We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, a few quirks with the hotel itself”
Review of Gold Miners Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gold Miners Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

The staff who helped me were exceptional. Brian went out of his way to find the swimming hole for me within 20 minutes of the hotel on the Yuba River. The woman who checked me in was friendly efficient and thorough. I felt welcomed and taken care of.

They were a few unusual things about this motel. Most large chain motels will have multiple entrances which guests may enter by using a key card. This Way, no matter where you park there will be an entrance nearby.

This hotel can only be entered through one entrance- the main entrance. This may not be so convenient for those with children or mobility issues. Secondly, my room was clean for the most part but there were many stains on the footstool. It either needs to be steam cleaned or reupholstered. Also, the pillows are lumpy and the sheets were pilled. The blankets are synthetic. Not ideal, but I would probably stay here again next time I'm in the area for business.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimi_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Gold Miners Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 days, including over a weekend. During the week, lots of construction folks staying there (many projects occurring in the Grass Valley area), and on the weekends, there were a couple of wedding parties, and girlfriends weekend happening. Make reservations early, since we heard this advice from several people. We barely got a room, and we booked 3+ weeks ahead. The hotel was clean, beds were very comfortable, although the pillows were not that great (just OK). Could hear a bit of noise from adjacent rooms (we had an adjoining room door), and a bit of street noise from Hwy. 49....but not enough noise to make me sorry we booked here. Staff were friendly, and food at breakfast was very nice.

The hotel has an arrangement with a business that does massages, Aloha Massage. It is located across the parking lot from the hotel, and I was so impressed after the first massage (and I'm picky), I booked a second one. The hotel also had a special deal on concert tickets that was going on in town. Check out activities in GV and see if the hotel has any specials associated with it (concerts, theater, etc.). If you don't want to do the B&B route in the area, just stay here. Really close to everything downtown and there are lots of things to do.

Room Tip: A lot of the rooms face Hwy. 49, and rooms away from the front of the hotel may be a bit quieter. Ho...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Southpass_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Holiday Inn Express in Grass Valley is a wonderful find! Clean, large rooms. Really friendly staff, excellent breakfast buffet, and even a free drink at the bar every night. The bartender was great- really nice and made you feel at home. The breakfast/bar area was never crowded while we were there, and was very well stocked and maintained. We walked to lots of places, and if you have to drive, nothing is too far. I only wish it had a swimming pool!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingwithboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We were pleased to find how easy it was to get to the hotel from the freeway. In addition, it is only a short walk to many restaurant options. The night we stayed was the first farmer's market, street vendors, music, etc. evening. The streets are closed off on Thursdays during the summer for pedestrian traffic only. The HI Express's staff are very good and extend themselves to assist you. We did enjoy a drink at the evening reception. Breakfast was good and was kept fully stocked, especially with the fresh fruit. We were on the freeway side but the only noise that bothered us was the AC fan - two settings "on" (turbo!) or off (sweltering in the summer). Would be nice to have a low setting. Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MnDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

After a long day's drive, it was great to check in and be so warmly received and welcomed. The hotel staff are incredibly friendly and gracious. The rooms are luxurious, well-appointed and kept very clean. I especially appreciate how close it is to anything I would want to do in Grass Valley without having to take the car out of the parking lot! Love the happy hour touch and coupons presented upon check-in. Highly recommend HIE if you plan to sleep in Grass Valley!

Room Tip: Loved the third floor king suite!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Very well appointed hotel in the middle of town - walking distance to all the downtown sites. Fabulous happy hour with talented mixologist who makes sure everyone is having a pleasant time; special attention to children and those who don't drink alcohol. Clean and spacious rooms. Very helpful staff. A bit pricey but more than made up for by added benefits.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Location is super. Walking distance to everything in town. Very clean. A little pricey, I thought. My third floor suite had a lot of freeway noise. Otherwise, a nice place to stay and a lovely town. Their happy hour is a nice way to sample local wines, they also recommended a local tasting room. Nice wines and a quaint old brick atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
0.2 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
252 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Gold Country Inn
Best Western Gold Country Inn
#3 of 10 in Grass Valley
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
148 reviews
3.5 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sierra Mountain Inn
Sierra Mountain Inn
#2 of 10 in Grass Valley
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Miners Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Miners Inn

Address: 121 Bank St, Grass Valley, CA 95945-6518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Grass Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grass Valley
Price Range: £119 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gold Miners Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel In Grass Valley, CaliforniaOur hotel in Grass Valley, California offers premium amenities and the comfort of home for traveling families and business travelers alike.History seems to seep from the sidewalk cracks and through the windows in this Northern California town. Here, visitors can view the historic Empire Mine State Park or the North Power House and learn the facts behind the California gold rush. The Grass Valley community is dotted with local wineries that feature award-winning wines; and in the downtown area, near our choice Grass Valley hotel, tasting rooms abound. Our lodging in Grass Valley is also in close proximity to the Foothill Theatre Company, Scotts Flat Lake and many California Gold Country attractions.Our Grass Valley hotel is conveniently located near several Grass Valley companies such as Nvision, Serra Corporation and Litton Engineering Labs. We are proud to provide free high-speed, wireless Internet throughout our hotel in Grass Valley, CA. For business travelers, we have four meeting rooms on the hotel property, copy, mail and fax services, audio-visual equipment and a business center.During your Grass Valley vacation, you can unwind in the fitness center or enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast bar and on-site deli. We hope you call and enjoy our excellent hotel rates in Grass Valley, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Gold Miners Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
Holiday Inn Grass Valley
Grass Valley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing