We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh My God What a Great Hotel and Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Groveland Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stopped in Groveland as the sun was setting after our trip to Yosemite on Highway 120. We stopped for the super cool Iron Door Saloon in this 1 stops sign town. The saloon was built in 1852. the hotel sits right next to it and the room was wonderful The most comfortable bed of our trip. It was elegant and modern and wonderful The morning complimentary breakfast included made to order omelettes. Making me wish we had dinner there. Glad we chose this place because there wasn't another nice place for 2 hours on HWY 120. Highly recommend it and the quaint little town

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
There are newer reviews for The Groveland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

We were welcomed very warmly at this slightly eccentric (in a good way) hotel, despite arriving much later than we said we would due to a satnav "malfunction". We were well looked after, but this is one of those hotels which has enough "little irritations" that got on our nerves. The room was very small - nowhere to open a suitcase, and with two people in the room, one of us had to sit in bed to allow the other to move around. The plumbing was very noisy from other rooms, and the mattress was pretty uncomfortable.

On the upside, the shower was great, with lots of hot water, and a very good breakfast.

Room Tip: Some of the other rooms were, I think, bigger, so probably worthwhile speaking to them when booking...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonB1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Hotel with a history, breakfast was good with lots of choice. Room was comfortable we had a room that opened out onto the veranda. Staff really helpful (Barbara) especially with information about the Rim Fire and what was accessible. Iron Door Saloon good choice for evening meal

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank History_Girl_ipswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Cute old hotel, comfy and close to wonderful Yosemite. The restaurant was fantastic. After a fabulous meal, visited the iron door door saloon right next door. Wow - cool. Played some pool, had a few beers. Fantastic evening. Groveland has many small shops along the street to visit. It was fun to just walk and stop by and see what's going on. A shop that covers the sights and things to do. one has camping, hiking and outdoor gear. One place we walked into but apparently they were closed but someone left the front door open. Being a small town, we were treated as neighbors and ended up talking about things to do, how nice the weather has been and some local gossip - we felt just like neighbors. Also, The coffee shop was so friendly. It 's a place I've discovered that is now a place to do again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inclined_orbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel was one of two hotel used for my Exec. White Water Rafting Trip. Hotel was clean with beautiful big rooms. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Restaurant was very nice with great food.

Room Tip: Ask when making reservations about the rooms and the placement. Hotel is very close to busy road so...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkmcdermott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I haven't stayed at this hotel ... Yet. I went in for breakfast. Breakfast was good. They were closing down to prep for lunch so the service was not that great. My kids had waffles which were beautiful. Because of the perpetual diet I had poached eggs. Our server was friendly and helpful.
The owner came to greet us at our table and told us about the hotel's history ant its resident ghost.
We went upstairs after breakfast to looks t the display of the adobe walls and peeked in to a room. The decor was charming and the linens looked lovely. I would stay here based on the atmosphere and history alone.

Room Tip: I didn't have a chance to stay in the hotel, only had breakfast. Actually not sure about the sl...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evely J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Very friendly staff, very comfortable bed, shower worked fine for us (all four of us) - only problem was that the new air conditioning malfunctioned and we were icy cold in the middle of August! The staff did all they could and it did eventually calm down, but it remained noisy nonetheless.

Agree that there is nowhere at all to put anything on and the wardrobe is useless - old and characterful, perhaps, but not practical. Sofabed all set up for the kids, which made a change as many places don't do that even when requested in advance. Good toiletries, towels, robes and bottled water in the room. Very clean. A few too many teddy bears, though, and the decor is very twee! The waiting staff in the restaurant were excellent and we were very happy with dinner and breakfast.

It was eyewateringly expensive, though, for what it is, but then competition is limited in the area. However, that aside, completely acceptable for a family on its way through.

Room Tip: Julia Bulette Suite perfectly suitable for a family of four staying one or two nights.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funnyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
0.1 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
819 reviews
20.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
19.1 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
11.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
24.0 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Groveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Groveland Hotel

Address: 18767 Main St, Groveland, CA 95321-9444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range: £115 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Groveland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Groveland Hotel at Yosemite National Park is a full service Yosemite region hotel, featuring 17 award-winning guest rooms. Our Cellar Door Restaurant is a casual yet fine dining experience, with a full bar and Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence wine list. It is the perfect location for your Tuolumne River whitewater expedition, hiking, biking, horseback riding, fishing, golf at Pine Mountain Lake, or just a great place to hang out and relax. A visit to Rainbow Pool (a great local swimmin' hole) with a great bottle of wine from the Cellar Door makes for a memorable, lazy afternoon. Located on the most direct, scenic route to Yosemite National Park from the San Francisco Bay Area and Sacramento on Highway 120, Yosemite National Park's year-round northern entrance is a half hour or 23 picturesque miles from your Groveland, CA hotel. Our accommodations feature down comforters, featherbeds, private baths, delicious California cuisine, a full-service saloon, a full hot breakfast included with your stay, free parking and free Wi-Fi/high-speed Internet access in all rooms. We also offer free use of a guest computer with Wi-Fi connection and the ability to print out boarding passes at the front desk. Our Tesla electric car charger is available at no charge to hotel guests. The Groveland Hotel is pet-friendly and we welcome guests from around the globe, with all budgets - families, road-weary tourists, business executives, aviation enthusiasts, rock climbers, honeymooners - with gracious Southern Hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Groveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Groveland
Groveland The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing