We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Groveland Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable bed”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The room was cozy and comfortable. Next time we will select and upstairs room though because shades on the porch open from the bottom up only so had to be kept closed to keep passer byes from looking in.
Downside is that we had only 2 tv stations. Since we chose to forego kereoke at the neighboring bar it left little else for entertainment. Since the charged an extra $4.50 on the bill for erroneous power charges it seemed reasonable to expect them to offer up a credit for lack of television. When I suggested utterly the woman said she was filling in and would pass the request to the front desk manager on Monday. I don't have high hopes but will update this review if that happens.
The hotel restaurant food was out of thus world fabulous!!! Definately worth it!

Room Tip: Stay upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    172
    79
    49
    41
See reviews for
80
336
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

It was a Saturday and we were on our way to Yosemite and, as we had no reservations for accommodation, decided it might be a good idea to stay in Groveland.

This was a good decision. It turns out Groveland is the last bastion of civilsation before Yosemite about 25 miles away.

While there's Buck Meadows 11 miles further on, Buck Meadows isn't a town, just a location with only a diner and **petrol (** gasoline).

Securing accommodation turned out to be a bit tricky - Groveland has no 'chain' motels. This is likely as, we were told, Groveland is snowed in for many months of the year.

Instead there are a couple of quaint-looking old buildings where bed and breakfast or rooms are available. The problem is, they're few in number.

We checked just about everywhere in town but found them all to be fully booked. We lucked-in at The Groveland Hotel and got a room for just one night.

Our room here was $179 plus tax - taking the cost to about $200. (We were told that as Groveland is closed for so many months the town has to 'make it's living' during the other time. I suppose a reasonable argument for the astonishing cost which at least included vouchers for credits to go towards the cost of breakfast, (which ended up costing nothing), and an evening meal in the dining room - which we didn't use. Instead we went to the Iron Door Salooon next door - that's another review)

At least we got a couple of teddy-bears to cuddle during the night - (see pics) and while everything was a bit ancient it seemed clean and it solved our Saturday night accommodation problem.

Our room was small with 2 single beds. The mattresses were about a mile deep and could cause sea-sickness - but hey!, there was no option - we thought.

The people were freindly - and there's a bar. (But we preferred the Iron Door Saloon, next door).

Surprisingly, none of the places we checked deemed to tell us about the Groveland Motel about 100 yards away that only charged us $92 a night. We found it onurselves on our search for accommodation and we had no trouble getting a cabin for another 4 nights. But that also is another review.

So, to sum up - pricey but adequate - but if I ever return I'll choose the Groveland Motel.

** The fuel station in Buck Meadows was mostly unattended when we was there - but if you can use a card fuel is still available 24 hours. If you expect to use other than a card you'll be unlucky. Also, there's no fuel at Yosemite other than a similar station which was NEVER open while we was there but you can use a card 24 hours.

Probably best to take on fuel in Groveland - the stations are on the outskirts of town as you come in on the way to Yosemite.

FYI

If you're going to Yosemite - Groveland is about 25 miles away from the park entrance - which, itself, is about another half-an hour's drive away from the park itself.

Allow an hour's driving from Groveland and make sure you have sufficient fuel for the return journey.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the room(s) with single beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denboa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very cute, clean, and comfortable. The staff were very friendly; the owner even came over on a Sunday morning to jump our car after the battery died. Good food and beautiful location just outside Yosemite park!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Friendly Service from the get go! Just driving through and the architectural from the outside caught our eye. We decided to stay and fell in love with the whole antic get up.The restaurant had great food and the bar had an excellent Dirty Martini. We will most definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for the owner, Peggy.....She will definitely make you feel welcomed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandvoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed 1 night at the Groveland during our road trip from Las Vegas to San Francisco. We had no reservations but the friendly Eunice from frontdesk helped us so kindly that we felt welcome from the start. The room we stayed in was maybe a little small but nicely decorated with antique furniture and had the best shower ever!! We really enjoyed our dinner outside on the terrace. There is a small bar at the hotel where we had some drinks and had some nice conversations with the lady who owns the hotel. All together we had a very pleasant stay!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Spent two nights at this lovely grand Victorian hotel. Room was small but clean and the innkeeper, Peggy, and her helpful staff of Barbara, Eunice, Lorraine, and Kim were all so warm and welcoming. After two days of hiking Yosemite, we enjoyed a glass of wine on the front porch. Had wonderful meals at the restaurant next door. Enjoyed sitting outside and eating a gourmet meal and the pleasant weather. Only real negative was the hot and cold faucets worked but when you turned on the shower knob, the water was either too cold or hot. It is at least a 30 minute drive to Yosemite park from the hotel, but it was so nice to return back to after a long day of hiking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel away from the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Yosemite National Park is amazing. The natural beauty of the valley, rock formations and lush forest is just waiting to be discovered. To reach the most popular section of the park is quite a long drive, which is why you should start the final leg of the journey after a good night's rest and a hearty breakfast at the Groveland Hotel, about one hour (48mi/78km) West of the valley.

This historic hotel is a tranquil destination in itself. Where you can step back in time and enjoy a very peaceful escape surrounded by antiques and soft furnishings with many modern conveniences; in room TV, free WiFi, a cozy bar, and gourmet meals either in the dinning room, or out the back under shade trees and umbrellas. The staff are friendly and attentive, the food is delicious.

The town of Groveland is right there, just a few steps away. Enjoy the funky Espresso shop, the biker bar, or the tea room, shop for antiques, or even get your car washed!

And don't forget to pet the hotel's tuxedo "Momma Cat" who welcomes visitors to the patio.

Room Tip: The front parlor rooms are very nice but right on Highway 120. Perhaps the upstairs room are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
20.4 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
0.1 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
19.1 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
11.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Groveland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Groveland Hotel

Property: The Groveland Hotel
Address: 18767 Main St, Groveland, CA 95321-9444
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Groveland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Groveland Hotel at Yosemite National Park is a full service Yosemite region hotel, featuring 17 award-winning guest rooms. Our Cellar Door Restaurant is a casual yet fine dining experience, with a full bar and Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence wine list. It is the perfect location for your Tuolumne River whitewater expedition, hiking, biking, horseback riding, fishing, golf at Pine Mountain Lake, or just a great place to hang out and relax. A visit to Rainbow Pool (a great local swimmin' hole) with a great bottle of wine from the Cellar Door makes for a memorable, lazy afternoon. Located on the most direct, scenic route to Yosemite National Park from the San Francisco Bay Area and Sacramento on Highway 120, Yosemite National Park's year-round northern entrance is a half hour or 23 picturesque miles from your Groveland, CA hotel. Our accommodations feature down comforters, featherbeds, private baths, delicious California cuisine, a full-service saloon, a full hot breakfast included with your stay, free parking and free Wi-Fi/high-speed Internet access in all rooms. We also offer free use of a guest computer with Wi-Fi connection and the ability to print out boarding passes at the front desk. Our Tesla electric car charger is available at no charge to hotel guests. The Groveland Hotel is pet-friendly and we welcome guests from around the globe, with all budgets - families, road-weary tourists, business executives, aviation enthusiasts, rock climbers, honeymooners - with gracious Southern Hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Groveland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Groveland
Groveland The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing