We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fairly good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yosemite Ridge Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yosemite Ridge Resort
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fairly good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Cabin was basic, but clean, plenty of hot water. There is also a shower block on site and laundrette.The only small gripe was the sofa bed it was not very comfortable, but was ok just for a couple of nights.
The Restaurant/bar served good food and was not too expensive. There are a couple of cafe's and bars serving food in Groveland village that were good and a decent supermarket for your provisions.
The location of the resort is about 10km from the national park entrance.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkieinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    54
    32
    10
    9
See reviews for
117
67
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Very cute accommodations - we stayed in early June with a group of friends, and again in mid July with friends and family. I am planning on returning to Yosemite again at the end of July and will definitely try to get space here before I try anywhere else.

The cabins are cute, well fitted, and comfortable. What sets the ridge resort apart is its super friendly staff (at the store and also Joe) and the care that goes into prepping each unit before you arrive.

My favorite is the Miner's Cabin - newly renovated, very comfortably fitted, clean and comfortable. Joe and his team have an eye for detail that helps set your stay experience apart from any other comparable accommodation options available.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nainashehzeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

When we decided to go to Yosemite. We had no idea how hard it was to camp in the park. When we failed to get a spot in the park. (After seeing some of the campgrounds in the valley. I’m glad we stayed where we did.) We started searching for a place to stay. I’m glad that we found Yosemite Ridge Resort. Yosemite Ridge Resort is owned and operated by a friendly man that goes by the name Yosemite Joe. He came by our campsite the first day we were there. He just wanted to make sure everything was good and if we needed anything. He talked to us about some local spots we might want to check out as well. We had wanted to do a little fishing as well as seeing as much as possible for our week there. He also owns the restaurant nearby named Buck Meadows. The campground was clean. The staff was always helpful. Joe even helped us out with a special place to take the kids swimming. The normal spot “ Rainbow Pool” was a little crazy for the little ones with all the snowmelt. We just couldn’t have been happier with our experience at Yosemite Ridge Resort. Thank you Joe for a great vacation…

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dspeerstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We couldn't handle the horrible smell from the water, so we washed with bottled water. The place was reasonably nice for a family if they would find a way to filter the water; but at this price, you should be able to take a shower.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arden1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yosemitejoe2, Owner at Yosemite Ridge Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
After reading your review I have to apologize as you are right and we dropped the ball. When you were here in June we were not yet full each night as we are now. We are on well water and it is filtered going into each cabin. The problem is that there was nobody in that cabin for the four nights prior to your stay. When the water sits in the hot water heater for more than 2 days or so it does develop a smell from the high iron and manganese content. Normally our maintenance people drain the 20 gallon heater every other day when it isn't occupied. Obviously they missed this in your cabin and I'm sorry.

To others who may be considering staying with us, this is a good example of a problem which could have been solved in 15 minutes, by draining and refilling the hot water heater, had we known. We have 2 maintenance people and myself who live on site and are available any time to address a problem. Our main goal is the comfort and enjoyment of our guests. If we aren't told of a problem we can't fix it. Why make yourself miserable for your whole stay and then complain after leaving, when if you just say something we can resolve it immediately.

Please give us a chance to fix it when it occurs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Habra, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

We had planned to spend most of our time In Yosemite Valley. Since our 5th wheel trailer was too long for the sites in Yosemite Valley we found the site and location at Yosemite Ridge Resort to be perfect. It took about 45-60 minutes on Hwy 120 to drive from the Yosemite Ridge down into Yosemite Valley, but the drive was very scenic with a lot of places to pull over and enjoy the views if you wanted.

Owner Joe rode up on his bike to meet us and see how things were going, and we let him know how happy we were with the RV park and our shady (thanks to some beautiful oak trees) site. Dave, the facilities maintenance man, and his dog Blue were very friendly and helpful. Blue kept our little dog company and Dave gave us some great advice on when to visit the Valley and, because of the summer crowds, when not to go into the Valley. He also took time to bring over some maps and help us plan our travel route home. There was also plenty to see when we traveled the opposite direction down into nearby Jamestown, Sonora and Columbia. We also enjoyed a delicious dinner at the onsite diner with plenty of food and friendly service.

We look forward to staying here again next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjpasillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

Great location 10 minutes from the park gates, beautiful campground, clean restrooms and showers, friendly employees, convenient restaurant close by with good food, highly recommend. Yosemite Joe and his staff was a lot of help with planning our day trips.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tcmchavez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

We had a very nice time at this rv park. There were three RV's in our group and we were able to stay together in a group. It is a very nice, quiet and clean park!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mddodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
11.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
9.9 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
15.7 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
#4 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Ridge Resort

Property: Yosemite Ridge Resort
Address: 7589 State Highway 120, Groveland, CA 95321-9747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 43 acre resort, located in The Stanislaus National Forest, in Buck Meadows(pop.50) is only 12 miles to the western entrance to Yosemite National Park and only 11 miles from the picturesque town of Groveland. We are the closest lodging and dining to the meeting place for all of the river rafting companies on the Tuolumne River. We offer daily and weekly rates on Cabins, Garden Cottages and full hookup RV sites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yosemite Ridge Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing