We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, close to the park, really helpful staff!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yosemite Ridge Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We arrived with low expectations, but were pleasantly surprised at what a cool place this is. We booked to stay in the cabins at $100 a night, which is very reasonable for this area due to the lack of accommodation in and around the park. The lodge was about the size of a small RV or large caravan/winnebago, air conditioned and had a shower, small kitchen area and sitting area. The store has everything you could need for your stay and more. The resort is half an RV park and half a lodge/cabin resort, but it works very well.

We did have some problems with our neighbours on the first night in terms of their behaviour and noise, which wasn't the fault of the resort. We complained the next day and the owner 'Joe' was very helpful, and moved us with no extra cost. It's rare to see that kind of customer service, well done guys! Would highly recommend staying here!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Yosemite Ridge Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

This campground is exceptionally clean and very quiet. The park was full but still very calm and peaceful. Nice laundry and camp store. Close to 120 entrance to yosemite. Staff very helpful about roads and directions. Easy access to Groveland.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank gmabev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had the privilege of camping with our trailer at Yosemite Ridge just last weekend and really enjoyed it. I'm glad we stayed here instead of the other RV site since this was waaaay nicer. All the sites are really nice, clean and organized with plenty of trees. Even though the place was full, it never felt crowded since everything was spread out surprisely for a small campground. We especially liked the mom & pops style and its so well maintained as you can tell they take pride in their campgrounds. It's great for multiple families get togethers since you can choose between cabin and RV sites. There's useable playground (not some abandoned ghetto site) for kids, roads to cruise on bikes and not to mention a general store with all amenities you might need. Also there's a short walking trail takes you to popular restaurant where we had breakfast.

Additionally we had snafu with our truck hitch breaking during our trip. Since it broke over the weekend, no one was available to repair (it was really stressful calling around everywhere). However, the owner generously allowed us to park our trailer for the week on side lot which we were really grateful so we could properly get our truck fixed near home and not have to take time off work. This saved us a lot of stress and also money as he could easily have charged us a storage fee.

We are glad we found this gem and plan to return next year. It might become our new family tradition.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank S c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The path to the top of the hill behind the resort is much more defined and very easy to follow. Good sneakers or hiking shoes recommended plus a suggestion to hike / walk it around 10 AM. The distance is not far as you zig zag back and forth. The underbrush still shows signs of last year's scorching, but don't let bother you. As you stand at the base of the old tower, you can appreciate the canyons below and a sight line that allows you to see into Yosemite Valley. I wish I had thought to bring binoculars with me to enjoy it better!)

Back at the Resort, the Club House is on the verge of being open and the comfortable tables, chairs, pool table and ping pong table adds a place for groups that RV together to congregate. While we there, a wedding took place out in the oval under a late afternoon crystal blue sky and party afterwards had attendees enjoying a catered dinner buffet and dancing. A full house with the resort back to quiet by 10 PM.

We stayed in one of the Cabins and the trick we found to keeping it cool was to run the AC all day long and at night, the air outside was cool enough to allow us to sleep with the windows open and the AC off. The cabin came with a generous supply of soap, towels, shampoo and plenty of pots, pans, plates and dinnerware (if we felt like cooking). And when the paper products ran out, the staff quickly procured more for us.

The WIFI works if all you are in need of is to check email. It's not what I would say is fast, but it was adequate. Cell Phone Signal was erratic ....except when you were on top of the hill when I got 3 bars consistently. (Now there's a reason to take a hike!).

What will next year bring? Will have to return to find out!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank PatrickNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

After staying in the miner cabin at Yosemite Ridge Resort, I would give it a rating average at best. The paid, needed a little work on the outside. For the amount of money I paid, we saw spiders each day. I brought this to the attention of management and they did absolutely nothing. The staff is friendly, but uncooperative.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank wallace0834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Total for 2 nights was $333.
Maybe should have been 666?

The Miner’s Cabin was $149 /night and was the kind of accommodation that is usually
$49 /night.

I generally enjoy “quaint” and “rustic”. But this was just plain old and in poor condition.
And small!!!
I’ve never seen such a small air conditioner. Took 28 hours to cool the place off.
The ceiling fan was squeaky (not great for sleep).
Bathroom faucet squeals, kitchen faucet drips.

Bedroom door doesn’t close.

I live in New York City. I am familiar with small spaces and high prices.
But this place was ridiculous!
We stayed in 4 places on this trip.
The others were 10X nicer and IN Yosemite for only a few bucks more.
Despite the name, this place is NOT in the park.
So, “location” doesn’t justify the price.

Zero amenities! No housekeeping service.
What we had to go through for a bar of soap!

I don’t mind if they don’t come make the bed.
But don’t charge like you’re providing something.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Excalibur_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

One of the only RV/Camper spots near Yosemite, but the bathrooms are really lacking! Lighting is terrible, the toilets were unhinged, and the showers were horrible! Yes---CFL's for lights save money, but they were so minimal, I couldn't see the string on my flossing dental tape. Every time I sat on a toilet, it would jiggle, and 2 out 3 had no toilet paper!!! Then---the showers! Out of 3 showers---one flooded in the floor (bad drain), one had a trickle of water (not usable) and one worked OK (in dim lightning). The cabins may be OK with their own bathroom facilities, but the camper bathroom facilities are not worth the $45 + site fee. Find something else, if you like a clean, useful bathroom facility.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveNancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
11.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
9.9 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
502 reviews
15.7 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
819 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
584 reviews
18.9 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Ridge Resort

Address: 7589 State Highway 120, 7589 State Hwy. 120, Groveland, CA 95321-9747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Groveland
Price Range: £74 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 43 acre resort, located in The Stanislaus National Forest, in Buck Meadows(pop.50) is only 12 miles to the Northwest entrance to Yosemite National Park and only 11 miles from the picturesque town of Groveland. We are the closest lodging and dining to the meeting place for all of the river rafting companies on the Tuolumne River. We offer Cabins, Garden Cottages and full hookup RV sites. We have on site the following amenities: Restaurant, Market, Gasoline, Propane, Laundromat, Swimming pool and playground. Also horseshoes, tetherball, basketball and water volleyball. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yosemite Ridge Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing