We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yosemite Ridge Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing special.”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The lady in the store who checked us in was not particularly friendly. When I asked a few basic questions like where we could go swimming, it felt like we were wasting her time. Maybe she was just having a bad day. The site was ok, although right next to a cabin with a noisy air-conditioner. It's an acceptable option for a one night stay if the national park sites are full.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budawang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    58
    34
    10
    10
See reviews for
129
68
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had a delightful return to Yosemite Ridge Resort. There are more cabins, a play area for tots and the general store was the answer to our " I thought you packed it; no I thought you packed it!" exchange. Yes, the general store had it and more. The bed was surprisingly comfortable and the cabin as expected was spotless and well equipped for our stay. We will be back again and again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

First of all, we booked our camping spot nine months in advance, then added a night to our reservation three months in advance. When we checked in we were given teeny site #14, which is not in the campground, rather squeezed between the laundry room and the caretaker's house. Also it faces Highway 120 which has tons of traffic all day long. When we questioned how we would fit our trailer and truck, we were told to just park our truck in front of the laundry room. We asked for a different site in the campground and were told there was not availability. Then we asked to be on a list to be moved if possible and were told that we would be, but never heard another word about that. Our slide out faced a fence, there was nary even one tree which overworked our ac, the grass (new sod, we heard) was soaking wet and mushy the first day, and the bright laundry room light shined into our window all night every night (except for the one night the power went out).
So, with this start, we weren't happy campers. However, we decided if we just stayed upset we would not have a good time. And we were on vacation to have a good time.
Now for the positives. The price was reasonable for the area. The location of the resort worked perfectly for our needs. It was nice having a restaurant nearby. We met some interesting people and all the employees were nice. The restrooms were clean and the showers worked well. The laundry room (very close by for us!) was inexpensive and convenient. We didn't meet or see the famous Joe.
We did enjoy ourselves at Yosemite Ridge and were gone touring most of the day. We toasted the traffic with beer, watched people get gas and diesel, and gave directions to the restroom.

Room Tip: Try NOT to get #14.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kjane54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Great experience! We stayed 4 nights and found this park to be very clean and nice. Very nice landscape with plenty of trees and grass along with nature’s beauty was spectacular.

The park personnel were very helpful and just great. Bob, the maintenance guy, was very helpful and quick to meet our needs with a slight satellite issues we encountered. I have never had someone respond so quickly. The owner, Joe, came by one evening while we were playing cards at the picnic table just to see how we were enjoying our stay – it was a pleasant surprise to see an owner care so much!!! Suzy, in the little store, was so happy and bubbly – she made me laugh everything I came in for some Big Stick popsicles.

Since it was my boyfriend’s first trip to this area, we were in need of a centrally located place to stay. This park fit the bill as a hub for exploring the area. Rainbow pools is just a quick 5 minutes down the road, Yosemite gate is 20, Buck Meadows which has a great super market is just 15 and BEST YET, Yosemite Ridge has a wonderful restaurant! We took advantage of both cooking and enjoying someone else cook for us 

We stayed in the Lodge Pole cabin and I cannot say enough about how beautiful it was - all natural wood and lodge pole furnishings with a 32” flat screen LCD. It had a master bedroom, bunk beds and a loft which was great. There were 4 adults and we were very comfortable. The outdoor grill that is provided was great for cooking our yummy steaks.

We will be back for sure. Planning an even BIGGER trip in May so we can white water raft as well! Can’t wait!

Misty & Shawn, San Diego, CA

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MistyDHume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linkoping, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Yosemite was our first stop on a road trip around the southwest corner of the U.S. Unfortunately, we were quite late in booking accommodations, so I was quite worried we wouldn't find anything reasonably priced and close enough to the park that we could easily go into the park for the day. Luckily, I was wrong.

The accommodations are simple but adequate. We weren't going to do anything but sleep there in any case, so the important factors were that the AC worked (it was very hot while we were there), that there were enough beds (we were 5), and that I could make coffee in the morning. All of this was covered well!

The name might lead some to think it's more than it is. It's not a resort in the big-pool-and-drinks-with-umbrellas sense of the word. It's a reasonable night's sleep relatively near Yosemite.

The restaurant nearby (you can walk there) is Buck Meadows Restaurant. They serve good food and excellent pies! There aren't any other alternatives unless you drive.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Partain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We loved our stay in the little cabins. It was perfect for what we wanted and both well shaded and quiet.
It was well maintained and was equipped with a small fridge, tv and coffee making facilities.
The sofa/ coach was the pull out bed, but didn't make any difference in the quality of our sleep. The only thing I would say is that the AC unit was fairly loud, but as it was reasonably shaded it wasn't needed to be switched on all the time anyway! It was a further hour to the valley of the park, but for the price we paid and the beauty of the drive it was not a problem. I would also recommend the nearby restaurant ( a walk away), great food!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We started camping outside of Yosemite several years ago with our trailer as it is difficult to find spots for large groups of campers inside the park. We tried several of them and found Yosemite Ridge to be the best and have came back every year since. The place is well shaded and quite. The staff goes out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and the owner always stops by to check on us as well. They have a nice store with fuel pumps, and you can walk to a nearby restaurant if you dont feel like cooking. A Directv box is also included if you need one.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen8540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
11.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
9.9 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
450 reviews
15.7 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
811 reviews
23.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
18.9 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Ridge Resort

Property: Yosemite Ridge Resort
Address: 7589 State Highway 120, 7589 State Hwy. 120, Groveland, CA 95321-9747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 43 acre resort, located in The Stanislaus National Forest, in Buck Meadows(pop.50) is only 12 miles to the Northwest entrance to Yosemite National Park and only 11 miles from the picturesque town of Groveland. We are the closest lodging and dining to the meeting place for all of the river rafting companies on the Tuolumne River. We offer Cabins, Garden Cottages and full hookup RV sites. We have on site the following amenities: Restaurant, Market, Gasoline, Propane, Laundromat, Swimming pool and playground. Also horseshoes, tetherball, basketball and water volleyball. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yosemite Ridge Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing