We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing option for lodging outside of the park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yosemite Ridge Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Northern California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing option for lodging outside of the park”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We just returned from Labor Day Weekend with our Fifth Wheel Trailer at this resort. I cannot say enough good things about this place. If you do not need to camp within the park and do not mind a 30-40 minute drive to the park gates, this is an excellent option. The cabins at the park looked really nice and clean, but we didn't see the inside. We were only 1 of about 4 other trailer campers in the place. It was really nice and quiet and those that were there were all really nice and fun. The full hookups are great and they also provide you with a Satellite TV connection. Even if you have a satellite on your trailer, you won't be able to connect here because of the trees etc. so the connection cable was a lifesaver. The staff is all super helpful and kind and the onsite general store and gas station is really convenient. There is a restuarant with Wifi about 500 yards down the road and a swimming hole 5 minutes away. Groveland is about 20 minutes away and they have an awesome saloon (Iron Door Saloon) that is worth visiting for drinks and eats. Lastly, my husband used the showers and bathroom and raved about how clean and nice they were. This is a great option for the Yosemite area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dontquityourdaydream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    55
    32
    10
    10
See reviews for
120
68
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed in a travel trailer, so I can't say anything about what was going on in the cabins. We had the coveted camp spot #15. The sites here have full hookups which was awesome! Our site was a nice spot up on a hill by itself with a little lower yard and a small peach tree. Bob, the groundskeeper, turned on the sprinkler so we minded the sprinkler the rest of the week because we saw when it had been freshly watered, lots of birds would come to eat. We did a lot of bird watching. There were beautiful oak woodpeckers and blue birds that liked to eat on the premature peaches. Suzi in the office is a doll! There is a general store so if you are needing something it will likely be there. Next door is a restaurant that is owned by Joe who also owns the campground and I believe the motel next door. There is no cell service or wireless unless you go to the restaurant or motel and then it is very spotty. That was fine with me since I was wanting to enjoy nature. The campground was nice and quiet. Up the road a bit is the Rainbow Pool, which is a waterfall and pooled area. It is really pretty, but we never could find a time when it wasn't occupied by many. The campground is close to Yosemite so you can easily drive there, and I would guess much less expensive camping. There isn't a huge selection of restaurants in the area, only one in Buck Meadows and few more in Groveland so don't expect much that way. The staff at the Buck Meadows restaurant was great and we got to know them pretty well. We didnt want to leave but had to get back home. It is a great area and we are definitely returning.

Room Tip: If you are camping ask for #15
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelngav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This was an awesome place. We stayed in a Family Cabin and you can't beat the value! When we arrived, in the midst of 90-degree heat. Thankfully, the cabins had a/c, and the units were going full tilt. We stayed 5 nights with two parents (thanks for the private BR!), and a 10-yo boy, 12-yo boy, 15-yo boy, and 21-yo college-student daughter. This cabin was great for us--private, economical, the fridge held a week's worth of groceries from Oakdale, and we never would have found out about Rainbow Pool without their recommendation. The cliff jumping was amazing: 25 feet with an overhang and deep pool to land in. My daughter did back flips!

A few quibbles: no cell coverage meant when my daughter and son hiked in the park we could only be reached through the front desk, and that didn't work for us. There is Verizon coverage 2 miles east and AT&T coverage 10 miles west in Groveton, but that's a hike. Best bet for ATT 4G coverage is Foresta in the Park. No wireless, either, but that's not why we came to Yosemite. The location is perfect: an hour from the valley, 90 minutes from Tolumne Meadows, 40 minutes from Hetchy Hetchy--you really can access almost the whole park quite easily, except for the Mariposa Grove--but you can combine a trip there with Glacier Point.

I would definitely stay here again--the location, the quality of the lodging, and the people really make this the best value I could find!

Room Tip: Family cabins are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank douglas_t_2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed over the labor day weekend in the RV park space #7, it was by far the best weekend we have had in a long time, the park was very clean,their was nicely kept grass at each camp spot, that is something you usually do'nt get in an RV park. The staff was very friendly and very helpfull, if you had any question about Yosemite or surrounding attraction they could point you in the right direction. In my opinion this is by far the best RV park around the yosemite area, we camp quit a bit up in that area and they are #1 in my book. On a scale of 1-10 they get a 10

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed in the Miner's cabin. There are four of us, my husband and 17 year old twins. My husband and son slept in the bedroom, and my daughter and I slept on the futon in the living room. We appreciated finding this cabin as we made late reservations, and were pleased to find anything so close to the entrance of Yosemite. The queen bed is really a futon, and not very comfortable. The futon in the living room is double sized, so smaller than the one in the bedroom. It seemed ok for my daughter and I, although it took us awhile to figure out how to set it up. The cushion behind the futon, that we needed to use once we put the bed together, was very dusty. The pillows were very flat. The cleanliness of the cabin was marginal. It was just ok. It's a cabin after all so we didn't expect perfection. I agree with prior reviewers that the shower head is very low. The front porch was very nice and we did enjoy sitting out there. The Miners cabin sits back away from the other cabins and RV sites, and has some nice trees around it. It worked just fine for our needs. It is a bit of drive once you get into Yosemite, to the Valley, but if you don't want to or are unable to stay in the park, there isn't much else this close to the entrance. One note - we ate at the Buck Meadows restaurant and it was a HORRIBLE experience. Don't waste your time or money there. The service was awful, but then, that's a different review!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelsColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yosemitejoe2, Owner at Yosemite Ridge Resort, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thank you for your comments.
Everyone here appreciates constructive criticism and we do act on it. You are correct that the queen bed was a futon. We have replaced it with a regular queen bed with a mattress and box spring. We try to put extra pillows in each cabin as I know the feeling of not having your head elevated enough while sleeping. Unfortunately, they seem to disappear quickly and I have mentioned this to housekeeping.

Yours was the second comment we've had regarding the showerhead and we have raised it 12 inches which should accomodate all of our guests, regardless of height.

I'm glad you enjoyed the large porch as I think it is the nicest in the park and I'm sorry you had a bad experience in our restaurant. I am making some major personnel changes this year which I think will really help when we are so busy in midsummer. Also, we are adding a large patio off the bar which should relieve some of the congestion inside.

Again, thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again when you head this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinole, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This was our 3rd Annual Yosemite Motorcycle Road Trip to Yosemite. There were 16 motorcycles and a SUV. We rented 5 Family Cottages at Yosemite Ridge. Yosemite Joe had everything set from the cabins to reservations at Buck Meadows Restaurant for 20 people. The cabins were great! The place is always clean and ready for a wonderful stay. The place is perfectly situated between Groveland and Yosemite Valley. We found the swimming hole with the waterfall and the kids had a blast! Fishing was ok but the swimming hole is a must next year! We had dinner at the restaurant on one night and a GREAT BBQ on the 2nd night.The BBQ pits were clean and ready to use. The picnic tables sat everyone. Everyone that was new to our group this year had a wonderful time and can't wait until next year. Thank you Joe for a wonderful stay!!! I'll be calling in the spring to reserve cabins for our 4th Annual trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quaijai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This is a site with all the basic amenities. We found the two garden cottages clean, as were the toilets, shower and washroom blocks. There is all that was necessary for what was really just somewhere to sit with friends or sleep. The security issue is common to any 'mobile home' based accommodation; just don't leave items of value there. The nearby restaurant does good, basic food. The staff, throughout, were helpful and Joe was very considerate over a very (9month) early booking from the UK. He even e-mailed to confirm around 14 days before arrival! The location is ideal for one or more trips into Yosemite, being just a short drive outside the park. Prices for accommodation (and fuel) much more realistic.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscarEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
11.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.7 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
9.9 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
#4 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Ridge Resort

Property: Yosemite Ridge Resort
Address: 7589 State Highway 120, 7589 State Hwy. 120, Groveland, CA 95321-9747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 43 acre resort, located in The Stanislaus National Forest, in Buck Meadows(pop.50) is only 12 miles to the Northwest entrance to Yosemite National Park and only 11 miles from the picturesque town of Groveland. We are the closest lodging and dining to the meeting place for all of the river rafting companies on the Tuolumne River. We offer Cabins, Garden Cottages and full hookup RV sites. We have on site the following amenities: Restaurant, Market, Gasoline, Propane, Laundromat, Swimming pool and playground. Also horseshoes, tetherball, basketball and water volleyball. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yosemite Ridge Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing