We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Nearby Hotels
Rush Creek Lodge(Groveland)
US$441
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yosemite Westgate Lodge(Groveland)(Great Value!)
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$237
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aladdin Inn(Sonora)(Great Value!)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Groveland Hotel(Groveland)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Charlotte(Groveland)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,835)
Filter reviews
1,835 results
Traveller rating
1,085
537
111
58
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,085
537
111
58
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshetch hetchyzip linevintage cabinrec centergeneral storetwo bedroom cabincustom campingsirius radiobocce ballping pongrecreation arearecreation roomoutdoor fireplacesummer camphot tubrim fireboard games
Filter
Updating list...
816 - 821 of 1,835 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Everything about Evergreen Lodge made visiting Yosemite Park convenient, easy and relaxing. Although not located within the park confines, it couldn't be any closer to the entrance gate. The individual cabins we stayed in were rustic, clean, and equipped with everything (and more) we needed for a 'woods' vacation. The gas fireplace in our room kept us cozy during the cool nights and mornings! The grounds were a reminder of days camping, but with way more amenities (wooded, rustic, natural in spite of last year's near disasterous fire.) The food in the dining room was good especially the breakfasts and the General Store was sufficiently stocked with sandwiches, drinks, and snacks if you didn't want a big meal. Beautiful pool area and rec room also offered great gathering places. The Lodge offered a variety of guided tours with their very able staff who did a great job adapting to the activity levels of the group. We did an all day trip with Kate on the "Wonders of Yosemite'"- she was fabulous and knowledgeable and very enthusiastic about her love of the park! On her recommendation, we took a half day hike to Hetch Hetchy which was absolutely gorgeous! Our guide Bethany was equally as fabulous and wonderful making our exploration of Yosemite varied, extensive, and awe-inspiring for our 2 day stay! So glad we chose this property for our stay in every way!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HokieGal30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi, I’m Lee, one of the owners of the Evergreen, and I am happy to hear how much you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. It’s great to read that you had a fabulous “Wonders of Yosemite” tour with Kate, and that Bethany was equally fabulous for your hike in the gorgeous Hetch Hetchy area. Thank you for not only taking the time to share your review but also applauding Kate and Bethany. Most everyone at the property reads these reviews and they are very touched when mentioned by name. Here’s hoping we get to welcome you and your friends back for another rewarding adventure!
Cheers,
Lee Zimmerman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were in San Francisco from FL on business, & planned a trip to Yosemite for several days after that. Although the biking tours are not available due to the Rim Fire from last Fall, the Recreation Department had numerous hiking trips & other tours available. We went on a wonderful hike our first day there with Kate Samp, one of the naturalist guides, on an old abandoned stagecoach trail. They will take you to lesser-traveled trails & vistas that are not overcrowded with other tourists, and provide tons of information & history for you, as well as help you plan the rest of your stay! Kate advised us on things we could do our remaining 2 days, and we totally enjoyed doing the other hikes she recommended to us!

We did have a quiet cottage because we were not by the pool. Our private deck overlooked no one else, just a hillside, making it very quiet & peaceful. The cottage was not luxurious but was comfortable. (I give the pillows an A+, but the mattress a C-). We did take advantage of the hot tub several nights, the sunset/stargazing area, and ate 3 breakfasts there (included in the B&B package we bought) as well as 3 dinners in the tavern (which has the same menu as the restaurant). We liked the food and did not find that the prices were totally out of line (which we thought might be the case since there really isn't any place else to go). We got our lunches in the general store and ate each day out hiking (lunch is included if you go on a tour). A highlight each evening was making SMORES by the fire, provided by the lodge from 7 - 8pm.

If you need to be working while you are there, checking email & such, be prepared for the internet access in the lodge to be VERY slow or not accessible at all. I was prepared for that and did not WANT to be using so I didn't; however, my husband thought he'd have decent internet access and got very frustrated with it. My advice: enjoy the vacation & the time away & don't bother with it! We don't really need that, do we?

I would recommend the Evergreen to anyone who has some time to drive over from San Francisco, and I highly recommend going hiking with Kate Samp while you are there!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swarenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello, I’m Lee Zimmerman, one of the owners of the Evergreen Lodge. Thank you for taking the time to share so much complimentary information about our Recreation Department, and Kate in particular. I’m happy to read that you enjoyed a guided hike to lesser-traveled trails and that we were able to help you plan additional independent hikes that you enjoyed equally well. Sorry that your mattress was not as comfortable as the pillows. Know that we are installing a substantial number of new mattresses this week, so you should be more comfortable if you have a chance to visit us again. It is good of you to point out that it’s better to plan to enjoy time away from the Internet since the best we can offer in our remote location is a satellite connection that can be spotty and has limited bandwidth. Thank you for taking the time to share your thorough and thoughtful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I don't normally give unqualified rave reviews, but we had a family vacation at Evergreen in February 2014 with 9 of us, including three girls aged 10, 11 and 13. The first two nights we stayed in individual cabins, and the last three in the (fabulous!) Muir Lodge together. I was all just perfect, and I highly commend the locally sourced food, helpful and informative staff and cheerful, pleasant service. The rooms were clean and appropriately rustic. We came together from different areas (including cross-country in Maryland) and left relaxed, happy, and with wonderful memories. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank culturevulture4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi, I’m Lee Zimmerman, one of the owners of the Evergreen, and it’s great to read that your family was able to come together for a perfect family holiday with us. It makes us happy to know that all nine of you not only enjoyed the food and the service, but that you were able to build such wonderful memories with your children. Here’s hoping we get to welcome you back for another rewarding stay. Thank you for sharing your review and for making us a part of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Away from the crowds of Yosemite, but a short drive to the valley Evergreen is the perfect oasis. We loved the cabin. It was spacious and comfortable. Sean and Jeremy @ the front desk helped us plan our stay and gave us a great deal. Andrew and Eric the bartenders were very professional and personable. The menu by chef Tom was a highlight for me. The food was incredible. Very family friendly and untouched by the Rim Fire - it was so peaceful and beautiful. Will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Yosemite.

Room Tip: Our room (the Kalona area) looked out into the woods with deer.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traci A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello, I’m Lee Zimmerman, one of the owners of the Evergreen Lodge. I’m happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed a peaceful and beautiful stay with us. Chef Tommy puts his heart and soul into the menu so it’s rewarding to read that his menu was such a highlight for you. Thank you for not only taking the time to share your review but also to spotlight Sean, Jeremy, Andrew and Eric specifically. Most everyone at the property reads these reviews and is particularly energized when someone cares enough to mention their name. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next Yosemite adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have not been able to stop raving about the Evergreen since our September 2013 visit. It was part of our honeymoon road trip and suited the vibe of the Yosemite Park amazingly well. This is rustic, real, outdoorsy USA - don't expect 5 star modern rooms here or super speedy wifi - and why would you want those things when surrounded by nature like this. We came here right after our stay at a 4 star hollywood hotel and still weren't disappointed with our small vintage cabin - it was clean and cosy - all we needed.

The restaurant here served absolutely superb food, some of the best of our USA trip - and the pool area with jacuzzi was perfect after a long day's hike.

The best thing about it I felt was the recreation areas in amongst the beautiful pines. We are really looking forward to coming back here one day with kids, theres so much to do - my husband LOVED the smores at night!

Would definitely recommend to anyone. It's only about 20-30 minutes to drive to the Yosemite Valley floor if I remember correctly - maybe I was too busy staring at the amazing scenery :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LandyAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Evergreen_Lodge, Owner at Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello, I’m Lee, one of the owners of the Evergreen, and I’m delighted to read that you and your husband enjoyed your time with us so much. Thank you for sharing your photos as well. I can see what you mean about your husband enjoying the nightly s’mores, though I’m a bit worried by the look on his face that you may have beat him at ping pong. You were definitely taken by the scenery on the drive to the Valley floor; it’s usually about a 45 minute drive. Many thanks for including us in your honeymoon road trip and for taking the time to share your review.
Congratulations to you both,
Lee Zimmerman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews