We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place, Great Hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yosemite Ridge Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

We arrived on a Saturday with one teenager. Talk about hospitality! From check in it was great. We found our RV site, full hookups, gravel, level, and "Dave" the cable guy hooked us up with a loaner Direct TV box for the week. Joe, (the owner) and his fiance would take their nightly walks around with their dogs greeting the newly checked in guests.
The rainbow pool was yes, a small drive (3 miles), but worth it, and not a big deal of a drive. We thought "who needs a built in pool with jumping and yelling kids?"..

We drove daily to Yosemite Valley Floor, and it took about 55 minutes. Again, no big deal.

The restrooms and showers were clean and accomodating.. rustic.

Buck Meadows Restaurant, ran by Joe was great! All the staff were accomodating and the food and prices were good.

Yes, no cell reception in the area, but Groveland is not far for that and the valley has cell reception as well. Internet was available while having breakfast at the diner..

Overall , great trip, great accomodations, and great hospitality.. We will be back Joe !

The Hardings~~~Dan, Lori, and Kelee

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loreehardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    55
    32
    10
    9
See reviews for
118
68
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

We have stayed here before and were told that the owner had up graded the facility so we tried it again. Big mistake! The new room was dirty and in need of major repairs (walls, ceilings. base boards, and insect control) Bed and couch were extremely poor condition and the ceiling fans were noisy and less than efficient. The sliding glass window had been painted. Please advise others that this is not the place for people who pay well for facilities because they will not have the comforts. Near by restaurant is excellent. There are no phones in the rooms and no cell service in this area. Hope there is no emergency.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FORWARDTRAVELERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yosemitejoe2, owner at Yosemite Ridge Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2009
Yes, we have upgraded our facility this season with new landscaping, cedar fencing and re-leveling our RV pads with laser levels. We also remodeled our showers. We continue to maintain our rental units in the best condition possible including repairs and replacement immediately as needed. Our rental units are cleaned thoroughly after guests leave and there are busy times when small things are missed such as a windowsill. We do not now nor have we ever had an "insect control problem". We have an ant problem no more or less than any other resort or lodging located in the forest. We try to find and eradicate their nests and spread granules around the cabins and also provide Raid ant spray to any guest that has a problem . We replace our mattresses every two seasons regardless of condition and more frequently if necessary. Usually this is adequate however it is hard to please everyone with one style mattress. The ceiling fans are to circulate air from the air conditioners in the living room and bedroom, not to cool. They are inspected, cleaned and lubricated on a regular basis. The sliding patio doors have been replaced as scheduled this week. They had to be ordered special and there was no paint on the old ones merely a leak between panes which allowed condensation to form giving it an opaque appearance although still clear. Many seasonal rental units don't have phones in them but there is a pay phone within 200 ft. of the cabins that allows free 911 calls. Cell phone reception is available about 10 miles away in either direction on Hwy. 120 and we are within 4 miles of both Forest Service Fire and Cal Fire stations as well as receiving an excellent response from both sheriffs and Highway Patrol. We will continue to maintain the high standards we have set for ourselves and hope to benefit from our guests constructive ideas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

It is my own fault I did not plan ahead so all the lodgings in the park itself was booked. We got a garden cottage. The price is reasonable. The accomodations are quite old, but adequate. Be sure to bring your own supplies and stock up at the Groveland general store because everything at the on site store is very expensive. My main complaint is that although the west gate is 12 miles away, Yosemite village is another 25 miles away. All the roads are windy and narrow and it takes at least an hour and 20 minutes to get to the village. That is almost 3 hours round trip! Even the rainbow pool, which is a lot of fun, is driving distance away. So I most definitely do not believe this to be a base to visit Yosemite Park.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtEverest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

I would like to thank the staff at the yosemite Ridge Resort for their very warm hospitality. We were immediately made to feel like "family." Lorraine, who checked us in, spent some time to suggest several spots that we could visit and that our children would enjoy. She even got out a map to show us, since this was our first trip to Yosemite.

During the first evening our children thoroughly enjoyed the Rainbow Pools, which is only about 3 miles from the resort. During our second day there the owner, Joe, happened to be outside our cabin as we were getting ready for site seeing and wanted to personally make sure everything was going well with our stay and our accommodations.

There were 7 of us in the party. Me, my husband, our 3 small children, and two teenagers we were hosting from Spain. We all slept fine in the garden cottage and even cooked our first meal inside. By the way, I had forgotten a couple of things at home (ketchup & maple syrup) and the prices for those items in the general store were great. But we ate most of our meals at the restaurant a few hundred yards away, and they were very friendly & accommodating to our large family.

One last little thing I thought was very nice...we accidentally got a sheet caught in one of the sofa bed hinges, and they would not let us reimburse them for it upon check-out.

Thanks to everyone at Yosemite Ridge Resort for helping make our first time to Yosemite very memorable!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4GirlsRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

We stayed in a camping cabin for a couple of nights which proved to be a perfect spot for visiting Yosemite, which takes about 15 mins to get to (40 mins to the valley floor). The cabin was small but had everything we needed and the staff at the on site shop couldn't have been nicer. Also, there's a restaurant about 100 yards up the road which does great food, nice cold beers and a dartboard. Plus there's the town of Groveland about 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3weektrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2009

Initially, since it was after dark, we had some difficulty finding the resort. However once we located it and got settled in. We fell in love with the shade and the friendliness of the staff. The RV sites are level and hookups are convenient. The resort also furnishes free receivers for the satellite system they have installed.

There is plenty of shade and you are only a short distance from the entrance to Yosemite and from Groveland.

We found the best way to reach the resort is to go through Groveland on highway 120 about 10 miles and watch for it on the left.

We will definitely come here again!

Ed and Kaye Smaltz
Brentwood, CA

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank edsmaltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Springs
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

This resort is very close to the Yosemite National Park without feeling over crowded by too many campers. The facilities were in excellent condition both the Cabins and the RV hook-ups sites. Public Restrooms and showers were very clean and convienently located. The mini mart on site had what was needed for camping and the resturant/bar was a fun relaxing time. The staff were friendly and accomodating with some of our special needs.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredMarine_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
11.9 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.7 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
9.9 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
#4 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Ridge Resort

Property: Yosemite Ridge Resort
Address: 7589 State Highway 120, Groveland, CA 95321-9747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 43 acre resort, located in The Stanislaus National Forest, in Buck Meadows(pop.50) is only 12 miles to the western entrance to Yosemite National Park and only 11 miles from the picturesque town of Groveland. We are the closest lodging and dining to the meeting place for all of the river rafting companies on the Tuolumne River. We offer daily and weekly rates on Cabins, Garden Cottages and full hookup RV sites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yosemite Ridge Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing