We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my kids loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 6 Groveland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 January 2010

we stayed two night in the Cub Inn. and from the first second my two teenaged kids just loved it. The house is enormous, warm, and..... I cannot decribe it you just have to go there. My kids loved the talks and descusions they had with Joe, about everything just name it. These are the most good harted and warm people we have met. My daughter loved the cats, but the cats were not intervering with anything. If you wanted they were there.The breakfast was just subburb!!. I would love to go there again in spring time.
Best place ever!!!!. And so close to Yosemite! Yessssss , see it for your self!>

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2010

The Cub Inn is a beautiful lodge like log home with a large stone fireplace. Joe and Char instantly made us feel at home with their friendly and natural hospitality. Without our asking they instantly upgraded us to a larger room. All the rooms are cozy and clean with warm touches. The slate showers are quit impressive. We were invited for wine and cheese as Joe made a blazing fire in the fireplace. While relaxing by the fire we enjoyed the house cats and Zoey the dog, all very friendly and good natured. We slept very well on a good king bed with snuggly flannel sheets. Breakfast was a feast that held us way past lunch time. It's a great place to stay outside of Yosemite Park, we will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandtzito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

First of all, i am shocked to read a negative review about this place... Char and Joe were so nice, food was excellent... The house is beautiful! The bathrooms were actually quite large, not like stated in the previous review!

The B&B is only about 30-40 minutes from Yosemite, in a cute little town of Groveland! The Innkeepers were very knowledgeable of the park, and were a great help with deciding where and when to go! We ate and drank at the Iron Door Saloon in town (about 5 minutes), and had a great time...

I'll definitely stay here next time i go to yosemite!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildcat#7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We stayed at The Cub Inn for 4 nights in August. It's hard to add much to the other reviews - great place, very hospitable hosts, fantastic breakfast ... oh, and there is free internet everywhere - a big plus for us!

It's a bed and breakfast, but if you've not stayed in one before, don't let that put you off. Joe and Charleen are very friendly, and genuinely want you to treat the place as your home. The breakfast is great, with lots of choice and different things each day including the fantastic home-made sourdough bread mentioned by some of the other reviewers! It's all very relaxed, and in the evening, guests mingle on the deck sipping wine or ice tea and chatting. We really enjoyed meeting and talking to the other guests as there's a good variety of people coming through - we met people from Italy and Germany as well as Americans during our stay.

We stayed upstairs in one of the larger rooms, and it was lovely. As well as a comfortable bed, there was a second single bed/couch in there - the room is actually bigger than it looks on the web site photos.

Joe and Charleen have great local knowledge, and can provide lots of advice and tips about where to go in the area. Yosemite is about 30 minutes drive away, and it's another 30 minutes drive once in the park to the main Yosemite village.

One thing we'd mention - we were lucky enough to be able to spend 4 days in Yosemite, and had a fantastic time every day. Many of the people we met were just staying one night on a longer trip, and expressed some regret that they didn't have more time in the park. If you're planning a vacation in this area, our advice would be to stay more than one night here as there's so much to explore; Yosemite really is an amazing place. And of course, we'd recommend that you spend those nights in the Cub Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elrainia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Joe and Char could not have been better hosts. The Inn is about 30 minutes from the gate at Yosemite National Park. That short drive is worth the money you will save by not booking one of the overpriced lodges in the park. My wife and I have stayed in B & B's many times, but I have never had a better, or bigger, breakfast. Joe is a great cook.
The rooms are clean and have private baths. Our bath had a wonderful slate-walled shower. The setting is a new log-cabin type home. Get Joe to tell you about all the extras in the home! It is huge with a grand deck all around. Set in a wooded area, we had mule deer walk by both morning and night. It could not have been a more relaxing place. The three nights we stayed made our visit to Yosemite even better. Joe and Char are both pilots and know the area well. Great advice on where to eat and what roads to take. I hope someday to go back and see the area in winter.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamsue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

This Place is like Home away from Home. A Great Place to stay. I would recommend everyone visiting Yosemite Park and Surroundings to stay with Joe and Marlene. We had no idea where to stay when we got to this area. All downtown Hotels were sold out or way to expensive (We are talking about $350 for a night). So we got this insider tip from the Groveland Hostel to try the new Bed and Breakfast called "The Cub Inn" about a mile from downtown. It is located in the Forrest and was opened in April this year. We arrived at 9:30 p.m. and Joe seemed to be happy to see us, just like he knew us for years...The next night we had a barbecue on his huge deck, in the morning some deer showed up at the log cabin...a wonderful experience. A delicious homemade breakfast is included (try Joe's homemade bread - it's awesome. Marlene: I shared the bread with the others ;-) )

Anyway, the next time I go to Yosemite (and I will definitely come back) I will stay with Joe and Marlene again.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robertb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

...How we felt in The Cub with Joe and Charlene. The house is wonderful and Charlene and Joe are very very very special. We have been in a lot of Bed and Breakfast before and we have never felt like home, except here! The house is FANTASTIC! The rooms are so comfortoble. Everything is made with wood and stone! We completely agree with the reviews about Joe's breakfasts. They are sublime! But it is not the most important issue of the house. They have created a nice and peaceful atmosphere around the there and you can share and enjoy it. I remember the first day when we share with them and the other guests a nice talk with a cup of wine watching how Chalene fed the deers. Joe's histories are so impressed and Charlene's kindness is wonderful. We also met fantastic people there. When you go to a special place, sure you meet special people there. We totally recommend The Cub!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MabelyArturo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
0.9 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#3 of 7 in Groveland
823 reviews
19.7 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
18.5 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
590 reviews
1.0 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
11.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 19301 Elder Ln, PO Box 470, Groveland, CA 95321-9720
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Groveland
Price Range: £115 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful New construction log home, 5 luxury rooms, all with private bath. Very quiet, off-highway, on 3 acres of alpine forested land. Views, great food, homemade bread our specialty. Friendly hospitality. Near Yosemite, public golf course, river rafting, golf, horseback riding. Middle of California Gold Country. Fly in to local airport and we'll pick you up and provide courtesy car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cub Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing