We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All we expected and more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Groveland B&B and Inns
Forest Hill, MD
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All we expected and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived very late and were greeted by Joe who got us to our room for a good night's sleep. Breakfast was wonderful, both the food and the company of other guests. Joe gave us great tips for visiting Yosemite and for local dining. The room was very spacious and comfortable. We would return in a heartbeat if we come back to Yosemite.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frodo1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    10
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
60
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We've decided to do a weekend trip to Yosemite and because of the last minute decision, we had trouble finding a place to stay. Most places will only allow for a 2 nights minimum stay, we were very lucky that the Cub Inn allowed us to book a night. On the day that we were suppose to arrive, we didn't make to the Inn until 11 pm and Joe waited up for us. They are very accommodating in every way.

The whole cabin is surrounded by woods and it's an ideal place to stay if you want to be at one with nature. We stayed in Char's room on the ground floor and in the morning, a large herd of deer came up and visit and hang out. In the morning, we had our coffee/tea on the deck and a lovely breakfast of eggs, fruits, blueberry pancakes and bacon. It was perfect start to the rest of the day.

This is the first time we've stayed at a bed and breakfast and we absolutely love our experience. We'll definitely be back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Char's room let you walk out to the grounds and see all the deer that comes up from the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cait N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The place is beautiful. We got a warm welcome from Joe and Charleen, and their cats and dog. I love the wooden house with big windows and the great views into the forest from the bed room and the deck. It was an extremely hot day and the indoor temperature was a great relieve. At night you can watch the stars from the deck (little light pollution). The rooms are all very quiet. In the morning Joe made us blueberry pancakes. If you have breakfast at 8 am, you can come into Yosemite before the crowd. I definitely recommend this B&B to Yosemite park visitors.

Room Tip: All room are well A/C'd, quiet and have a great view out of the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This review is long overdue as we stayed with at the Cub Inn a few months ago now, but I had to share how wonderful this bed and breakfast is and recommend it to others. My boyfriend and I stayed for three nights over a long weekend, and a couple of friends joined us on Saturday evening for one night.

The rooms: We stayed in Carla's room and our friends opted for Char's room. Our room featured an enormous bathtub big enough for two which was more than welcome after hiking around Yosemite all day. The bed was very comfortable, the room was spacious and had a separate entrance on the garden level. Char's room has a beautiful antique claw foot bathtub and a separate entrance also.

The cabin: The Cub Inn is a log cabin, exquisitely designed and decorated. I really enjoyed sitting on the couch in front of the fire, chatting with the innkeepers and the other guests over a glass of wine and cuddling with the adorable eponymous dog, Cubby. I'm allergic to pets but had no trouble at all because neither the puppy nor the kitties are allowed in the guest rooms.

The food: When we first got in after a long drive from San Francisco on Friday evening we were welcomed with a glass of wine and some cheese and bread. Each evening, Joe would check in with us to make sure the timing for breakfast would work well with our plans for the day and to confirm we were ok with the menu he had planned. Over the course of our stay, we had waffles, pancakes, and biscuits and gravy, and everything was outstanding, nutritious, and delicious. There was always hot coffee, fresh fruit, and good conversation too.

The location: Groveland is a bit far from the park but overall we were very happy we chose it as our homebase. Driving to Yosemite valley took about 45 minutes, and we spent one day in Tuolumne, which wouldn't have been any more convenient to get to had we stayed in the village. We had dinner in town one evening, which was also nice.

The hosts: Last but not least, the innkeepers, Joe and Charleen, are fantastic people and exceptionally helpful hosts. We felt very welcome and enjoyed spending time with them after long days being on the trot around the park, and Joe always had suggestions whenever we needed help finding something to do or a place to eat.

We look forward to staying at the Cub Inn again the next time we go to Yosemite.

Room Tip: Every room has a different character, look at the website or talk to the innkeepers to find the perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sciChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Cub Inn on our road trip through California. We were warmly welcomed and the room was beautiful. Each morning we were greeted with a lovely breakfast and good conversation. Not to mention the deer that also wanted to join us. It was a great location as it was an easy drive to Yosemite and wasn't far from the town centre. Our only negative was that I was unwell and that we didn't stay for long enough! We both would highly recomend the Cubb Inn, Joe and Charlene are very kind people.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Joe and Charleen's B&B for two nights and loved it. The house is bright and beautiful, Joe and Charleen are very welcoming. Joe makes a delicious breakfast (waffles with Maple syrup or biscuits & gravy!!). We were there to visit Yosemite which is not a long drive away from the B&B, and they gave us good advices on the trails we just use as we didn't had a lot of time. Their B&B is probably my favorite amongst the places we went to.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Virginie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast is a quiet but magical retreat into the beautiful Sierras. We received a very warm welcome from Joe, the innkeeper, who treated us like family during our stay. The property is within 30-45 minute drive of Yosemite Valley floor, and just far enough from the valley to provide a peaceful space away from the crowds. We enjoyed the wonderful breakfasts, giant fireplace and most of all Joe's adorable bull terrier named Cubby. A wonderful place to escape and get some rest & relaxation!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megpage13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
19.7 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
0.9 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
18.5 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.0 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 19301 Elder Ln, PO Box 470, Groveland, CA 95321-9720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful New construction log home, 5 luxury rooms, all with private bath. Very quiet, off-highway, on 3 acres of alpine forested land. Views, great food, homemade bread our specialty. Friendly hospitality. Near Yosemite, public golf course, river rafting, golf, horseback riding. Middle of California Gold Country. Fly in to local airport and we'll pick you up and provide courtesy car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing