We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Essence of Amenity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Groveland Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Essence of Amenity”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Groveland Hotel: Yosemite-
The Essence of Amenity!
With service always with a smile
Professionalism, served with style,
Historical home with teddy bear
To keep you safe while you are there
We'll both be back, to you we sing,
"It's perfect now-Don't change a thing!"

Special thanks to Peggy Grout, Jo Ellen, Tyler,Barbara (perky breakfast server (Lorraine?) and Chef Andre

Jeanne & Tom Pontac

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ultrajeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    173
    81
    50
    41
See reviews for
80
341
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

If you are looking for a place to relax, slow down and watch the world go by stay at the Groveland Hotel. Stop by the bar and chat/hang with Tyler or take your beverage and find one of the many incredible sitting nooks to claim as your own. The wrap around decks with plenty of intimate seating offer great views. Eat at the bar or resturant - Andre the chef can wip up some amazing dishes. If you want to learn about the place, several very cool stories, chat with Barbara and Joellen. Visit the local library/museum to get some great history on Groveland and don't miss (not that you can) the Iron Door Saloon right next to Groveland Hotel, fun atmosphere. As you can tell the staff at Groveland made an impression - we normally stay at big hotel chains but, slowing down in Groveland was great thanks to the staff, nothing got by them - great service, great atmosphere, great place!

Room Tip: Room 17 - Julie Bullette, amazing room! Fireplace and large fluffy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbzarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I am not a big fan of bed and breakfasts, But I really enjoy small homey hotels. I love this place. Here's the deal. It's definitely quaint, maybe even a bit funky, (teddy bears on the pillows) but it has everything you need to feel more than comfortable, and they pay attention to the details; waters, toiletries, coffee, comfortable beds, sheets and all of that. Both Barbara and Jo Ellen (sp?) at the front desk treated us like we were the only guests in the hotel, and graciously addressed all of our questions. We took advantage of an incredible travel zoo offer, and didn't even have time to take advantage of all the perks they offered us. The owner of the hotel came by to greet us at dinner (great food for a one street town). She sincerely wanted us to feel welcome, and know that we were enjoying our stay. The dining room might be a bit understaffed, but just relax, and enjoy the caring hospitality. There are so few places like this; there will be a time when they don't exist anymore. On another note: if you are traveling from the bay area, it's an easy drive there, and then an easy drive down to Yosemite in the morning.

Room Tip: Just ask them when you make a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Guy-415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
441 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is our second visit to the Groveland Hotel and both have been excellent. The owner, who went to school with Elvis (yes, THE Elvis) is very present and attentive making sure that the guests are happy.

We had been talking about returning ever since our first visit late last March. In our many years of visiting Yosemite, we were resigned to very mediocre food except in the main dining room at the Ahwahnee. The restaurant at the Groveland Hotel is a major exception and a good bargain. We went this time one night and enjoyed the Easter dinner -- a choice of different appetizers, entrees and desserts. The lamb is wonderful and the cakes for dessert were fantastic. The chocolate cake was moist and tasted of rich chocolate. (I hate dark colored chocolate cakes that taste like nothing.) The carrot cake was also perfect. Breakfast is included and is a feast including wonderful hot cinnamon rolls.

The rooms are cozy. The sheets are excellent -- very smooth. The bathrooms are small, but work well with powerful showers.

During our visit we checked out the area that was burned in last year's RIM fire. At the overlook on route 120 East of Groveland, you can see down to the river campground where the fire started. The slopes on the surrounding mountains were orange with poppies. We drove through the burned area to Hetch Hetchy. You really get a sense of how the fire hops around sparing areas and jumping the road. The burn extends to around the dam and the waterfalls in Hetch Hetchy and also past the gate on 120 into the main part of the park. The lupines and dogwood trees are also in bloom now.

Groveland is a very nice, quaint town that looks like the gold rush era town it is. The main part of town is about two blocks long.

Room Tip: Both times we have stayed in the annex in the less expensive rooms. The annex is immediately adjace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harper, Texas
Level Contributor
253 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had the pleasure of staying overnight here while attending a wedding in this quaint little town. It was delightful. From the moment we parked and saw the lovely outside seating in a cool relaxing and quiet area to the greeting by the innkeeper on our arrival it was fantastic. She insisted on escorting us to our room and as the door opened and we were greeted by two darling bears on our bed with a welcome note from the proprieter you had my attention.! The room was delightful, quaint, cozy and well outfitted for our comfort. From the lovely thick bathrobes in the closet to the attention of Bianca the housekeeper who brought a lovely container of ice we couldn't have been happier with our stay here. The elegance and attention to details that Peggy and her husband have done on their restorations are clearly visible.
We had a wonderful experience at dinner in thier dining room and the food was scrumptious! Rhonda took excellent care of us all through that meal.The fresh grilled asparagus was divine and our main courses of two different steaks were done to perfection . The garlic mashed potatoes and the potatoes augratin were both superb!
The next morning their breakfasts rival any other four star we have eaten in. Again Lorraine was very attentive and got our orders perfect without writing anything down! We had no idea that the breakfast was not only cereal, fresh fruit and pastries, all homemade by the way, but then you could order anything from omelettes to belgian waffles all included in your room price for the stay. What a treasure!
On another aside, my husband and I love animals and found it so interesting that the resident black cat with four white feet, Miss Kitty , has the run of the hotel and restaurant and was very cute. We also adored the two beagles who met us on the back porch and greeted us warmly. How wonderful to see friendly outgoing animals who mix so well with the guests. The maintenance man even went out of his way as he was going to take the beagels for a wlak to introduce us to "Groucho" what a charmer! Thank you so much to everyone for a wonderful pre=rettiremetn getaway! We will hope to return!

Room Tip: WE stayed in the Ernie room would like to try the Lola Langtry suite it looked like a fun room too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnprofessr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Every bit as good as the reviews. Charming old hotel with mountain character. Excellent, friendly service, very comfortable beds, cute rooms. Rustic but very comfortable and cozy. Adorable old mining town. We had a great time!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely relaxing retreat in the mountains. Lovingly restored old west charm with modern conveniences and excellent food. Staff was friendly and easy going. Bed was very comfortable. Nice outdoor space for reading and lounging. Too far from Yosemite for day trips; we stayed one night in the Valley then two nights here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
0.1 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
800 reviews
20.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
19.1 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
24.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,009 reviews
11.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Groveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Groveland Hotel

Property: The Groveland Hotel
Address: 18767 Main St, Groveland, CA 95321-9444
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Groveland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Groveland Hotel at Yosemite National Park is a full service Yosemite region hotel, featuring 17 award-winning guest rooms. Our Cellar Door Restaurant is a casual yet fine dining experience, with a full bar and Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence wine list. It is the perfect location for your Tuolumne River whitewater expedition, hiking, biking, horseback riding, fishing, golf at Pine Mountain Lake, or just a great place to hang out and relax. A visit to Rainbow Pool (a great local swimmin' hole) with a great bottle of wine from the Cellar Door makes for a memorable, lazy afternoon. Located on the most direct, scenic route to Yosemite National Park from the San Francisco Bay Area and Sacramento on Highway 120, Yosemite National Park's year-round northern entrance is a half hour or 23 picturesque miles from your Groveland, CA hotel. Our accommodations feature down comforters, featherbeds, private baths, delicious California cuisine, a full-service saloon, a full hot breakfast included with your stay, free parking and free Wi-Fi/high-speed Internet access in all rooms. We also offer free use of a guest computer with Wi-Fi connection and the ability to print out boarding passes at the front desk. Our Tesla electric car charger is available at no charge to hotel guests. The Groveland Hotel is pet-friendly and we welcome guests from around the globe, with all budgets - families, road-weary tourists, business executives, aviation enthusiasts, rock climbers, honeymooners - with gracious Southern Hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Groveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Groveland
Groveland The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing