Grass Valley Airport and would not stay here again. BEWARE!

Room Tip: Stay in Name brand name hotel when on trips They have more to loose than these guys will never see u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Recently stayed here with other family members in the same Motel. Air conditioning loud and didn't work to well. Room was clean but dated. Close to Highway and downtown but not too close to cause any noise issues. Seems like they are under new management as it was better than other reviews I've read. Would i stay here again? Not sure, price was OK, but I probably would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: like the rooms at ground level with no one above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank messenger52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We have stayed in Grass Valley previously and been underwhelmed by the properties and prices. After doing some tripadvisor research, I called the Coach N Four. I am glad I did.

First impression pulling in was "thank you for doing landscaping rather than hardscaping." Lots of inviting flowers, bushes and tall trees. This is a small property, but we love the old motor lodges and classics, so this was fine with us.

The neighborhood is mixed use, so there are some small businesses nearby. A neat convenience store is within walking distance. It is a bit of a hike to downtown Grass Valley, probably not a walk most would want to undertake.

The man at the front desk was friendly and helpful. All the staff we encountered were very nice, greeted us, waved, asked how we were doing, etc.. Dog friendly!!! Lots of places around to walk your pet.

The room was super clean, decent quality linens and towels. The room had some maintenance issues, the faucet knob needed replaced as it flopped around on the shaft and the plumbing hot to cold was reversed. There is nowhere in the tile shower to put your necessities, you have to place them on the floor. Not much counter space for a toiletry bag.

The tiny window AC unit was mocked into a holel, and this thing was trying its best, noisily. The control is on the top of the unit that is mounted 6 feet off the ground, so you have to work at it a bit to adjust.

The place for your suitcase is under this AC unit and a closet shelf, and there is no lighting over there, so accessing your bag at night is a challenge.

Our room had a small table in front, so we spent some time lounging outside of the room, watching the world go by and doing some reading.

We felt safe and secure here, we left our keys sitting on the bumper for hours and it was fine.

On future visits to the area, we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband and I are staying here for the week. We have already stayed 3 nights and are so very impressed with the positive changes occurring. The owners are intelligent, friendly and hardworking people that know this area well. They are transforming this motel into something very positive and special. Also, the housekeeper is very respectful and polite every time we see him! Bravo for your great efforts in making Coach N Four Motel a place of beauty.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean - that's the only good thing I can say about this run down, strange motel. The shower and the toilet were in the same room - one room with no separation between them! No amenities, not even kleenex, oh yes, there were soap chips for your shower, and TWO shower caps. Even the lamp shade was torn.The neighborhood was OK, but the guests at the motel were a little scary. Run, don't walk!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmdale, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Had to book a room on short notice and this place was one of the few with space available. Had I read the reviews beforehand I wouldn't have stayed there. We found the room to be adequate, clean and quiet. The whole facility appeared to have been recently painted and the carpets were visually clean. As per my habit I stripped the bed and found the mattress to be free of occupants and the lines were clean and intact. Amenities are very sparse with only bar soap and shower caps provided, no shampoo or conditioner. We did however get 2 shower caps. The furniture was miss matched and very worn. The room was not serviced between the two nights of our stay. They were very accommodating however in supplying the extra pillows I requested. The whole facility was obviously built sometime in the 40's or 50's. while we would not have picked such a place for a vacation stay it met our needs for short notice family necessitated stay.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wintalldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
2.5 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gold Miners Inn
Gold Miners Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
126 reviews
4.2 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
110 reviews
19.5 mi away
Best Western Golden Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach N Four Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach N Four Motel

Property: Coach N Four Motel
Address: 628 S Auburn St, Grass Valley, CA 95945-7537
Region: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Coach N Four Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coach N Four Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach n` 4 Motel
Coach n` Four Hotel Grass Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing