We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our entire family attended my son's wedding. It appealed to my California family and friends and my New York family and friends. We could not have been happier. The Lodge is a beautiful place to bring the entire family. We would go back again and again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the glorious John Muir House, but the Deluxe cabins were very nice too.
See more room tips
Green Features: The Evergreen is very eco-friendly. They ask guests to reuse towels, etc and have recycle bins in the John Muir House.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenFitzpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    488
    104
    53
    41
See reviews for
630
664
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prospect, Kentucky
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Luxury camping at it's best. As other reviewers mentioned, the Evergreen Lodge is a bit rustic (no a/c) but the cabins are immaculately clean. The staff is friendly and attentive. Location is perfect for those that are interested in visiting the Yosemite Valley. They also have numerous activities on-site for those that wish to stay closer to home. A wonderful playground is located on-site that includes a mini-zip line, rope bridge, and slide made from wood. Each evening they offer complementary smores, which is a wonderful opportunity to meet other guests. The food is fantastic and very reasonably priced given guests are somewhat of a captive audience. We will definitely be visiting Evergreen Lodge again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenSchoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Outwardly rustic, but lacking for nothing if you can break away from TV & internet for the duration. Our cabin was comfy & impeccably clean; the staff truly makes you feel welcome; the restaurant a pleasant surprise.
Don't let the Groveland address throw you as the lodge is just 6 mi from a park entrance and a Mike from Hetch Hetchy.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Char95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Could have stayed here for a week. Perfect base for Yosemite break (although bear in mind it is a 30 min drive into the valley). Amazing facilities (pool, hot tub, recreation centre, table tennis, pub, restaurant). Nice atmosphere and mix of people. Food was good (huge portions). Staff v friendly/helpful. Arta white water rafting was great too. We did the romance package which is good value. Hope we will return one day.

Room Tip: We were in Wapama 12 which had a great view into the woods
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chgrove85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Lovely cabins in a great location just outside the park. It was a very relaxing stay. The food in the restaurant was fantastic, and all the staff very friendly and helpful. Stayed there 3 nights, but wish it had been longer. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CynthiaH1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
167 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I loved our stay here! the first night we stayed in a tent.. I have been camping before and was surprised to have a "turn key" ready tent with mattress, sheets, towels and chairs! our tent was around others but everyone was respectful and it never was loud. The bath house was clean and roomy.. had ample bear lockers and picnic area.
The rest of our time here we stayed in a cabin.. it was comfortable full bed and bunk beds 3 piece bathroom..
The property was beautiful and offered a lot of activities.. a small store, a bar a restaurant.. a large game room lots of outdoor areas to sit and relax..
With a 5 year old and a 15 year old it was nice to not have phone service, TV's... just true family time! I would stay here again if I had the chance!
It was a little far from Yosemite but the drive was beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haup88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We spent two nights here just before Easter 2014 and stayed in a one bed cottage - the kids were in fold out beds. The beds basically take over the living room area when folded out but don't let that worry you as you will be out and about all day and the staff will put them away and fold them out at bedtime.
This accommodation is simple, somewhat rustic but if you set your expectation for a small timber lodge you will enjoy it. The kids loved the pool, zip wire, smores, meeting other kids and the pool tables. Food and service in the restaurant were good / OK rather than great. At half capacity there seemed to be a degree of stress in finding a table and server at breakfast time. Again set your expectations and it will be fine. There had been a major forest fire which came to within feet of the Lodge. Unfortunately a lot of the immediate vicinity has suffered and acres of blackened trees adjoin the lodge (see photo). I'd say don't let it put you off on balance.
The kids (and adults) were blown away by Yosemite - the impact was really great to see. They had seen nothing quite like it (there isn't!) but I was unsure whether they would fully appreciate it but they did. On our first day we toured the main valley, stayed mostly on the flat but covered a good bit of ground walking. We used the bus for some of the getting around rather than driving and parking so many times. Evergreen had good advice on an itinerary - suggest you engage and take their advice. Our second day we toured Hetch Hetchy - well worth it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
14.9 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
14.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
#4 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
21.5 mi away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321-9772
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evergreen Lodge is a newly expanded full-service historic resort featuring 88 spacious cabins in the woods. The lodge sits on 20 acres just a mile from Yosemite National Park in California, putting top attractions - Yosemite Valley, Tuolumne Meadows and Hetch Hetchy - in easy reach. At the lodge, savor a delicious meal, kick back in the classic tavern and enjoy other amenities, including Evergreen's sun deck, game room, kids play areas, nightly activities and therapeutic massage. Ready for adventure? Evergreen's professional guide service offers a variety of sightseeing, hiking, biking, fly fishing and snowshoeing tours, as well as free planning advice for self-guided adventures. A Frommer's 'Favorite' and 'Highly Recommended' by Fodor's, the Evergreen provides the perfect mix of recreation, relaxation and indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel At Yosemite
Evergreen Lodge Yosemite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing