We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roadside surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Underwood Bar & Bistro

Underwood Bar & Bistro
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Graton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
118 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Roadside surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were looking for a great dinner place at 9pm on a Sunday night, & found this sleepy-looking place online. When we arrived, what a treat. Loved the interior, & interesting looking patrons. Food was fantastic. Highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jlouisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    55
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
249 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Happened in and Happy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Wondered into this place for a late lunch after wine touring all day. The place was packed, so we ate at the bar (which was also packed).
Tapas style cuisine is just what we wanted. Little tastes of many things; allowing us to go out of our comfort zone a bit.
Between the 4 of us, we had Pomme Frites, Harisa Fries, Baby Back Ribs, Goat Cheese Tart, the Flatbread, and Roasted Beets; most of the tapas menu. We loved them all and even doubled up on a few.
Friendly staff and great beer selections rounded out our experience. A keeper!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NinaTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
154 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“This is a jewel, plus a great bartender!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Excellent! We ordered all of the Thai style dishes after Frank Dice - the awesome bartender - told us the chef goes to Thailand four times a year. We love and know authentic Thai and they nail it! The bar is beautiful, nickel plated and wood accents. Great experience, Sebastopol is beautiful in general.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tigerlilykelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great service, great food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us for lunch after we had finished a wine tasting just down the road. We had an outstanding lunch...it was just what we were looking for. We all shared some delicious oysters on the half shell, fresh and briny. I had a pastrami sandwich, which was one of the specials, and it was excellent - the pastrami was lean (by pastrami standards, anyway). The service could not have been better. Although the restaurant was full, they managed to accomodate our party of seven with hardly a wait. Our servers were attentive and friendly. Looking forward to returning on our next visit to Sonoma.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob07551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“grreat place,staff and locale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

While visiting in Sonoma last week, I had a most enjoyable lunch at the Underwood Bar & Bistro. There food is absolutely delicious and the presentation beautiful. There are so many really really great places to eat in Sonoma and Napa, and this is definitely one of them. I recommend this to anyone who would enjoy a wonderful lunch in very pleasant and friendly surroundings.

The prices are on a par with other restaurants in this area. I had their lamb sandwich and I believe the lunch was around $12-14. Perhaps for the midwest that is a little on the high side, but not for the Sonoma/Napa area.

Go, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Underwood Bar & Bistro also viewed

 
Forestville, Sonoma County
Sebastopol, Sonoma County
 
Forestville, Sonoma County
Sebastopol, Sonoma County
 

Been to Underwood Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing